all reviews
currently showing records for:
Michala Petri, recorder
Lapland Chamber Orchestra
Nordic Sound
Tribute to Axel Borup-Jørgensen
3 times 5 stars review (Max.)
Copyright © 2015 John Miller and HRAudio.net
1 November 2015
This is the third disc of a series of tributes to Axel Borup-Jørgensen, the Danish composer, producer and co-founder of OUR Recordings, who continue to make SACD discs. Borup-Jørgensen died in 2012. His daughter organised a programme of tributes, mainly by Danish composers, artists and musicians. The so-called "Queen of the Recorder", Michala Petri, as a long-time family friend, also took part in a number of disc programmes, and she does so in this issue, in which she joins five comissioned Nordic composers who added their own personal tributes to the much-loved Borup-Jørgensen in a programme entitled "Nordic Sound", which finished with one of his own pieces.

Most of the new pieces are scored in each composer's view of "Modernism", an ill-defined term at best. Only one piece, Thomas Clausen's Concerto for Recorder and Strings, is fully tonal and beautifully melodic. The other pieces were crafted in various types of atonalism and post-Stravinsky rhythms, which challenge listeners who are more used to Classical or Romantic music full of melodies. These pieces also demand great effort from the musicians, who are often asked to produce unusual sounds from their instruments. Axel Borup-Jørgensen himself was a meticulous modernist, who followed a distinctive path of his own. His works exude intense nature mysticism, musically portraying such phenomena as stark outlines of barren trees, blinding sunbursts, or sudden storms. The Nordic composers followed these traits in creating their tributes.

The Lapland Chamber Orchestra (founded 1972) is in a way parallel to the Ostrobothnian Chamber Orchestra in the south of Finland. Its home is Roviniemi in Lapland, which lies some way NNE of the northern end of the Gulf of Bothnia, and it is the furthest north professional orchestra in the European Union. The LCO has engagements around the Arctic region and Finland, but also has played in many venues abroad. One of its specialities is giving premieres of leading contemporary composers, which is why it was chosen for this recording.

Clemens Schuldt is said to be one of the most exciting young conductors emerging from Germany. His training as a violinist under Marcus Stenz at the Gürzenich Orchestra Cologne and the Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen under Paavo Järvii is a very good background for working with string orchestras such as the LCO.

The liner notes have extensive and detailed descriptions about each contributing composer, beginning with a brief biography and an indication of how various personal aspects and distilled musical habits of Borup-Jørgensen himself inspired their tribute piece. Fascinating though this is, I would suggest listening to the disc before reading the liner notes; in this way your imagination will satisfyingly generate your own visions and emotions from the music. A good example of this importance of listening without prejudice is the first track, by Bent Sørensen (b.1958) and titled 'Whispering for Recorder and Strings'. For me, arising from silence, a hushed, shimmering set of high strings, swirls like chill mist in a Nordic wood. The recorder softly joins in, making rhythmic calls suggesting those of a Shaman chanting his magic... and so on. For me, this atmospheric piece suggested a magical woodland, full of dreams and sadness, not unlike Sibelius's Tapiola. But the liner notes tell me that Sørensen was inspired by Borup-Jørgensen's very soft and fragile way of speaking; in later life he almost always spoke in an intimate hushed whisper on the threshold of silence. This is interesting, but no help in interpretation.

Sonically, this disc is a marvel, capturing the timbre of strings stretched to their limit in unusual textures and bowing other parts of the instruments than the strings; the orchestra's stamping vivid rhythms on the floor, and the full gamut of recorders from bass to sopranino, often playing harmonics. The venue was a "new" concert hall in Rovaniemi, the Culture House, which strikingly is a simple elongated rectangular box (bringing the Golden Hall in Vienna to mind, which is famed for its acoustics). Its walls and roof are varnished wooden planks, with some evidence of control of reverberation. Several colour photos show a session on the stage, with a high 5.0 microphone array behind the conductor and a couple of spot mics. These pick up the hall's warm, intimate ambience. Capture was in DXD, transferred to DSD for the SACD. Production, mastering and mixing was by Preben Iwan, an engineer very frequently working for DaCapo.

This is a fascinating collection of recorded premières of modern music from five Nordic composers, brilliantly played by the Chamber Orchestra of Lapland together with the sympathy and virtuosity of Michala Petri's recorder playing, which she so beautifully merges into the string sound, setting her recorder to sing forth in Clausen's Concerto for Recorder and Strings. Well worth exploring if you have even the slightest interest in Nordic modernism, virtuoso string playing, or recorder music.

