cd reviews
currently showing records for:
currently showing records for:
Michala Petri, recorder
Danish National Vocal Ensemble
Let The Angels Sing
European Christmas Carols and Songs in New Arrangements for Recorder and Choir
Nach dem Hören dieser CD ist für mich klar, was es dieses Jahr beim Zusammensein um den Weihnachtsbaum als musikalische Begleitung geben wird.
Oliver Fraenzke, Dezember 2015, The New Listener, Germany
13 December 2015
Europäische Weihnachtslieder vom 13. bis zum 18. Jahrhundert aus vielen Ländern wurden von Michael Bojesen zusammengetragen und arrangiert für die Besetzung Chor und Blockflöte. Er dirigiert das Danish National Vocal Ensemble mit der Blockflötenvirtuosin Michala Petri.

Keine andere Zeit des Jahres verbinden wir heute so sehr mit Gesang wie die Zeit um Weihnachten, die Feier zur Geburt Christi. Schon in den frühesten Choralsammlungen sind immer wieder Adventsgesänge zu finden; Das Kirchenjahr beginnt mit dem 1. Advent, der stets mit dem berühmten „Ad te levavi“ eingeläutet wird. Doch nicht nur in der Kirche gehört der Gesang zu Weihnachten, auch im Bereich der Volksmusik ist er wesentlicher Bestandteil dieser Zeit der Feierlichkeit, und uns sind zu diesem Anlass aus vielen Ländern unzählige Melodien und Texte überliefert.

Siebzehn dieser Weihnachtslieder nahm sich der Dirigent Michael Bojesen für diese Anthologie vor, wofür er baskische, franziskanische, tschechische, englische, holländische, deutsche, polnische und französische Lieder sowie solche aus den „Piae Cantiones“ auswählte. Diese, mit einer Entstehungszeit zwischen dem 13. und 18. Jahrhundert, bearbeitete er für sein internationale Reputation genießendes Danish National Vocal Ensemble und Michala Petri, die berühmte Blockflötistin, die sowohl in alter als auch in zeitgenössischer Musik zu Hause ist und bereits über 150 Werke uraufgeführt hat. Die Bearbeitungen von Michael Bojesen sind äußerst vielseitig, gut abgestimmt und können die herrlichen Volks- und Kirchenmelodien gleichzeitig pietätvoll untermalen wie auch durch die Vielstimmigkeit bereichern. Der Chorsatz ist mit sichtlicher Erfahrung und Geschick gesetzt, alle Stimmen haben ihre besonderen Einsätze und wechseln sich in der Führung ab. Manch ein polphon versetzter Stimmeinwurf lässt aufhorchen, und zu keiner Zeit läuft die Musik Gefahr, zu langweilen durch einen gleichförmigen oder nichtssagenden Satz. Nicht weniger kunstvoll ist die Soloflöte Michala Petris eingewoben, die sich trotz des natürlich immer hervorstechenden Instrumentaltons erstaunlich gut in die Chorstimmen integrieren kann, sie auch teils solistisch umspielt und mit einem lamettaartig feinen Hauch versieht. Auch manch einen solistischen Auftritt gibt Michael Bojesen seiner grandiosen Blockflötistin.

Das Danish National Vocal Ensemble, bestehend aus fünf Sopran- und vier Altstimmen, sechs Tenören und fünf Bässen, die im achtstimmigen Chorsatz jeweils zweigeteilt auftreten, besticht mit größter Sauberkeit und einem sehr entspannten, ruhigen Ton. Zu keiner Zeit lassen sie sich die Schwierigkeiten der teils vertrackten Stimmpolyphonien vernehmen, nie kommt Hektik und Unsicherheit auf. Ob alle Stimmen am aktiven melodiösen Verlauf beteiligt sind oder ob die einen Sänger eine solide Basis bilden, über der andere frei schweben können, ist in dieser Hinsicht vollkommen gleich, stets singt jeder Mitstreiter mit höchster Inbrunst und Freude an der Musik. Der gesamte Chor wirkt trotz der geringen Stimmenzahl sehr robust und stabil mit großem Volumen und reicher Fülle. Sehr angenehm ist auch die gute Textverständlichkeit ohne die so zur Mode gewordene Überakzentuierung eines jeden Konsonanten. Der Arrangeur Michael Bojesen tritt hier auch als Dirigent auf und hält sein Werk zusammen. Er erreicht erstaunliche Synchronizität und achtet auf genaueste Abstimmung seiner Sänger, darauf, dass stets die zentralen Stimmen im Vordergrund stehen, ohne dass die anderen Linien im Hintergrund verloren gehen, auch schafft er ein tragfähiges Kontinuum des Spannungsverlaufs, das in einem großen Bogen jedes Stück zusammenhält.

Eine besondere Rolle kommt natürlich Michala Petri mit der Blockflöte zu. Ihre ergänzende und ausschmückende Position als einzige Instrumentalistin verlangt einiges von der Dänin, indem sie ihre Flöte auch sehr sängerhaft einzusetzen hat, um nicht aus dem Gesamtkonzept zu fallen. Ihre Stimme passt sich nun wunderbar in das Gesamtbild herein, sämtliche virtuosen Höchstschwierigkeiten auf ihrem Instrument lässt sie locker vergessen. Es klingt tatsächlich so, als wäre die Blockflöte untrennbar mit diesen alten Melodien verbunden und als hätte es nie eine andere Möglichkeit gegeben, den Chor zu verzieren. Der Hörer wird kein anderes Instrument vermissen und beglückt sein über die zarte Blockflöte, die sich über dem stimmungsvollen Chor zu freudigen Höhenflügen hinreißen lässt.

„Let The Angels Sing“ ist eine durch und durch empfehlenswerte CD für alle, die auch einmal andere Melodien zu Weihnachten zu hören wünschen als diejenigen, die eh jedes Jahr rauf und runter gespielt werden, auch wenn auch hier das eine oder andere Lied durchaus nicht unbekannt ist. Es ist eine schöne Sammlung unterschiedlichster Stücke aus verschiedenen Ländern und Epochen, dargeboten von einem wahren Spitzenensemble. Nach dem Hören dieser CD ist für mich klar, was es dieses Jahr beim Zusammensein um den Weihnachtsbaum als musikalische Begleitung geben wird.
Oliver Fraenzke, Dezember 2015, The New Listener, Germany

Michala Petri, recorder
Danish National Vocal Ensemble
Let The Angels Sing
European Christmas Carols and Songs in New Arrangements for Recorder and Choir
Let the Angels Sing CD review – a fresh take on favourite carols
Stephen Pritchard, The Guardian (UK)
6 December 2015
It’s Advent, so time to think about music for the Christmas season. Here, composer and arranger Michael Bojesen offers some fresh thinking on some old favourites, sung with admirable clarity by the Danish National Vocal Ensemble, supported by some scurrying descants from the woody-toned recorders of Michala Petri. Gabriel’s Message, It Came upon the Midnight Clear, In Dulci Jubilo and Infant Holy, Infant Lowly are just some of the 17 carols given a harmonic wash and brush-up, recorded amid the terrific acoustics of the spectacular Danish Radio Concert Hall, Copenhagen. Nothing is exactly as you know it, and yet it’s all soothingly familiar too. Just add mince pies., The Guardian, Dec. 06.2015
Stephen Pritchard, The Guardian (UK)

Michala Petri, recorder
Danish National Vocal Ensemble
Let The Angels Sing
European Christmas Carols and Songs in New Arrangements for Recorder and Choir
The recording made in the Danish Radio Concert Hall, Copenhagen, Denmark is first rate.
Classical Reviewer, Sunday December 6th 2015
6 December 2015
Timeless carols from around Europe, beautifully realised by Michala Petri and the Danish National Vocal Ensemble under their director, Michael Bojesen on a new OUR Recordings release
Renowned recorder player Michala Petri https://michalapetri.com has teamed up with the Danish National Vocal Ensemble www.dr.dk/Koncerthuset/kor-og-orkestre/dr-vokalensemblet/forside.htm for a delightful recording of traditional Christmas carols and songs entitled Let the Angels Sing for OUR Recordings www.ourrecordings.com  in arrangements by the choir’s director Michael Bojesen http://michaelbojesen.dk
 
 
These carols and songs from across Europe date from 13th to 19th century beginning with the 13th c. Basque carol, Gabriel's Message arranged here for soprano, choir and recorder. It has a lovely opening for recorder player Michala Petri who is soon joined by a wordless soft, gentle choral layer, creating an exquisite atmosphere. The choir soon takes over and expands this well-known carol with the recorder adding a lovely, well-judged accompaniment. Midway, there is a lovely solo for Danish National Vocal Ensemble soprano, Malene Nordtorp and recorder.
 
The 14th c. Franciscan carol, Angelus ad Virginem has a rather folksy, lively recorder opening before the choir take this buoyant carol forward, finely phrased with a terrific vocal flexibility. Michala Petri provides some terrific flourishes and later there are lovely choral drones supporting an intricate recorder theme to conclude.
 