Copyright © 2015 John Miller and HRAudio.net
Performance: 5 Stars, Sonics (Stereo):5 Stars, Sonics (Multichannel):5 stars
Copyright © 2015 John Miller and HRAudio.net

Marcus Creed, Conductor
L'amour et la foi
Vocal Music by Olivier Messiaen (1908 - 1992)
Opera News Magazine review on L´amour et le foi
William R. Braun, Opera News Magazine
November issue
THE TWO MAIN works on this all-Messiaen CD remain on the outer fringes of the repertoire, but for different reasons. The Trois petites liturgies de la Presence divine (which would make an excellent introduction to Messiaen's music for anyone who doesn't know it) require a unique instrumental ensemble, one difficult to assemble, to accompany the choral singers. The Cinq Rechants, on the other hand, are written for an easily recruited group of twelve a cappella singers, but the vocal lines and rhythms are of such grave difficulty that few ensembles take up the challenge.
 
Both pieces are well served by the Danish forces here. In the Liturgies, conductor Marcus Creed shapes the second movement in a way that keeps it from going into autopilot, eventually reaching heights of abandon, and his female choir is tireless. Its numbers are reduced from the standard contingent, which is a bit of a stretch for the singers, but the challenge is met. The third movement, an entirely different reverent experience, tends to drive a bit, and there is an unwonted sense of restraint to it emotionally. But Creed perhaps has the edge over other recorded versions in the beauty of sound when the choir is pared down to smaller groups. The solo pianist, Marianna Shirinyan, has an unusual and persuasive approach to the piece. She has a more probing and colorful interpretation than did Yvonne Loriod, who in her many performances tended to play as if etching the notes onto copper plates. Two conductors with long-term close associations with Messiaen and his music, Seiji Ozawa and Kent Nagano, have found more playfulness, rhythmic intensity and exaltation than Creed, but on his own terms he succeeds.

The Cinq Rechants, one of Messiaen's "Tristan" pieces and one he considered among his best, require twelve virtuoso singers. They are on hand here. Again, there is just a hint of caution and good manners rather than ecstatic abandon, but, still, the performance on its own terms is persuasive. A recording under Marcel Couraud, who commissioned the piece, is more buoyant in the quicker passages, but Creed brings a supple quality to the fourth movement, and his slower tempos certainly allow the ear to take in more details. The brief motet "O sacrum convivium!," the closest thing Messiaen has to a pantry staple, has here the chantlike flow that Messiaen wanted, a sense of invisible bar-lines. In an era when sound engineers like to boost instruments that are never prominent in live performance, it’s amusing to hear how instead they have used their powers to tamp down the ondes Martenot in the Liturgies, which in the concert hall can easily swamp the other fifty performers.
William R. Braun, Opera News Magazine

Michala Petri, recorder
Danish National Vocal Ensemble
Let The Angels Sing
European Christmas Carols and Songs in New Arrangements for Recorder and Choir
Let the Angels Sing is as functional and simple, yet in an elegant way, as Scandinavian furniture, and as such is well worth your time and attention
. Fanfare, October 2015 Raymond Tuttle
30.October 2015
                 Given a choice between (a) eating stale fruitcake, (b) being trampled by a reindeer, and (c) listening to Christmas carols, I am not sure (c) would be my top choice. As I review this CD it is still early October—too soon to get into the Christmas spirit. By the time you read this review, it will be too late: your tree (if you had one) will long have been pushed screaming into the wood shredder. I note that this disc was recorded in June (the notes don't say which year, however!), which must be worse yet. Even in Copenhagen, it must be hard to feel Yuletide joy in June.
                 Nevertheless, I predict that Let the Angels Sing will make a reappearance in my house two months from now. It has several things going for it. First, many of these carols are not familiar. In fact, many of them I had never heard at all. They all come from Europe, and one of them, “Gabriel's Message” (of Basque origin) dates as far back as the 13th century. That one is particularly lovely. (Music does not go stale as quickly as fruitcake!) Second, how many times have you heard a chorus accompanied by nothing more than a recorder? It seems strange to write this, but I never felt that there was “something missing” in these performances. That's how good the arrangements by conductor Michael Bojesen are. Third, Michala Petri is the reigning Queen of the Recorder, and as many a good queen might do, she is constantly expanding her territory. Suffice it to say that her recorders blend as smoothly with the repertoire, and with the Danish National Vocal Ensemble, as egg blends with nog. Fourth, the 21 singers in that Ensemble sing this music with simple devotion, and with a polish that neither calls attention to itself nor lets the music down. Let the Angels Sing is as functional and simple, yet in an elegant way, as Scandinavian furniture, and as such is well worth your time and attentionFanfare, October 2015 Raymond Tuttle
. Fanfare, October 2015 Raymond Tuttle