Up! Good Christen Folk from Piae Cantiones, 1582 brings a delicate repeated ‘ding, ding’ from the choir pointed up by a similar recorder motif before the carol moves forward with some first rate choral textures and more lovely recorder contribution, such agile playing.
 
Recorder and choir bring a lovely atmosphere to the 18th c. Czech carol, Rocking in this lovely arrangement.
 
A lovely recorder theme opens the 18th c English carol, A Virgin Most Pure before the choir join with some fine layers of the male voices. Michala Petri adds lovely decorations as the rest of the choir join building a terrific sound. There is some particularly fine recorder playing later as Petri soars and weaves around the choir.
 
An American pastor, Edmund Sears wrote the words for It Came Upon a Midnight Clear in 1849. These words were set by a student of Felix Mendelssohn, the American composer, Richard Storrs Willis. The English tune sung here was an arrangement by Arthur Sullivan of an earlier melody. Here there are lovely harmonies from the Danish National Vocal Ensemble who bring a rich clear sonority with Petri adding some lovely low recorder to the choral sounds.
 
King Jesus Hath a Garden is a lively 17th c. Dutch carol into which this choir quickly launch with some tremendously agility and perfectly phrased singing. Michala Petri weaves some lovely lines around the choir in the opening of the14th c. German In Dulci Jubilo as she does later, adding so much to the joy of this piece.
 
The choir bring a long, flowing line over a rapid recorder motif in the 16th c. English Coventry Carol with Petri bringing a lovely timeless quality to the music before a gentler end.
 
A fine arrangement of the 16th c. English carol, God Rest Ye Merry, Gentlemen where sections of the choir overlay in canon with more fine decorations from this recorder player.
 
There is a charming arrangement of the 17th c. Czech Zither Carol bringing a ‘ding, dong, ding’ from the choir with the recorder pointing up the theme before soon moving ahead with joy and energy. Unto Us Is Born a Son is also from Piae Cantiones, 1582.  This choir bring some lovely harmonies to this arrangement together with a lovely flow.
 
Michala Petri opens the 18th c. Polish Infant Holy, Infant Lowly with a gentle, hush before the wordless choir join. They soon move ahead in this gloriously arranged carol bringing a soft mellifluous choral tone. There is a lovely fluent recorder opening to the 14th c. German The Linden Tree Carol. The choir joins to lead ahead bringing all their lovely layering of voices with further fine recorder decorations.
 
Good King Wenceslas is again from Piae Cantiones, 1582, arranged for choir and recorder and bringing more, fine wordless choral sounds and a lovely recorder theme. The female voices bring the main carol soon joined by the whole choir, each section having their heads with some lovely recorder flourishes.
 
Blessed Be That Maid Mary is an English, 15th c. carol that opens with soprano voice of Danish National Vocal Ensemble member, Nina Bols Lundgren again showing the individual quality of this choir’s voices. The full choir soon bring a lovely, gentle mellow tone with some fine passages for individual sections of the choir.
 
Finally we come to the 15th c. French carol, O Come, O Come Emmanuel in a sensitive arrangement for choir and recorder. Michala Petri opens before the male voices of Danish National Vocal Ensemble deliver a lovely, direct version of this carol that is soon harmonised beautifully. The choir move through gentler sections with a lovely recorder accompaniment, bringing much care, thought and gentler moments of reflection before rising a little to conclude.
 
There are many popular carols here, quite beautifully and rather intimately realised by Michala Petri and the Danish National Vocal Ensemble. Fine musicianship brought to bear on these timeless carols from around Europe make this a disc to return to all through the season.
 
There are interesting notes in the nicely illustrated booklet as well as full English texts. The recording made in the Danish Radio Concert Hall, Copenhagen, Denmark is first rate. Sunday December 6th 2015
Classical Reviewer, Sunday December 6th 2015

Michala Petri, recorder
Danish National Vocal Ensemble
Let The Angels Sing
European Christmas Carols and Songs in New Arrangements for Recorder and Choir
Michala Petri flötet dazu – wie die blitzenden Sterne am Christbaum
Aumin Kaumanns,Aachener Zeitung/Aachener Nachrichten
4 December 2015
(5 Stars review,- maximum)
 
Für diejeniger, die bei der Kombination Blockflöte und Weichnachten vielleicht zusammenzuchen: hier ist was wirchlich Schönes. Beteilich is an diesem Arrangements von wahrlich alten Weichnachsliedern aus der Mitte Europas nämlich zunächst das Danish National Vocal Ensemble. Ein Kammerchoir von Erlesenen Fähigkeiten, die sich entwischen auch bis zu den Echo-und Grammy-Jurys herumgesprochen haben. Sein Leiter Michael Bojesen hat ungemein lebendiche Choirsätze erdacht, bei denen die Sängerinnen und Sänger zeigen können was sie alles draushaben. Und Michala Petri flötet dazu – wie die blitzenden Sterne am Christbaum. Aumin Kaumanns, December 4th, 2015
Aumin Kaumanns,Aachener Zeitung/Aachener Nachrichten

Michala Petri, recorder
Danish National Vocal Ensemble
Let The Angels Sing
European Christmas Carols and Songs in New Arrangements for Recorder and Choir
Das Fest kündigt sich an
Remy Frank, Pizzicato, December 2015
3 December 2015
Das Fest kündigt sich an
03/12/2015
Let the Angels Sing; European Christmas Carols and Songs; Michala Petri, Blockflöte, Danish National Vocal Ensemble, Michael Bojesen; 1 CD Our Recordings, 6.220615; Aufnahme 06/2015 (52’20)

Christmas Carols of The World Vol.1; Calmus Ensemble; 1 CD Carus 83.026; Aufnahme: 06/2015 (70’11)

Christmas Carols of the World Vol.2; Athesinus Consort; 1 CD Carus 83027; Aufnahme 07/2015 (78’50)

O heilige Nacht; Romantische Musik zur Weihnachtszeit; Dresdner Kammerchor, Hans-Christoph Rademann, 1 CD Carus 8392; Aufnahme: 11/2014 (72’26) - Rezension von Guy Engels


Zur Weihnachtszeit hat sich der Carus-Verlag mächtig ins Zeug gelegt und präsentiert gleich drei neue Produktionen, deren Bandbreite von purer Romantik bis zu Volksliedern aus aller Welt reicht. Auch eine CD von Our Recordings wird hier vorgestellt.
Die zwei Scheiben mit ‘Christmas Carols of the World’ sind Teil des preisgekrönten Liederprojektes. 2009 wurde diese Initiative ins Leben gerufen, die das gemeinsame Singen wieder stärker fördern soll.
Mit dem ‘Calmus Ensemble’ und dem ‘Athesinus Consort’ hat Carus kompetente Partner gefunden, die den zum Teil neuen Chorsätzen den richtigen, volksliedhaften Ton verleihen.
Für die romantische Chormusik mit Werken von Wüllner, Brahms, Schreck, Bruch, Loewe und Reger wurde der hervorragende Dresdner Kammerchor gewonnen. Mit seinem ausbalancierten, warmen Klang schafft er die rechte Stimmung einer wunderbaren Heiligen Nacht.
International geht es auch beim ausgezeichneten ‘Danish Vocal Ensemble’ zu. Bekannte, vorwiegend englische Carols erklingen hier in neuen Arrangements. Weihnachtslieder scheinen also auch in unserer hektischen Zeit nichts von ihrem besonderen Reiz verloren zu haben. Für die Zwischenspiele und die pastorale Note sorgt Michala Petri auf der Blockflöte.
Here we have four highly enjoyable, varied programs of Christmas carols in excellent performances.
 
Remy Frank, Pizzicato, December 2015

Michala Petri, recorder
Danish National Vocal Ensemble
Let The Angels Sing
European Christmas Carols and Songs in New Arrangements for Recorder and Choir
Die musikalische Umsetzung könnte nicht besser sein.
Guido Krawinkel, Klassik Heute
2 December 2015
Let The Angels Sing European Christmas Carols and Songs, In new arrangements for recorder and choir.
Künstlerische Qualität:9  Klangqualität:9  Gesamteindruck: 9

Eine ebenso aparte wie stimmige Kombination wird auf dieser Weihnachts-CD präsentiert: die menschliche Stimme und die Blockflöte. Beide „Instrumente“ arbeiten mit Luft, erzeugen Schallwellen mittels der variablen Spannung der Stimmbänder bzw. eines durch eine Klangspalte verwirbelten Luftstroms. Beide brauchen Wind, einen stabilen und dennoch lebendigen Atem, und das, was ein Sänger gerne „Stütze“ nennt, denn ohne selbige würde aus dem stabilen Wind nur ein flattriger Lufthauch.