Michala Petri, recorder
Lapland Chamber Orchestra
Nordic Sound
Tribute to Axel Borup-Jørgensen
Nordic Sound: Tribute to Axel Borup-Jørgensen
Sune Anderberg, Seismograf,(Magazine for contemporary Music)
27.October 2015
Michala Petri viser med to nye udgivelser, at hun er godt i gang med at børste barokstøvet af den udskammede blokfløjte. Det kan resultere i Nordisk Råds Musikpris tirsdag, men statistikken er imod os.
af Sune Anderberg
I 97 var det dybest set bare feje hold. Dengang løb islandske Björk med Nordisk Råds Musikpris for næsen af Michala Petri, men hvad skulle man også stille op over for så ikonisk en sangerinde? Nu skal man selvfølgelig ikke tage den slags musikpriser alt for tungt, og da slet ikke så geopolitisk knudrede størrelser som Nordisk Råds Musikpris. Alligevel har den danske delegation i år givet Petri et forsøg mere, og det er på alle måder et ’opgraderet produkt’, vi har sendt af sted denne gang.
Siden sidst har Petri ikke bare modtaget Sonningprisen og et ridderkors. Der er også blevet skrevet et utal af nye værker specifikt til den københavnske blokfløjteveteran. Vivaldi og Telemann lusker stadig rundt i hendes repertoire, men nu er det side om side med Pelle Gudmundsen-Holmgreen, Bent Sørensen, Peter Bruun, Axel Borup-Jørgensen, Vagn Holmboe, Thomas Koppel, færøske Sunleif Rasmussen og svenske Daniel Börtz. Alle sammen komponister, der tidligere har modtaget eller været nomineret til Nordisk Råds Musikpris, og det er jo ikke kun godt i forhold til Petris egne chancer for at slutte sig til selskabet – det er også godt for selve blokfløjten, at den finder en vej tilbage i samtidsmusikken efter længe at have været udkonkurreret af tværfløjten.
Ambitionen om at gøre instrumentet nutidigt har fulgt Michala Petri siden de første udgivelser i halvfjerdserne. Det var ganske vist barokken, der fyldte mest – for de fleste værker for blokfløjte blev nu engang skrevet i barokken – men komponister som Henning Christiansen og Luciano Berio sneg sig også med som sjældne gæster, og det viser bare, at det ikke kun er inden for de seneste ti år, man har taget fejl, hvis man udelukkende har forbundet Petri med Bach-industri og støvkostklassik. Alligevel er det ret tydeligt, at der er sket en udvikling, siden hun sammen med Lars Hannibal stiftede pladeselskabet Our Recordings i 2006 og derefter selv har haft den kunstneriske kontrol over sine udgivelser.
Det kastede i august to nye plader af sig. Den ene, Danish & Faroese Recorder Concertos, er en del af Petris serie med nutidige blokfløjteværker fra hele verden. Den anden, Nordic Sound: Tribute to Axel Borup-Jørgensen, er en indspilning af en håndfuld værker, som blev komponeret til minde om Borup-Jørgensen og opført på Louisiana i forbindelse med det, der ville have været hans 90-års-fødselsdag sidste november.
Genspejl i en gammel tryllesø
Komponisterne overlapper på de to udgivelser. Nok er Petri ansvarlig for et boom i blokfløjterepertoiret, men bredere er udvalget dog heller ikke, end at Sunleif Rasmussen og Pelle Gudmundsen-Holmgreen begge har et værk med på hver af pladerne. Ikke at det gør noget, for sammen med Bent Sørensen står de bag de mest spændende af værkerne – ej at forglemme genindspilningen af Axel Borup-Jørgensens Sommasvit (1957), der er et hurraråbende, roligt ulmende ekko fra fortiden, som Nordic Sound-værkerne i forskellig grad har spejlet sig i.