Insofern macht die Kombination beider Klangerzeuger durchaus Sinn, dies zumal sich die Klänge auch musikalisch bestens mischen. Zumindest auf dieser CD, die das Nationale Dänische Vokalensemble und die Blockflötistin Michala Petri unter der Leitung von Michael Bojesen eingespielt haben. Die klanglichen Qualitäten des 20-köpfigen Ensembles ist über jeden Zweifel erhaben. Da vereinen sich solide ausgebildete Stimmen zu einem wunderbar homogenen, ausgewogenen, subtil abgestuften und fein austarierten Gesamtklang, der alle nur denkbaren Nuancen des Chorgesangs abdeckt. Der kultivierte Ensembleklang ist von wirklich erlesener Qualität und die Stimmen trotz aller individuellen Charakteristika von einer derart bestechenden Mischfähigkeit, dass diesbezüglich wirklich keine Wünsche offen bleiben.
Auch die Verbindung mit der Blockflöte könnte gelungener nicht sein. Zum einen weil Michala Petri die ganze Palette an Klangfarben ausschöpft, die das Blockflötenspektrum beinhaltet, zum anderen, weil diese sich gut in den Chorklang einfügt und diesen um interessante Facetten bereichert bzw. neue solistische Möglichkeiten eröffnet. Hinzu kommt, das auch die Arrangements von Michael Bojesen sehr abwechslungsreich sind. Die hier zu hörenden Weihnachtslieder aus ganz Europa, werden in vielen Facetten präsentiert. Zu hören sind nicht nur altbekannte Schlager, sondern auch andere Lieder, deren landestypisches Flair leider dadurch etwas verloren geht, dass sie allesamt nur auf Englisch gesungen werden. Laune macht diese CD trotzdem, der Ansatz ist vielversprechend und die musikalische Umsetzung könnte nicht besser sein.Guido Krawinkel [02.12.2015
Guido Krawinkel, Klassik Heute

Michala Petri, recorder
Danish National Vocal Ensemble
Let The Angels Sing
European Christmas Carols and Songs in New Arrangements for Recorder and Choir
Fløytende engel,- 5 stars review in Vårt Land (Norway)
Olav Egil Aune, Vårt Land
2 December 2015
Let the Angels Sing
OUR Recordings 6.220615/ Naxos Norway
Anbefales: «Angelus ad Virginem»
Karakter: 5
 Fløytende engel
Den danske verdensstjernen på blokkfløyte, Michala Petri, har gått sammen med Danmark Radios Vokalensemble om Cden Let the Angels Sing (La englene synge). Og det synger! En nyskaping, uten at «det nye» på noe vis er påtrengende. Korprestasjonene er av det beste på skandinavisk jord.
Verdensstjernen på blokkfløyte, Michala Petri, smyger tonene lystig rundt kjente og mindre kjente juletoner. Det er fristende å si et mirakel.
Det kunne fort ha vært et «påfunn», noe en gjorde for å være «annerledes». Her er fornyelsen «lek». Den som ikke har hørt Michala Petri spille, skal bare av den grunn legge øret til hva hun presterer. Frydefullt, ydmykt og topp korsang.
Anmeldt av Olav Egil Aune, December the 1th 
Olav Egil Aune, Vårt Land

Michala Petri, recorder
Danish National Vocal Ensemble
Let The Angels Sing
European Christmas Carols and Songs in New Arrangements for Recorder and Choir
Die Interpreten sind Weltklasse, genau wie der außerordentlich transparente Klang der Aufnahme.
Markus Zahnhausen, Windkanal, Germany
1 December 2015
Rechtzeitig zum Fest erscheint Michala Petris neueste CD mit einer Auswahl europäischer Weihnachtslieder in neuen Arrangements von Michael Bojesen. Die Blockflöte kommt in diesen schönen, volksmusikinspirierten Sätzen äußerst wirkungsvoll zum Einsatz und nutzt von Sopranino bis Bass eine breite Palette von Instrumenten. Die gerade erst in der Edition Wilhelm Hansen veröffentlichten Arrangements sind in ihrer Anlage und Faktur vielfältig und fantasievoll, teils auch mit aparten Tonartrückungen. Normalerweise stehe ich weihnachtlichen Kompilationen dieser Art eher skeptisch gegenüber, diese CD aber hat mir uneingeschränkt große Freude bereitet. Von der Musik geht ein Zauber aus, dem man sich kaum entziehen kann. Die Interpreten sind Weltklasse, genau wie der außerordentlich transparente Klang der Aufnahme. Abgerundet wird dieser positive Eindruck durch das edle, geschmackvolle Design der CD. Ganz sicher werde ich diese Scheibe öfter zur Hand nehmen, und bestimmt nicht nur zur Weihnachtszeit. Wer also noch ein zeitlos schönes Geschenk zum Fest sucht, sollte hier unbedingt zugreifen.
Markus Zahnhausen, December 2015

Michala Petri, Danish National Vocal Ensemble, Michael Bojesen: Let the Angels sing. European Christmas Carols and Songs. OUR Recordings, 6.220615 (2015)
Markus Zahnhausen, Windkanal, Germany

Michala Petri, recorder
Lapland Chamber Orchestra
Nordic Sound
Tribute to Axel Borup-Jørgensen
Nænsom brutalitet (5 Stars)
Henrik Friis, november 2015, Klassisk
24 November 2015
5 stars
Nænsom brutalitet
Siden Axel Borup-Jørgensens død i 2012 Har OUR Recordings i samarbejde med komponistens datter arbejdet med at sætte lys på hans musikalske arv. Dette resulterede blandt andet i en række bestillinger til fremtrædende danske komponister, som Michala Petri og Laplands Kammerorkester spillede på Louisiana i 2014, og som nu er udkommet på en rigtig medrivende cd. Borup-Jørgensens musik var bygget af idéer om specielle klange, der minutiøst blev komponeret og sat sammen af forskellige instrumenter i rigtig dramatisk forløb. Den udfordring har komponisterne på cd´en taget for pålydende – og musikerne forstået at videreformidle.
Bent Sørensen har begået et flimrende, poetisk stykke for blokfløjte og strygere kaldet ”Whispering”. Det er, hvad de gør. Musikken antyder, hvisker, kommer til syne – uden at poientere og konkludere. Og trækker sig tilbage igen. Alderspræsidenten på cd`en- foruden Borup-Jørgensens ”Sommasuite”, der runder af- er Pelle Gudmundsen-Holmgreen. Hans ”Music for 13 strings” er anderledes faretruende og pågående. Som serier af udbrud dukker instrumenterne op og samler sig til temmelig brutale klange, der som en enhed bevæger sig glidende rundt i klangrummet. Heavy metal for strygeorkester, der er til at blive høj af.
Færøske Sunleif Rasmussen har begået en lille blokfløjtekoncert, der tager over, hvor Gudmundsen-Holmgreen slipper. Med insisterende, aggressive strygere garneret med hurtige, specielle blokfløjtefigurer. ”Winter Echoes” hedder stykket, og sådan lyder det også. Mogens Christensens ”Nordic Summer Scherzo” er trods titlen ikke meget mildere i temperaturen. Hurtigt, jagtende og ustyrligt som kviksølv mellem fingrene. Eneste formildende stykke er Thomas Clausens ”Concertino for blokfløjte og strygere”, der lyder, som om der er skrevet i 1700-tallet. Næsten. Men i hvert fald som et karakterstykke fra blokfløjtens hjemland med venlige melodier og trygge harmoniske landskaber.
Borup-Jørgensens ”Sommersuite” fra 1957 er jo heller ikke ledsagemusik til kold hvidvin og duften af hyld. Nej, dengang i 1950èrne, hvor alle komponisterne på parnasset skrev enkel musik med Carl Nielsens arv i rygsækken, komponerede Borup-Jørgensen itureven modernisme med fokus på detaljen. Stærkt endnu. Henrik Friis, november 2015
Henrik Friis, november 2015, Klassisk

Michala Petri, recorder
Danish National Vocal Ensemble
Let The Angels Sing
European Christmas Carols and Songs in New Arrangements for Recorder and Choir
Weihnachten: Hoffnung für de Blockflöte.
Carsten Hinrichs, Rondo 6 2015
20 November 2015
Weihnachten: Hoffnung für de Blockflöte.
 