Og navnlig værkerne på Nordic Sound lyder også godt rent indspilningsmæssigt. Umiddelbart efter Louisiana-koncerten tog Petri med Laplands Kammerorkester og den tyske dirigent Clemens Schuldt til Lapland og optog værkerne, og det er lykkedes helt enormt godt. Ikke at Aalborg Symfoniorkester under ledelse af Henrik Vagn Christensen gør det dårligt i Musikkens Hus på den anden udgivelse, men der lægger rummet altså en dæmper på intimiteten. Og det er klart, at den lydlige nærhed og detaljeringsgrad gør meget for ny musik-værker.
Det hører man allerede i Sørensens Whispering (2014), der lyder som en sørgende hyldest til den hviskende Borup-Jørgensen. Her glisserer Petri klagende rundt imellem og over isnende strygere. Der er en overbevisende ubestemthed, som efterhånden glider over i en først kækt melodiøs, men siden melankolsk retning. Til sidst lægger musikerne sig så langt tilbage i lydbilledet, at man kan høre rummet knirke, og værket går langsomt i stå, før det helt opløser sig selv. En meget dragende åbning af Nordic Sound.
Rigtigste kaos
Gudmundsen-Holmgreen optræder som sagt med to værker, men de kunne næsten ikke være mere forskellige inden for hans univers. Chacun Son Son (2014, ’hver med sit næb’) er en klassisk Pelle med en næsten bolero’sk opbygning af det åbne, stridende samtalekøkken. Her er Petri ’degraderet’ til at træde ind på linje med resten af træblæsergruppen i Aalborg Symfoniorkester, men det ville også være mærkeligt med en tyrannisk solist i hans musik – det er jo netop det evigt kævlende kaos, der hersker. I hvert fald som regel, for på Music for 13 Strings (2014) følges instrumenterne organiseret ad i deres mærkelige retninger, i øvrigt helt uden blokfløjte. I begge tilfælde er der en insisterende aggressivitet, og selvom formen er abrupt og kaotisk, bliver det som altid hos Gudmundsen-Holmgreen aldrig kedeligt eller frugtesløst at lytte opmærksomt til. Altså: Fedt, mand.
Lidt anderledes forholder det sig med Sunleif Rasmussens Territorial Songs (2009) og Winter Echoes (2014), der også gør sig i det kaotiske. Hvor de enkelte stemmer hos Gudmundsen-Holmgreen finder sammen om et udtryk, der rummer det modsatrettede, er Rasmussens samlede udtryk mindre absorberende. Lunefuldheden er afløst af en mere gold iscenesættelse af konflikt og halvhjertet forbrødring. Begyndelsen af Territorial Songs er fx et drama mellem en manisk forvirret blokfløjte, en autoritativ kirkeklokke og et abrupt intervenerende orkester, der skal banke fløjten på plads; kaosset virker dog alvorligt teatralsk og serielt styret. Den afstand, man bliver holdt på, forsvinder aldrig rigtigt, og derfor bliver det en ambivalent oplevelse at lytte til Rasmussens værker. De kan noget, men det er, som om de befinder sig bedst på en scene.
I kampens hede
Hvor musikprisværdigt Petris indsamlingsarbejde end er, er det selvfølgelig ikke lige godt det hele, heller ikke på de to nye plader. Thomas Koppels Moonchild’s Dream (1991) bliver ikke bedre, uanset hvor mange gange Petri indspiller den – og nu er det tredje gang. Selvom værket står som en af hjørnestenene i hendes livslange projekt, passer det dårligt ind i selskab med Rasmussen og Gudmundsen-Holmgreen på Danish & Faroese Recorder Concertos. Det er dybest set et Gheorghe Zamfir-værk (ham, der spillede panfløjte, sidst du kørte i taxa). Klichéerne og de skamredne harmonier kæmper med endeløs vibrato og overflødige toner om at stå i kø foran banaliteternes henrettelsespeloton, men af en eller anden grund – eller måske derfor – er det altså et værk, som mange holder af. I hvert fald Michala Petri.
Meget bedre bliver det ikke i Thomas Clausens Concertino for Recorder & Strings (2014) ovre på Nordic Sound. De fire satsers pastiche over Hollywood, Bach og Mozart driver ned ad højttalernes membraner, indtil du står i neobarokt sukkervand til anklerne. Det ville måske passe ind i et andet selskab, men ikke her. Koppel og Clausen er selvfølgelig også de grimme ællinger på de to plader. Rockpioneren og jazzpianisten – det var et sats. Og endelig mangler Mogens Christensens Nordic Summer Scherzo (2014) en egen identitet, men til gengæld excellerer Petri her mere end i nogen anden komposition med virtuose teknikker, løb og spring – det virker næsten som et udstillingsvindue for blokfløjteri.
Heltetragisk tilbagevenden
Lad os være ærlige et øjeblik. Jeg var skeptisk, da jeg fik stukket to cd’er med blokfløjte i hånden. Jeg mener, hallo – blokfløjte, right? Jeg har trods alt også gået til musikskolekoncerter engang. Men jeg blev overrasket over det væld af udtryk, Michala Petri behersker. Ikke bare det klanglige spænd fra bas- til sopranblokfløjte, men også overtoneteknikken og de afsindige løb, hun præsterer. Kun da der gik Zamfir i den på Moonlight’s Child, fik jeg mine fordomme bekræftet; resten af værkerne har talt til mig som ny musik på linje med alt anden ny musik. Petri er både virtuos og udtryksfuld i sit spil, selvom det også kunne være spændende, hvis det af og til lød lidt mindre suverænt, og så er hun visionær i sit arbejde med at indsamle nutidige værker for instrumentet. På alle måder en værdig modtager af Nordisk Råds Musikpris.
Alligevel ender vi nok med blokfløjtehåret i postkassen, når modtageren annonceres tirsdag i Reykjavik. For gælder der én regel for Nordisk Råds Musikpris, så er det, at man skiftes til at være mest værdig til at vinde. Og sidste år vandt altså Simon Steen-Andersen for Black Box Music. I øvrigt fuldt fortjent, men det levner ikke Michala Petri mange chancer. Ikke siden år 2000 er det sket, at et land har modtaget statuetten og det gyldne håndtryk to år i træk. Og statistikken siger det klart: Når det endelig sker, sker det som regel for Finland.
Så selvom hun har allieret sig med en hær af tidligere vindere og nominerede, og selvom de to nye udgivelser viser, at Petri er på toppen af sit kunstneriske virke, så ser det sort ud. Men op på hesten igen. Vi skal have den forbandede pris til Petri, om så det først bliver i 2033. Måske kan vi få Steen-Andersen til at skrive et værk for blokfløjte og Wii i mellemtiden. For slet ikke at tænke på samarbejdsmulighederne, hvis det bliver den færøske doom metal-gruppe Hamferð, der modtager prisen tirsdag...
Læs mere om nomineringerne til Nordisk Råds Musikpris - ikke mindst den danske musiker HVAD - i dagens nyhed herom.
Michala Petri & Aalborg Symfoniorkester: Danish & Faroese Recorder Concertos. Udgivet på Our Recordings, 2015. Katalognr. 6.220609.
Michala Petri & Lapland Chamber Orchestra: Nordic Sound: Tribute to Axel Borup-Jørgensen. Udgivet på Our Recordings, 2015. Katalognr. 6.220613.
Sune Anderberg, Seismograf,(Magazine for contemporary Music)