Wenn es ein Symbol für die musichalishen Abgründe des Weihnachtsfestes gibt, so ist es die Bloclflöte. Finden doch die Mehrzahl der (meist erzwungenen, manchmal auch gutwillig) Beiträge auf diesem zu Unrecht als Anfängerinstrument stigmatusierten Holzbläser statt. Eine veritable Ehrenrettung gelingt dieses Jahr Michala Petri, deren Spiel sich so geschmackvoll und melancholish mit dem noblen, warmen Klang des Danish National Vocal Ensemble (OUR) mischt, dass man alle Ressentiments sofort vergiesst und geniesst - eine erfreuliche Wiederbegegnung mit einer alten Bekannten. Carsten Hinrichs, Rondo 6 2015
Carsten Hinrichs, Rondo 6 2015

Michala Petri, recorder
Henrik Vagn Christensen, conductor
Danish Faorese Recorder Concertos
Remarkable Playing, Michala Petri is a champion of this instrument.'
GEOFF PEARCE, Spotlight, Australia
19.November 2015
This is another CD featuring the great Michala Petri playing music from her homeland. All the works were written for her, and two are first performances. The quality of the recording on this Super Audio CD is first class, even on a conventional player, and the performances are exemplary.
The first work is by Thomas Koppel, who came from a well-known Danish family. His sister is well-known to Australian audiences as a leading soprano with Australian Opera during the 1970s and 80s. Thomas, whilst trained in classical music, was a force in rock music before returning to classical during the last fifteen years of his life. This piece, Moonchild's Dream, written during the last year of his life, 'focuses on the hopes and dreams of a little girl living in the south harbour district of Copenhagen, one of the city's poorest neighbourhoods'. As the most readily accessible of the works on this disc, I think it will be enjoyed by all.
The first movement, 'Largo Fluente', has a lovely rhapsodic opening section which is meant to evoke the play of light across the surface of the harbor in the morning.
The second movement, 'L'istesso tempo ...', is, largely, a recorder and violin duet. This lovely, evocative music represents the dreams and hopes of a still innocent young girl. The tempo picks up and the mood darkens, but never threateningly so, and then the music reverts back to the earlier calm. This music has an ethereal quality, and is lovingly orchestrated.
Moonchild dreams of being a dancing princess in the third movement, marked 'Prestissimo'. The speed of Michala Petri's articulation in this enchanting and refreshing music is amazing. The middle section is dominated by an eerie cadenza where the soloist is accompanied by an extremely quiet roll on the bass drum, to which is later added some string clusters. The earlier calm returns briefly but is not convincing — the dream has been shattered.
The last movement, 'Largo ...', opens with thudding percussion. The concerto's opening cantilena is repeated in the recorder, but an octave higher. This beautiful but bitter sweet music is wistful, as if the child's dream will never be realized.
The next work, Chacun Son Son (2014), by Pelle Gudmundsen-Holmgreen, is a fifteen minute concerto for recorder and orchestra. This is a play on the French phrase A Chacun son goût (originally 'to each their own taste', but here becoming 'to each their own sound'). In many ways this is the most challenging work here for the listener, but the disc provides good programme notes, and as long as you approach the work with an open mind, you'll be beguiled by the ever-changing textures, the commitment of the performers and the wit of the composer. It's well worth a listen.
The final composer is Sunlief Rasmussen, born on the Faroe Islands, and his concerto, Territorial Songs, was written in 2009. The piece is inspired by a couple of lines in Italo Calvino's novel Mr Palomar. Mr Palomar was very taken with birdsong. The work takes the idea of how birds use songs to mark out their territories, and how their songs will change when there are incursions. The composer extended this idea to the sections of the orchestra, and he has some groups of players (which may not be on stage but in other places around the hall) play independently of the conductor. It is as if these groups are marking their own territories.
The opening movement, 'Leggiero', opens with tubular bells, and the recorder soon joins in with birdsong-like patterns which are broken by orchestral interjections.
It runs into the next movement (as they all do). The second movement, 'Misterioso', is nebulous, often veiled, and the texture is constantly changing which adds to the restless nature.
'Espressivo' has a sort of gamelan percussion effect, interspersed with brass interjections and figures of rapid repeated notes in the recorder.
I think 'Tranquillo' is the emotional heart of the work. In a haunting section towards the end of this movement, the recorder player has to sing and play at the same time. Michala Petri does this so well, and the effect is beautiful.
The last movement, 'Leggiero', both virtuosic for the soloist and dramatic at the same time, provides a kaleidoscope of sound and a suitable ending for this work.
This disc contains remarkable playing by the soloist and orchestra, and the music is quite interesting and varied. I enjoyed it all, but I think the first piece, Moonchild's Dream, will appeal to most people. It is great to see so much new music being written and recorded for recorder and orchestra, and Michala Petri is a champion of this instrument.
GEOFF PEARCE, Spotlight, Australia

Michala Petri, recorder
Henrik Vagn Christensen, conductor
Danish Faorese Recorder Concertos
Albummet er en demonstration af Michala Petri`s mesterskab
Jens Cornelius, Klassisk
16.November 2015
5 stjerner
Alle blokfløjtens afkroge
Forhåbentlig skræmmer den spøjse albumtitel ikke publikum væk! For cd`en med nye blokfløjtekoncerter er noget af en manifestation.
Første komponist er Thomas Koppel. Efter sit brud med den klassiske  tradition omkring 1970 skrev han stort set ikke partiturmusik. De vigtigste undtagelser blev lavet til Michala Petri, som har indspillet hans musik 2 gange tidligere, også dette værk, ”Moonchilds Dream” fra 1991. Her lykkedes det Thomas Koppel ar forene sin fabulerende fusionsstil med et klassisk format, endda tilsat et politisk indhold. Månebarnet i musikken er en drømmende proletarpige i Sydhavnen, hvor Koppels hjerte havde hjemme.
Som i andre tilfælde synes jeg, at hans politiske tanker kan blokere for musikken, men ellers er det svært at stå for det melodiske koncertstykke. Michala Petri spiller besjælet og med en meget smuk klang og et naturligt greb om stilen. Også dirigenten Henrik Vagn Christensen og produceren får det bedste ud af Koppels partitur, fra en næsten uhørlig rumlen til de ublufærdige følelsesudbrud.
Med et brat skift følger 82-årige Pelle Gudmundsen-Holmgreens nye værk ”Chacun son son” (Hver sin klang). Idéen er, at træ- og messingblæsere, strygere og slagtøj holdes uforsonligt adskilt. Det samler sig aldrig, men forløber på sin egen måde udmærket alligevel. Musikken bevæger sig mod et medrivende klimaks, som helt efter bogen ender på kanten med en solokadence. Men den er for violin!
Gabet er afgrundsdybt fra Thomas Koppels strygen med hårene til Pelle Gudmundsen-Holmgreens kontrære klangverden, hvor uforenlighed er et grundprincip. Og hvor hvert motiv vrides ud som af en sur karklud. Dryp efter dryp er det en oplevelse – og med en egen selvmodsigende hensigt også virkelig underholdende. Bedre galde findes ikke i dansk musik.
Sidste værk er Sunleif Rasmussens femsatsede ”Territorial Songs” fra 2009. En indholdsrig og virtuos solokoncert, hvor solisten er hyperaktiv som en fugl besat af sin territorialsang. Orkestret er spændt hårdt for af det myldrende partitur, hvor enkeltstemmer på skift kører solo. Rasmussens kup er, at solokadencen med magisk virkning bliver et indadvendt mysterium i koncertens eneste rolige afsnit. På én gang syngende og fløjtende forvandler blokfløjten sig her til en menneskefugl langt ude i Atlanten.
Albummet er en demonstration af Michala Petri`s mesterskab, men også af dansk/færøsk musiks næsten bizart mangfoldige frugtbarhed. Jens Cornelius, november 2015
Jens Cornelius, Klassisk

Michala Petri, recorder
Danish National Vocal Ensemble
Let The Angels Sing
European Christmas Carols and Songs in New Arrangements for Recorder and Choir
5 Star review in BBC Music Magazine on Let The Angels Sing
Terry Blain BBC Music Magazine, November issue
15.November 2015
 
“If you like your carols drizzled with recorder embellishments, look no further. The soloist is the outstanding Michal Petri, though even she cannot stop the novelty wearing thin.”        Terry Blain BBC Music Magazine, November issue
 
Performance ***
Recording *****
Terry Blain BBC Music Magazine, November issue

Michala Petri, recorder
Lapland Chamber Orchestra
Nordic Sound
Tribute to Axel Borup-Jørgensen
Nördliche Blockflötenklänge
Remy Frank, Pizzicato, November 2015
15.November 2015
Zwischen avantgardistisch und neoklassisch/neobarock durchstreift die CD ‘Nordic Sound’ mit der Blockflötistin Michala Petri auch die Gattungen Expressionismus und Minimalismus in sehr spannenden Werken von Bent Sørensen, Pelle Gudmundsen-Holmgreen, Sunleif Rasmussen, Mogens Christensen, Thomas Clausen und Axel Borup-Jorgensen. Petris agile Bockflöte passt sich der Topographie stets perfekt an, und das ‘Lapland Chamber Orchestra’ unter Clemens Schuldt begleitet mit viel musikalischer Intensität (Our Recordings 6.220613). Remy Frank, Pizzicato, November 2015
Remy Frank, Pizzicato, November 2015

Michala Petri, recorder
Lapland Chamber Orchestra
Nordic Sound
Tribute to Axel Borup-Jørgensen
3 times 5 stars review (Max.)
Copyright © 2015 John Miller and HRAudio.net
1 November 2015
This is the third disc of a series of tributes to Axel Borup-Jørgensen, the Danish composer, producer and co-founder of OUR Recordings, who continue to make SACD discs. Borup-Jørgensen died in 2012. His daughter organised a programme of tributes, mainly by Danish composers, artists and musicians. The so-called "Queen of the Recorder", Michala Petri, as a long-time family friend, also took part in a number of disc programmes, and she does so in this issue, in which she joins five comissioned Nordic composers who added their own personal tributes to the much-loved Borup-Jørgensen in a programme entitled "Nordic Sound", which finished with one of his own pieces.