Michala Petri, recorder
Henrik Vagn Christensen, conductor
Danish Faorese Recorder Concertos
Jeg blev overrasket over det væld af udtryk, Michala Petri behersker.
Sune Anderberg, Seismograf,(Magazine for contemporary Music)
25.November 2015
Michala Petri viser med to nye udgivelser, at hun er godt i gang med at børste barokstøvet af den udskammede blokfløjte. Det kan resultere i Nordisk Råds Musikpris tirsdag, men statistikken er imod os.
af Sune Anderberg
I 97 var det dybest set bare feje hold. Dengang løb islandske Björk med Nordisk Råds Musikpris for næsen af Michala Petri, men hvad skulle man også stille op over for så ikonisk en sangerinde? Nu skal man selvfølgelig ikke tage den slags musikpriser alt for tungt, og da slet ikke så geopolitisk knudrede størrelser som Nordisk Råds Musikpris. Alligevel har den danske delegation i år givet Petri et forsøg mere, og det er på alle måder et ’opgraderet produkt’, vi har sendt af sted denne gang.
Siden sidst har Petri ikke bare modtaget Sonningprisen og et ridderkors. Der er også blevet skrevet et utal af nye værker specifikt til den københavnske blokfløjteveteran. Vivaldi og Telemann lusker stadig rundt i hendes repertoire, men nu er det side om side med Pelle Gudmundsen-Holmgreen, Bent Sørensen, Peter Bruun, Axel Borup-Jørgensen, Vagn Holmboe, Thomas Koppel, færøske Sunleif Rasmussen og svenske Daniel Börtz. Alle sammen komponister, der tidligere har modtaget eller været nomineret til Nordisk Råds Musikpris, og det er jo ikke kun godt i forhold til Petris egne chancer for at slutte sig til selskabet – det er også godt for selve blokfløjten, at den finder en vej tilbage i samtidsmusikken efter længe at have været udkonkurreret af tværfløjten.
Ambitionen om at gøre instrumentet nutidigt har fulgt Michala Petri siden de første udgivelser i halvfjerdserne. Det var ganske vist barokken, der fyldte mest – for de fleste værker for blokfløjte blev nu engang skrevet i barokken – men komponister som Henning Christiansen og Luciano Berio sneg sig også med som sjældne gæster, og det viser bare, at det ikke kun er inden for de seneste ti år, man har taget fejl, hvis man udelukkende har forbundet Petri med Bach-industri og støvkostklassik. Alligevel er det ret tydeligt, at der er sket en udvikling, siden hun sammen med Lars Hannibal stiftede pladeselskabet Our Recordings i 2006 og derefter selv har haft den kunstneriske kontrol over sine udgivelser.
Det kastede i august to nye plader af sig. Den ene, Danish & Faroese Recorder Concertos, er en del af Petris serie med nutidige blokfløjteværker fra hele verden. Den anden, Nordic Sound: Tribute to Axel Borup-Jørgensen, er en indspilning af en håndfuld værker, som blev komponeret til minde om Borup-Jørgensen og opført på Louisiana i forbindelse med det, der ville have været hans 90-års-fødselsdag sidste november.
Genspejl i en gammel tryllesø
Komponisterne overlapper på de to udgivelser. Nok er Petri ansvarlig for et boom i blokfløjterepertoiret, men bredere er udvalget dog heller ikke, end at Sunleif Rasmussen og Pelle Gudmundsen-Holmgreen begge har et værk med på hver af pladerne. Ikke at det gør noget, for sammen med Bent Sørensen står de bag de mest spændende af værkerne – ej at forglemme genindspilningen af Axel Borup-Jørgensens Sommasvit (1957), der er et hurraråbende, roligt ulmende ekko fra fortiden, som Nordic Sound-værkerne i forskellig grad har spejlet sig i.
Og navnlig værkerne på Nordic Sound lyder også godt rent indspilningsmæssigt. Umiddelbart efter Louisiana-koncerten tog Petri med Laplands Kammerorkester og den tyske dirigent Clemens Schuldt til Lapland og optog værkerne, og det er lykkedes helt enormt godt. Ikke at Aalborg Symfoniorkester under ledelse af Henrik Vagn Christensen gør det dårligt i Musikkens Hus på den anden udgivelse, men der lægger rummet altså en dæmper på intimiteten. Og det er klart, at den lydlige nærhed og detaljeringsgrad gør meget for ny musik-værker.
Det hører man allerede i Sørensens Whispering (2014), der lyder som en sørgende hyldest til den hviskende Borup-Jørgensen. Her glisserer Petri klagende rundt imellem og over isnende strygere. Der er en overbevisende ubestemthed, som efterhånden glider over i en først kækt melodiøs, men siden melankolsk retning. Til sidst lægger musikerne sig så langt tilbage i lydbilledet, at man kan høre rummet knirke, og værket går langsomt i stå, før det helt opløser sig selv. En meget dragende åbning af Nordic Sound.
Rigtigste kaos
Gudmundsen-Holmgreen optræder som sagt med to værker, men de kunne næsten ikke være mere forskellige inden for hans univers. Chacun Son Son (2014, ’hver med sit næb’) er en klassisk Pelle med en næsten bolero’sk opbygning af det åbne, stridende samtalekøkken. Her er Petri ’degraderet’ til at træde ind på linje med resten af træblæsergruppen i Aalborg Symfoniorkester, men det ville også være mærkeligt med en tyrannisk solist i hans musik – det er jo netop det evigt kævlende kaos, der hersker. I hvert fald som regel, for på Music for 13 Strings (2014) følges instrumenterne organiseret ad i deres mærkelige retninger, i øvrigt helt uden blokfløjte. I begge tilfælde er der en insisterende aggressivitet, og selvom formen er abrupt og kaotisk, bliver det som altid hos Gudmundsen-Holmgreen aldrig kedeligt eller frugtesløst at lytte opmærksomt til. Altså: Fedt, mand.