Most of the new pieces are scored in each composer's view of "Modernism", an ill-defined term at best. Only one piece, Thomas Clausen's Concerto for Recorder and Strings, is fully tonal and beautifully melodic. The other pieces were crafted in various types of atonalism and post-Stravinsky rhythms, which challenge listeners who are more used to Classical or Romantic music full of melodies. These pieces also demand great effort from the musicians, who are often asked to produce unusual sounds from their instruments. Axel Borup-Jørgensen himself was a meticulous modernist, who followed a distinctive path of his own. His works exude intense nature mysticism, musically portraying such phenomena as stark outlines of barren trees, blinding sunbursts, or sudden storms. The Nordic composers followed these traits in creating their tributes.

The Lapland Chamber Orchestra (founded 1972) is in a way parallel to the Ostrobothnian Chamber Orchestra in the south of Finland. Its home is Roviniemi in Lapland, which lies some way NNE of the northern end of the Gulf of Bothnia, and it is the furthest north professional orchestra in the European Union. The LCO has engagements around the Arctic region and Finland, but also has played in many venues abroad. One of its specialities is giving premieres of leading contemporary composers, which is why it was chosen for this recording.

Clemens Schuldt is said to be one of the most exciting young conductors emerging from Germany. His training as a violinist under Marcus Stenz at the Gürzenich Orchestra Cologne and the Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen under Paavo Järvii is a very good background for working with string orchestras such as the LCO.

The liner notes have extensive and detailed descriptions about each contributing composer, beginning with a brief biography and an indication of how various personal aspects and distilled musical habits of Borup-Jørgensen himself inspired their tribute piece. Fascinating though this is, I would suggest listening to the disc before reading the liner notes; in this way your imagination will satisfyingly generate your own visions and emotions from the music. A good example of this importance of listening without prejudice is the first track, by Bent Sørensen (b.1958) and titled 'Whispering for Recorder and Strings'. For me, arising from silence, a hushed, shimmering set of high strings, swirls like chill mist in a Nordic wood. The recorder softly joins in, making rhythmic calls suggesting those of a Shaman chanting his magic... and so on. For me, this atmospheric piece suggested a magical woodland, full of dreams and sadness, not unlike Sibelius's Tapiola. But the liner notes tell me that Sørensen was inspired by Borup-Jørgensen's very soft and fragile way of speaking; in later life he almost always spoke in an intimate hushed whisper on the threshold of silence. This is interesting, but no help in interpretation.

Sonically, this disc is a marvel, capturing the timbre of strings stretched to their limit in unusual textures and bowing other parts of the instruments than the strings; the orchestra's stamping vivid rhythms on the floor, and the full gamut of recorders from bass to sopranino, often playing harmonics. The venue was a "new" concert hall in Rovaniemi, the Culture House, which strikingly is a simple elongated rectangular box (bringing the Golden Hall in Vienna to mind, which is famed for its acoustics). Its walls and roof are varnished wooden planks, with some evidence of control of reverberation. Several colour photos show a session on the stage, with a high 5.0 microphone array behind the conductor and a couple of spot mics. These pick up the hall's warm, intimate ambience. Capture was in DXD, transferred to DSD for the SACD. Production, mastering and mixing was by Preben Iwan, an engineer very frequently working for DaCapo.

This is a fascinating collection of recorded premières of modern music from five Nordic composers, brilliantly played by the Chamber Orchestra of Lapland together with the sympathy and virtuosity of Michala Petri's recorder playing, which she so beautifully merges into the string sound, setting her recorder to sing forth in Clausen's Concerto for Recorder and Strings. Well worth exploring if you have even the slightest interest in Nordic modernism, virtuoso string playing, or recorder music.

Copyright © 2015 John Miller and HRAudio.net
Performance: 5 Stars, Sonics (Stereo):5 Stars, Sonics (Multichannel):5 stars
Copyright © 2015 John Miller and HRAudio.net

Marcus Creed, Conductor
L'amour et la foi
Vocal Music by Olivier Messiaen (1908 - 1992)
Opera News Magazine review on L´amour et le foi
William R. Braun, Opera News Magazine
November issue
THE TWO MAIN works on this all-Messiaen CD remain on the outer fringes of the repertoire, but for different reasons. The Trois petites liturgies de la Presence divine (which would make an excellent introduction to Messiaen's music for anyone who doesn't know it) require a unique instrumental ensemble, one difficult to assemble, to accompany the choral singers. The Cinq Rechants, on the other hand, are written for an easily recruited group of twelve a cappella singers, but the vocal lines and rhythms are of such grave difficulty that few ensembles take up the challenge.
 
Both pieces are well served by the Danish forces here. In the Liturgies, conductor Marcus Creed shapes the second movement in a way that keeps it from going into autopilot, eventually reaching heights of abandon, and his female choir is tireless. Its numbers are reduced from the standard contingent, which is a bit of a stretch for the singers, but the challenge is met. The third movement, an entirely different reverent experience, tends to drive a bit, and there is an unwonted sense of restraint to it emotionally. But Creed perhaps has the edge over other recorded versions in the beauty of sound when the choir is pared down to smaller groups. The solo pianist, Marianna Shirinyan, has an unusual and persuasive approach to the piece. She has a more probing and colorful interpretation than did Yvonne Loriod, who in her many performances tended to play as if etching the notes onto copper plates. Two conductors with long-term close associations with Messiaen and his music, Seiji Ozawa and Kent Nagano, have found more playfulness, rhythmic intensity and exaltation than Creed, but on his own terms he succeeds.

The Cinq Rechants, one of Messiaen's "Tristan" pieces and one he considered among his best, require twelve virtuoso singers. They are on hand here. Again, there is just a hint of caution and good manners rather than ecstatic abandon, but, still, the performance on its own terms is persuasive. A recording under Marcel Couraud, who commissioned the piece, is more buoyant in the quicker passages, but Creed brings a supple quality to the fourth movement, and his slower tempos certainly allow the ear to take in more details. The brief motet "O sacrum convivium!," the closest thing Messiaen has to a pantry staple, has here the chantlike flow that Messiaen wanted, a sense of invisible bar-lines. In an era when sound engineers like to boost instruments that are never prominent in live performance, it’s amusing to hear how instead they have used their powers to tamp down the ondes Martenot in the Liturgies, which in the concert hall can easily swamp the other fifty performers.
William R. Braun, Opera News Magazine

Michala Petri, recorder
Danish National Vocal Ensemble
Let The Angels Sing
European Christmas Carols and Songs in New Arrangements for Recorder and Choir
Let the Angels Sing is as functional and simple, yet in an elegant way, as Scandinavian furniture, and as such is well worth your time and attention
. Fanfare, October 2015 Raymond Tuttle
30.October 2015
                 Given a choice between (a) eating stale fruitcake, (b) being trampled by a reindeer, and (c) listening to Christmas carols, I am not sure (c) would be my top choice. As I review this CD it is still early October—too soon to get into the Christmas spirit. By the time you read this review, it will be too late: your tree (if you had one) will long have been pushed screaming into the wood shredder. I note that this disc was recorded in June (the notes don't say which year, however!), which must be worse yet. Even in Copenhagen, it must be hard to feel Yuletide joy in June.
                 Nevertheless, I predict that Let the Angels Sing will make a reappearance in my house two months from now. It has several things going for it. First, many of these carols are not familiar. In fact, many of them I had never heard at all. They all come from Europe, and one of them, “Gabriel's Message” (of Basque origin) dates as far back as the 13th century. That one is particularly lovely. (Music does not go stale as quickly as fruitcake!) Second, how many times have you heard a chorus accompanied by nothing more than a recorder? It seems strange to write this, but I never felt that there was “something missing” in these performances. That's how good the arrangements by conductor Michael Bojesen are. Third, Michala Petri is the reigning Queen of the Recorder, and as many a good queen might do, she is constantly expanding her territory. Suffice it to say that her recorders blend as smoothly with the repertoire, and with the Danish National Vocal Ensemble, as egg blends with nog. Fourth, the 21 singers in that Ensemble sing this music with simple devotion, and with a polish that neither calls attention to itself nor lets the music down. Let the Angels Sing is as functional and simple, yet in an elegant way, as Scandinavian furniture, and as such is well worth your time and attentionFanfare, October 2015 Raymond Tuttle
. Fanfare, October 2015 Raymond Tuttle

Michala Petri, recorder
Lapland Chamber Orchestra
Nordic Sound
Tribute to Axel Borup-Jørgensen
Nordic Sound: Tribute to Axel Borup-Jørgensen
Sune Anderberg, Seismograf,(Magazine for contemporary Music)
27.October 2015
Michala Petri viser med to nye udgivelser, at hun er godt i gang med at børste barokstøvet af den udskammede blokfløjte. Det kan resultere i Nordisk Råds Musikpris tirsdag, men statistikken er imod os.
af Sune Anderberg
I 97 var det dybest set bare feje hold. Dengang løb islandske Björk med Nordisk Råds Musikpris for næsen af Michala Petri, men hvad skulle man også stille op over for så ikonisk en sangerinde? Nu skal man selvfølgelig ikke tage den slags musikpriser alt for tungt, og da slet ikke så geopolitisk knudrede størrelser som Nordisk Råds Musikpris. Alligevel har den danske delegation i år givet Petri et forsøg mere, og det er på alle måder et ’opgraderet produkt’, vi har sendt af sted denne gang.
Siden sidst har Petri ikke bare modtaget Sonningprisen og et ridderkors. Der er også blevet skrevet et utal af nye værker specifikt til den københavnske blokfløjteveteran. Vivaldi og Telemann lusker stadig rundt i hendes repertoire, men nu er det side om side med Pelle Gudmundsen-Holmgreen, Bent Sørensen, Peter Bruun, Axel Borup-Jørgensen, Vagn Holmboe, Thomas Koppel, færøske Sunleif Rasmussen og svenske Daniel Börtz. Alle sammen komponister, der tidligere har modtaget eller været nomineret til Nordisk Råds Musikpris, og det er jo ikke kun godt i forhold til Petris egne chancer for at slutte sig til selskabet – det er også godt for selve blokfløjten, at den finder en vej tilbage i samtidsmusikken efter længe at have været udkonkurreret af tværfløjten.
Ambitionen om at gøre instrumentet nutidigt har fulgt Michala Petri siden de første udgivelser i halvfjerdserne. Det var ganske vist barokken, der fyldte mest – for de fleste værker for blokfløjte blev nu engang skrevet i barokken – men komponister som Henning Christiansen og Luciano Berio sneg sig også med som sjældne gæster, og det viser bare, at det ikke kun er inden for de seneste ti år, man har taget fejl, hvis man udelukkende har forbundet Petri med Bach-industri og støvkostklassik. Alligevel er det ret tydeligt, at der er sket en udvikling, siden hun sammen med Lars Hannibal stiftede pladeselskabet Our Recordings i 2006 og derefter selv har haft den kunstneriske kontrol over sine udgivelser.
Det kastede i august to nye plader af sig. Den ene, Danish & Faroese Recorder Concertos, er en del af Petris serie med nutidige blokfløjteværker fra hele verden. Den anden, Nordic Sound: Tribute to Axel Borup-Jørgensen, er en indspilning af en håndfuld værker, som blev komponeret til minde om Borup-Jørgensen og opført på Louisiana i forbindelse med det, der ville have været hans 90-års-fødselsdag sidste november.
Genspejl i en gammel tryllesø
Komponisterne overlapper på de to udgivelser. Nok er Petri ansvarlig for et boom i blokfløjterepertoiret, men bredere er udvalget dog heller ikke, end at Sunleif Rasmussen og Pelle Gudmundsen-Holmgreen begge har et værk med på hver af pladerne. Ikke at det gør noget, for sammen med Bent Sørensen står de bag de mest spændende af værkerne – ej at forglemme genindspilningen af Axel Borup-Jørgensens Sommasvit (1957), der er et hurraråbende, roligt ulmende ekko fra fortiden, som Nordic Sound-værkerne i forskellig grad har spejlet sig i.
Og navnlig værkerne på Nordic Sound lyder også godt rent indspilningsmæssigt. Umiddelbart efter Louisiana-koncerten tog Petri med Laplands Kammerorkester og den tyske dirigent Clemens Schuldt til Lapland og optog værkerne, og det er lykkedes helt enormt godt. Ikke at Aalborg Symfoniorkester under ledelse af Henrik Vagn Christensen gør det dårligt i Musikkens Hus på den anden udgivelse, men der lægger rummet altså en dæmper på intimiteten. Og det er klart, at den lydlige nærhed og detaljeringsgrad gør meget for ny musik-værker.
Det hører man allerede i Sørensens Whispering (2014), der lyder som en sørgende hyldest til den hviskende Borup-Jørgensen. Her glisserer Petri klagende rundt imellem og over isnende strygere. Der er en overbevisende ubestemthed, som efterhånden glider over i en først kækt melodiøs, men siden melankolsk retning. Til sidst lægger musikerne sig så langt tilbage i lydbilledet, at man kan høre rummet knirke, og værket går langsomt i stå, før det helt opløser sig selv. En meget dragende åbning af Nordic Sound.
Rigtigste kaos
Gudmundsen-Holmgreen optræder som sagt med to værker, men de kunne næsten ikke være mere forskellige inden for hans univers. Chacun Son Son (2014, ’hver med sit næb’) er en klassisk Pelle med en næsten bolero’sk opbygning af det åbne, stridende samtalekøkken. Her er Petri ’degraderet’ til at træde ind på linje med resten af træblæsergruppen i Aalborg Symfoniorkester, men det ville også være mærkeligt med en tyrannisk solist i hans musik – det er jo netop det evigt kævlende kaos, der hersker. I hvert fald som regel, for på Music for 13 Strings (2014) følges instrumenterne organiseret ad i deres mærkelige retninger, i øvrigt helt uden blokfløjte. I begge tilfælde er der en insisterende aggressivitet, og selvom formen er abrupt og kaotisk, bliver det som altid hos Gudmundsen-Holmgreen aldrig kedeligt eller frugtesløst at lytte opmærksomt til. Altså: Fedt, mand.
Lidt anderledes forholder det sig med Sunleif Rasmussens Territorial Songs (2009) og Winter Echoes (2014), der også gør sig i det kaotiske. Hvor de enkelte stemmer hos Gudmundsen-Holmgreen finder sammen om et udtryk, der rummer det modsatrettede, er Rasmussens samlede udtryk mindre absorberende. Lunefuldheden er afløst af en mere gold iscenesættelse af konflikt og halvhjertet forbrødring. Begyndelsen af Territorial Songs er fx et drama mellem en manisk forvirret blokfløjte, en autoritativ kirkeklokke og et abrupt intervenerende orkester, der skal banke fløjten på plads; kaosset virker dog alvorligt teatralsk og serielt styret. Den afstand, man bliver holdt på, forsvinder aldrig rigtigt, og derfor bliver det en ambivalent oplevelse at lytte til Rasmussens værker. De kan noget, men det er, som om de befinder sig bedst på en scene.
I kampens hede
Hvor musikprisværdigt Petris indsamlingsarbejde end er, er det selvfølgelig ikke lige godt det hele, heller ikke på de to nye plader. Thomas Koppels Moonchild’s Dream (1991) bliver ikke bedre, uanset hvor mange gange Petri indspiller den – og nu er det tredje gang. Selvom værket står som en af hjørnestenene i hendes livslange projekt, passer det dårligt ind i selskab med Rasmussen og Gudmundsen-Holmgreen på Danish & Faroese Recorder Concertos. Det er dybest set et Gheorghe Zamfir-værk (ham, der spillede panfløjte, sidst du kørte i taxa). Klichéerne og de skamredne harmonier kæmper med endeløs vibrato og overflødige toner om at stå i kø foran banaliteternes henrettelsespeloton, men af en eller anden grund – eller måske derfor – er det altså et værk, som mange holder af. I hvert fald Michala Petri.
Meget bedre bliver det ikke i Thomas Clausens Concertino for Recorder & Strings (2014) ovre på Nordic Sound. De fire satsers pastiche over Hollywood, Bach og Mozart driver ned ad højttalernes membraner, indtil du står i neobarokt sukkervand til anklerne. Det ville måske passe ind i et andet selskab, men ikke her. Koppel og Clausen er selvfølgelig også de grimme ællinger på de to plader. Rockpioneren og jazzpianisten – det var et sats. Og endelig mangler Mogens Christensens Nordic Summer Scherzo (2014) en egen identitet, men til gengæld excellerer Petri her mere end i nogen anden komposition med virtuose teknikker, løb og spring – det virker næsten som et udstillingsvindue for blokfløjteri.
Heltetragisk tilbagevenden
Lad os være ærlige et øjeblik. Jeg var skeptisk, da jeg fik stukket to cd’er med blokfløjte i hånden. Jeg mener, hallo – blokfløjte, right? Jeg har trods alt også gået til musikskolekoncerter engang. Men jeg blev overrasket over det væld af udtryk, Michala Petri behersker. Ikke bare det klanglige spænd fra bas- til sopranblokfløjte, men også overtoneteknikken og de afsindige løb, hun præsterer. Kun da der gik Zamfir i den på Moonlight’s Child, fik jeg mine fordomme bekræftet; resten af værkerne har talt til mig som ny musik på linje med alt anden ny musik. Petri er både virtuos og udtryksfuld i sit spil, selvom det også kunne være spændende, hvis det af og til lød lidt mindre suverænt, og så er hun visionær i sit arbejde med at indsamle nutidige værker for instrumentet. På alle måder en værdig modtager af Nordisk Råds Musikpris.
Alligevel ender vi nok med blokfløjtehåret i postkassen, når modtageren annonceres tirsdag i Reykjavik. For gælder der én regel for Nordisk Råds Musikpris, så er det, at man skiftes til at være mest værdig til at vinde. Og sidste år vandt altså Simon Steen-Andersen for Black Box Music. I øvrigt fuldt fortjent, men det levner ikke Michala Petri mange chancer. Ikke siden år 2000 er det sket, at et land har modtaget statuetten og det gyldne håndtryk to år i træk. Og statistikken siger det klart: Når det endelig sker, sker det som regel for Finland.
Så selvom hun har allieret sig med en hær af tidligere vindere og nominerede, og selvom de to nye udgivelser viser, at Petri er på toppen af sit kunstneriske virke, så ser det sort ud. Men op på hesten igen. Vi skal have den forbandede pris til Petri, om så det først bliver i 2033. Måske kan vi få Steen-Andersen til at skrive et værk for blokfløjte og Wii i mellemtiden. For slet ikke at tænke på samarbejdsmulighederne, hvis det bliver den færøske doom metal-gruppe Hamferð, der modtager prisen tirsdag...
Læs mere om nomineringerne til Nordisk Råds Musikpris - ikke mindst den danske musiker HVAD - i dagens nyhed herom.
Michala Petri & Aalborg Symfoniorkester: Danish & Faroese Recorder Concertos. Udgivet på Our Recordings, 2015. Katalognr. 6.220609.
Michala Petri & Lapland Chamber Orchestra: Nordic Sound: Tribute to Axel Borup-Jørgensen. Udgivet på Our Recordings, 2015. Katalognr. 6.220613.
Sune Anderberg, Seismograf,(Magazine for contemporary Music)