Lidt anderledes forholder det sig med Sunleif Rasmussens Territorial Songs (2009) og Winter Echoes (2014), der også gør sig i det kaotiske. Hvor de enkelte stemmer hos Gudmundsen-Holmgreen finder sammen om et udtryk, der rummer det modsatrettede, er Rasmussens samlede udtryk mindre absorberende. Lunefuldheden er afløst af en mere gold iscenesættelse af konflikt og halvhjertet forbrødring. Begyndelsen af Territorial Songs er fx et drama mellem en manisk forvirret blokfløjte, en autoritativ kirkeklokke og et abrupt intervenerende orkester, der skal banke fløjten på plads; kaosset virker dog alvorligt teatralsk og serielt styret. Den afstand, man bliver holdt på, forsvinder aldrig rigtigt, og derfor bliver det en ambivalent oplevelse at lytte til Rasmussens værker. De kan noget, men det er, som om de befinder sig bedst på en scene.
I kampens hede
Hvor musikprisværdigt Petris indsamlingsarbejde end er, er det selvfølgelig ikke lige godt det hele, heller ikke på de to nye plader. Thomas Koppels Moonchild’s Dream (1991) bliver ikke bedre, uanset hvor mange gange Petri indspiller den – og nu er det tredje gang. Selvom værket står som en af hjørnestenene i hendes livslange projekt, passer det dårligt ind i selskab med Rasmussen og Gudmundsen-Holmgreen på Danish & Faroese Recorder Concertos. Det er dybest set et Gheorghe Zamfir-værk (ham, der spillede panfløjte, sidst du kørte i taxa). Klichéerne og de skamredne harmonier kæmper med endeløs vibrato og overflødige toner om at stå i kø foran banaliteternes henrettelsespeloton, men af en eller anden grund – eller måske derfor – er det altså et værk, som mange holder af. I hvert fald Michala Petri.
Meget bedre bliver det ikke i Thomas Clausens Concertino for Recorder & Strings (2014) ovre på Nordic Sound. De fire satsers pastiche over Hollywood, Bach og Mozart driver ned ad højttalernes membraner, indtil du står i neobarokt sukkervand til anklerne. Det ville måske passe ind i et andet selskab, men ikke her. Koppel og Clausen er selvfølgelig også de grimme ællinger på de to plader. Rockpioneren og jazzpianisten – det var et sats. Og endelig mangler Mogens Christensens Nordic Summer Scherzo (2014) en egen identitet, men til gengæld excellerer Petri her mere end i nogen anden komposition med virtuose teknikker, løb og spring – det virker næsten som et udstillingsvindue for blokfløjteri.
Heltetragisk tilbagevenden
Lad os være ærlige et øjeblik. Jeg var skeptisk, da jeg fik stukket to cd’er med blokfløjte i hånden. Jeg mener, hallo – blokfløjte, right? Jeg har trods alt også gået til musikskolekoncerter engang. Men jeg blev overrasket over det væld af udtryk, Michala Petri behersker. Ikke bare det klanglige spænd fra bas- til sopranblokfløjte, men også overtoneteknikken og de afsindige løb, hun præsterer. Kun da der gik Zamfir i den på Moonlight’s Child, fik jeg mine fordomme bekræftet; resten af værkerne har talt til mig som ny musik på linje med alt anden ny musik. Petri er både virtuos og udtryksfuld i sit spil, selvom det også kunne være spændende, hvis det af og til lød lidt mindre suverænt, og så er hun visionær i sit arbejde med at indsamle nutidige værker for instrumentet. På alle måder en værdig modtager af Nordisk Råds Musikpris.
Alligevel ender vi nok med blokfløjtehåret i postkassen, når modtageren annonceres tirsdag i Reykjavik. For gælder der én regel for Nordisk Råds Musikpris, så er det, at man skiftes til at være mest værdig til at vinde. Og sidste år vandt altså Simon Steen-Andersen for Black Box Music. I øvrigt fuldt fortjent, men det levner ikke Michala Petri mange chancer. Ikke siden år 2000 er det sket, at et land har modtaget statuetten og det gyldne håndtryk to år i træk. Og statistikken siger det klart: Når det endelig sker, sker det som regel for Finland.
Så selvom hun har allieret sig med en hær af tidligere vindere og nominerede, og selvom de to nye udgivelser viser, at Petri er på toppen af sit kunstneriske virke, så ser det sort ud. Men op på hesten igen. Vi skal have den forbandede pris til Petri, om så det først bliver i 2033. Måske kan vi få Steen-Andersen til at skrive et værk for blokfløjte og Wii i mellemtiden. For slet ikke at tænke på samarbejdsmulighederne, hvis det bliver den færøske doom metal-gruppe Hamferð, der modtager prisen tirsdag...
Læs mere om nomineringerne til Nordisk Råds Musikpris - ikke mindst den danske musiker HVAD - i dagens nyhed herom.
Michala Petri & Aalborg Symfoniorkester: Danish & Faroese Recorder Concertos. Udgivet på Our Recordings, 2015. Katalognr. 6.220609.
Michala Petri & Lapland Chamber Orchestra: Nordic Sound: Tribute to Axel Borup-Jørgensen. Udgivet på Our Recordings, 2015. Katalognr. 6.220613.
 