Michala Petri, recorder
Henrik Vagn Christensen, conductor
Danish Faorese Recorder Concertos
Jeg blev overrasket over det væld af udtryk, Michala Petri behersker.
Sune Anderberg, Seismograf,(Magazine for contemporary Music)
25.November 2015
Michala Petri viser med to nye udgivelser, at hun er godt i gang med at børste barokstøvet af den udskammede blokfløjte. Det kan resultere i Nordisk Råds Musikpris tirsdag, men statistikken er imod os.
af Sune Anderberg
I 97 var det dybest set bare feje hold. Dengang løb islandske Björk med Nordisk Råds Musikpris for næsen af Michala Petri, men hvad skulle man også stille op over for så ikonisk en sangerinde? Nu skal man selvfølgelig ikke tage den slags musikpriser alt for tungt, og da slet ikke så geopolitisk knudrede størrelser som Nordisk Råds Musikpris. Alligevel har den danske delegation i år givet Petri et forsøg mere, og det er på alle måder et ’opgraderet produkt’, vi har sendt af sted denne gang.
Siden sidst har Petri ikke bare modtaget Sonningprisen og et ridderkors. Der er også blevet skrevet et utal af nye værker specifikt til den københavnske blokfløjteveteran. Vivaldi og Telemann lusker stadig rundt i hendes repertoire, men nu er det side om side med Pelle Gudmundsen-Holmgreen, Bent Sørensen, Peter Bruun, Axel Borup-Jørgensen, Vagn Holmboe, Thomas Koppel, færøske Sunleif Rasmussen og svenske Daniel Börtz. Alle sammen komponister, der tidligere har modtaget eller været nomineret til Nordisk Råds Musikpris, og det er jo ikke kun godt i forhold til Petris egne chancer for at slutte sig til selskabet – det er også godt for selve blokfløjten, at den finder en vej tilbage i samtidsmusikken efter længe at have været udkonkurreret af tværfløjten.
Ambitionen om at gøre instrumentet nutidigt har fulgt Michala Petri siden de første udgivelser i halvfjerdserne. Det var ganske vist barokken, der fyldte mest – for de fleste værker for blokfløjte blev nu engang skrevet i barokken – men komponister som Henning Christiansen og Luciano Berio sneg sig også med som sjældne gæster, og det viser bare, at det ikke kun er inden for de seneste ti år, man har taget fejl, hvis man udelukkende har forbundet Petri med Bach-industri og støvkostklassik. Alligevel er det ret tydeligt, at der er sket en udvikling, siden hun sammen med Lars Hannibal stiftede pladeselskabet Our Recordings i 2006 og derefter selv har haft den kunstneriske kontrol over sine udgivelser.
Det kastede i august to nye plader af sig. Den ene, Danish & Faroese Recorder Concertos, er en del af Petris serie med nutidige blokfløjteværker fra hele verden. Den anden, Nordic Sound: Tribute to Axel Borup-Jørgensen, er en indspilning af en håndfuld værker, som blev komponeret til minde om Borup-Jørgensen og opført på Louisiana i forbindelse med det, der ville have været hans 90-års-fødselsdag sidste november.
Genspejl i en gammel tryllesø
Komponisterne overlapper på de to udgivelser. Nok er Petri ansvarlig for et boom i blokfløjterepertoiret, men bredere er udvalget dog heller ikke, end at Sunleif Rasmussen og Pelle Gudmundsen-Holmgreen begge har et værk med på hver af pladerne. Ikke at det gør noget, for sammen med Bent Sørensen står de bag de mest spændende af værkerne – ej at forglemme genindspilningen af Axel Borup-Jørgensens Sommasvit (1957), der er et hurraråbende, roligt ulmende ekko fra fortiden, som Nordic Sound-værkerne i forskellig grad har spejlet sig i.
Og navnlig værkerne på Nordic Sound lyder også godt rent indspilningsmæssigt. Umiddelbart efter Louisiana-koncerten tog Petri med Laplands Kammerorkester og den tyske dirigent Clemens Schuldt til Lapland og optog værkerne, og det er lykkedes helt enormt godt. Ikke at Aalborg Symfoniorkester under ledelse af Henrik Vagn Christensen gør det dårligt i Musikkens Hus på den anden udgivelse, men der lægger rummet altså en dæmper på intimiteten. Og det er klart, at den lydlige nærhed og detaljeringsgrad gør meget for ny musik-værker.
Det hører man allerede i Sørensens Whispering (2014), der lyder som en sørgende hyldest til den hviskende Borup-Jørgensen. Her glisserer Petri klagende rundt imellem og over isnende strygere. Der er en overbevisende ubestemthed, som efterhånden glider over i en først kækt melodiøs, men siden melankolsk retning. Til sidst lægger musikerne sig så langt tilbage i lydbilledet, at man kan høre rummet knirke, og værket går langsomt i stå, før det helt opløser sig selv. En meget dragende åbning af Nordic Sound.
Rigtigste kaos
Gudmundsen-Holmgreen optræder som sagt med to værker, men de kunne næsten ikke være mere forskellige inden for hans univers. Chacun Son Son (2014, ’hver med sit næb’) er en klassisk Pelle med en næsten bolero’sk opbygning af det åbne, stridende samtalekøkken. Her er Petri ’degraderet’ til at træde ind på linje med resten af træblæsergruppen i Aalborg Symfoniorkester, men det ville også være mærkeligt med en tyrannisk solist i hans musik – det er jo netop det evigt kævlende kaos, der hersker. I hvert fald som regel, for på Music for 13 Strings (2014) følges instrumenterne organiseret ad i deres mærkelige retninger, i øvrigt helt uden blokfløjte. I begge tilfælde er der en insisterende aggressivitet, og selvom formen er abrupt og kaotisk, bliver det som altid hos Gudmundsen-Holmgreen aldrig kedeligt eller frugtesløst at lytte opmærksomt til. Altså: Fedt, mand.
Lidt anderledes forholder det sig med Sunleif Rasmussens Territorial Songs (2009) og Winter Echoes (2014), der også gør sig i det kaotiske. Hvor de enkelte stemmer hos Gudmundsen-Holmgreen finder sammen om et udtryk, der rummer det modsatrettede, er Rasmussens samlede udtryk mindre absorberende. Lunefuldheden er afløst af en mere gold iscenesættelse af konflikt og halvhjertet forbrødring. Begyndelsen af Territorial Songs er fx et drama mellem en manisk forvirret blokfløjte, en autoritativ kirkeklokke og et abrupt intervenerende orkester, der skal banke fløjten på plads; kaosset virker dog alvorligt teatralsk og serielt styret. Den afstand, man bliver holdt på, forsvinder aldrig rigtigt, og derfor bliver det en ambivalent oplevelse at lytte til Rasmussens værker. De kan noget, men det er, som om de befinder sig bedst på en scene.
I kampens hede
Hvor musikprisværdigt Petris indsamlingsarbejde end er, er det selvfølgelig ikke lige godt det hele, heller ikke på de to nye plader. Thomas Koppels Moonchild’s Dream (1991) bliver ikke bedre, uanset hvor mange gange Petri indspiller den – og nu er det tredje gang. Selvom værket står som en af hjørnestenene i hendes livslange projekt, passer det dårligt ind i selskab med Rasmussen og Gudmundsen-Holmgreen på Danish & Faroese Recorder Concertos. Det er dybest set et Gheorghe Zamfir-værk (ham, der spillede panfløjte, sidst du kørte i taxa). Klichéerne og de skamredne harmonier kæmper med endeløs vibrato og overflødige toner om at stå i kø foran banaliteternes henrettelsespeloton, men af en eller anden grund – eller måske derfor – er det altså et værk, som mange holder af. I hvert fald Michala Petri.
Meget bedre bliver det ikke i Thomas Clausens Concertino for Recorder & Strings (2014) ovre på Nordic Sound. De fire satsers pastiche over Hollywood, Bach og Mozart driver ned ad højttalernes membraner, indtil du står i neobarokt sukkervand til anklerne. Det ville måske passe ind i et andet selskab, men ikke her. Koppel og Clausen er selvfølgelig også de grimme ællinger på de to plader. Rockpioneren og jazzpianisten – det var et sats. Og endelig mangler Mogens Christensens Nordic Summer Scherzo (2014) en egen identitet, men til gengæld excellerer Petri her mere end i nogen anden komposition med virtuose teknikker, løb og spring – det virker næsten som et udstillingsvindue for blokfløjteri.
Heltetragisk tilbagevenden
Lad os være ærlige et øjeblik. Jeg var skeptisk, da jeg fik stukket to cd’er med blokfløjte i hånden. Jeg mener, hallo – blokfløjte, right? Jeg har trods alt også gået til musikskolekoncerter engang. Men jeg blev overrasket over det væld af udtryk, Michala Petri behersker. Ikke bare det klanglige spænd fra bas- til sopranblokfløjte, men også overtoneteknikken og de afsindige løb, hun præsterer. Kun da der gik Zamfir i den på Moonlight’s Child, fik jeg mine fordomme bekræftet; resten af værkerne har talt til mig som ny musik på linje med alt anden ny musik. Petri er både virtuos og udtryksfuld i sit spil, selvom det også kunne være spændende, hvis det af og til lød lidt mindre suverænt, og så er hun visionær i sit arbejde med at indsamle nutidige værker for instrumentet. På alle måder en værdig modtager af Nordisk Råds Musikpris.
Alligevel ender vi nok med blokfløjtehåret i postkassen, når modtageren annonceres tirsdag i Reykjavik. For gælder der én regel for Nordisk Råds Musikpris, så er det, at man skiftes til at være mest værdig til at vinde. Og sidste år vandt altså Simon Steen-Andersen for Black Box Music. I øvrigt fuldt fortjent, men det levner ikke Michala Petri mange chancer. Ikke siden år 2000 er det sket, at et land har modtaget statuetten og det gyldne håndtryk to år i træk. Og statistikken siger det klart: Når det endelig sker, sker det som regel for Finland.
Så selvom hun har allieret sig med en hær af tidligere vindere og nominerede, og selvom de to nye udgivelser viser, at Petri er på toppen af sit kunstneriske virke, så ser det sort ud. Men op på hesten igen. Vi skal have den forbandede pris til Petri, om så det først bliver i 2033. Måske kan vi få Steen-Andersen til at skrive et værk for blokfløjte og Wii i mellemtiden. For slet ikke at tænke på samarbejdsmulighederne, hvis det bliver den færøske doom metal-gruppe Hamferð, der modtager prisen tirsdag...
Læs mere om nomineringerne til Nordisk Råds Musikpris - ikke mindst den danske musiker HVAD - i dagens nyhed herom.
Michala Petri & Aalborg Symfoniorkester: Danish & Faroese Recorder Concertos. Udgivet på Our Recordings, 2015. Katalognr. 6.220609.
Michala Petri & Lapland Chamber Orchestra: Nordic Sound: Tribute to Axel Borup-Jørgensen. Udgivet på Our Recordings, 2015. Katalognr. 6.220613.
 
 
Sune Anderberg, Seismograf,(Magazine for contemporary Music)

Michala Petri, recorder
Lapland Chamber Orchestra
Nordic Sound
Tribute to Axel Borup-Jørgensen
Lapin kamariorkesteri onnistuu luottamustehtävässään
Julkaistu, Kuuntele Uudet, Finland
23.October 2015
Kun tanskalainen nykysäveltäjä Axel Borup-Jorgensen kuoli, on ihan normaalia että viideltä tanskalaiselta tilattiin musiikkia hänen muistokseen, ja että tanskalainen levy-yhtiö OUR Recordings julkaisi projektista levyn. Mutta miksi Lapin kamariorkesteri kutsuttiin projektin orkesteriksi, muun muassa soittamaan muistokonsertti Tanskaan?
Henkilösuhteilla on tällaisissa erikoistilausprojekteissa merkitystä. Lapin kamariorkesterin johtaja John Storgårds ja toimelias intendentti Ulla-Maija Kanerva ovat taidokkaalla työllään saaneet orkesterinsa ujutettua piireihin. Mutta suhdetoiminta ei riitä, jos tuote ei vastaa odotuksia. Mikä tahansa pikkuorkesteri maakunnasta ei pysty opiskelemaan viittä vaativaa tanskalaista tilaussävellystä, tai ei viitsi niihin tarttua. Lapin kamariorkesteri pystyy - ja viitsii.
Levyn säveltäjinä ovat Borup-Jorgensenin itsensä lisäksi Bent Sörensen, Pelle Gudmundsen-Holmgreen, Sunleif Rasmussen, Mogens Christensen ja Thomas Clausen - siis Tanskan ykkösketju färsaarelaisvahvistuksella. Neljässä kappaleessa soittaa solistina nokkahuilutähti Michala Petri. Musiikin tyyli vaihtelee Sörensenin sointikenttämagiasta Gudmundsen-Holmgreenin rouhivaan ekspressionismiin ja Rasmussenin energiapurkauksista Christensenin leikkisyyden kautta Clausenin uusklassiseen elokuvamusiikkiin.
Kaiken tämän Lapin kamariorkesteri hoitaa kuin vettä valaen. Pikkuriikkisen jousiston sointi ei yllä Keski-Pohjanmaan kamariorkesterin yhtenäiseen pehmeyteen, mutta senkin edestä kuullaan rohkeita soolosuorituksia, modernien sointivärien tarkkaa kontrollia ja viiltävän tarkkaa yhteispeliä. Kapellimestari Clemens Schuldt on saanut teokset istumaan tavalla, joka yleensä vaatii useita esityksiä. Erikseen pitää mainita kontrabasisti Jukka Rotola-Pukkila, joka yksinään kuljettaa bassolinjat, möyrii sointien pohjamudat ja komppaa, aina tarpeen mukaan ja kohdalleen.
Levyllinen tanskalaista nykymusiikkia ei ehkä kuulu rovaniemeläisen kulttuuripolitiikan ytimeen, mutta kyse on luottamustehtävästä ja kansainvälisestä näytön paikasta. Lapin kamariorkesteri todistaa tällä levyllä paitsi osaamisen myös motivaation. Moni nimekkäämpi orkesteri olisi saattanut tehdä tanskalaisen tilauskeikan puolivaloilla, mutta lappilaiset ovat heittäytyneet täysillä, ja se kuuluu.
"Nordic sound - tribute to Axel Borup-Jörgensen". Bent Sörensen: Whispering. Pelle Gudmundsen-Holmgreen: Music for 13 strings, for Axel "Boje". Sunleif Rasmussen: Winter Echoes. Mogens Christensen: Nordic Summer Scherzo. Thomas Clausen: Concertino. Axel Borup-Jörgensen: Sommasvit. - Michala Petri, nokkahuilu, ja Lapin kamariorkesteri/Clemens Schuldt. (OUR Recordings, 6.220613)
Kuuntele Uudet levyt 23.10.2015, toimittajana Kare Eskola.

Liittyy ohjelmaan
Julkaistu, Kuuntele Uudet, Finland
  OUR Recordings
Esromgade 15, opg.1 3.floor, room 1315
2200 Copenhagen N
Denmark
Tel: +45 4015 05 77
E-mail: hannibal@michalapetri.com
QUICK LINKS
NEWS
RELEASES
PROJECTS
COLLABORATORS
CONCERT SCHEDULE
REVIEWS
GALLERIES
  PROFILE

CONTACT

MICHALA PETRI'S WEBSITE
LARS HANNIBAL'S WEBSITE

 

 
   

Home | Contact | Copyright OUR Recordings 2002 - 2020. All rights reserved. | Michala Petri's Official Website | Lars Hannibal's Official Website