 
Sune Anderberg, Seismograf,(Magazine for contemporary Music)

Michala Petri, recorder
Lapland Chamber Orchestra
Nordic Sound
Tribute to Axel Borup-Jørgensen
Lapin kamariorkesteri onnistuu luottamustehtävässään
Julkaistu, Kuuntele Uudet, Finland
23.October 2015
Kun tanskalainen nykysäveltäjä Axel Borup-Jorgensen kuoli, on ihan normaalia että viideltä tanskalaiselta tilattiin musiikkia hänen muistokseen, ja että tanskalainen levy-yhtiö OUR Recordings julkaisi projektista levyn. Mutta miksi Lapin kamariorkesteri kutsuttiin projektin orkesteriksi, muun muassa soittamaan muistokonsertti Tanskaan?
Henkilösuhteilla on tällaisissa erikoistilausprojekteissa merkitystä. Lapin kamariorkesterin johtaja John Storgårds ja toimelias intendentti Ulla-Maija Kanerva ovat taidokkaalla työllään saaneet orkesterinsa ujutettua piireihin. Mutta suhdetoiminta ei riitä, jos tuote ei vastaa odotuksia. Mikä tahansa pikkuorkesteri maakunnasta ei pysty opiskelemaan viittä vaativaa tanskalaista tilaussävellystä, tai ei viitsi niihin tarttua. Lapin kamariorkesteri pystyy - ja viitsii.
Levyn säveltäjinä ovat Borup-Jorgensenin itsensä lisäksi Bent Sörensen, Pelle Gudmundsen-Holmgreen, Sunleif Rasmussen, Mogens Christensen ja Thomas Clausen - siis Tanskan ykkösketju färsaarelaisvahvistuksella. Neljässä kappaleessa soittaa solistina nokkahuilutähti Michala Petri. Musiikin tyyli vaihtelee Sörensenin sointikenttämagiasta Gudmundsen-Holmgreenin rouhivaan ekspressionismiin ja Rasmussenin energiapurkauksista Christensenin leikkisyyden kautta Clausenin uusklassiseen elokuvamusiikkiin.
Kaiken tämän Lapin kamariorkesteri hoitaa kuin vettä valaen. Pikkuriikkisen jousiston sointi ei yllä Keski-Pohjanmaan kamariorkesterin yhtenäiseen pehmeyteen, mutta senkin edestä kuullaan rohkeita soolosuorituksia, modernien sointivärien tarkkaa kontrollia ja viiltävän tarkkaa yhteispeliä. Kapellimestari Clemens Schuldt on saanut teokset istumaan tavalla, joka yleensä vaatii useita esityksiä. Erikseen pitää mainita kontrabasisti Jukka Rotola-Pukkila, joka yksinään kuljettaa bassolinjat, möyrii sointien pohjamudat ja komppaa, aina tarpeen mukaan ja kohdalleen.
Levyllinen tanskalaista nykymusiikkia ei ehkä kuulu rovaniemeläisen kulttuuripolitiikan ytimeen, mutta kyse on luottamustehtävästä ja kansainvälisestä näytön paikasta. Lapin kamariorkesteri todistaa tällä levyllä paitsi osaamisen myös motivaation. Moni nimekkäämpi orkesteri olisi saattanut tehdä tanskalaisen tilauskeikan puolivaloilla, mutta lappilaiset ovat heittäytyneet täysillä, ja se kuuluu.
"Nordic sound - tribute to Axel Borup-Jörgensen". Bent Sörensen: Whispering. Pelle Gudmundsen-Holmgreen: Music for 13 strings, for Axel "Boje". Sunleif Rasmussen: Winter Echoes. Mogens Christensen: Nordic Summer Scherzo. Thomas Clausen: Concertino. Axel Borup-Jörgensen: Sommasvit. - Michala Petri, nokkahuilu, ja Lapin kamariorkesteri/Clemens Schuldt. (OUR Recordings, 6.220613)
Kuuntele Uudet levyt 23.10.2015, toimittajana Kare Eskola.

Liittyy ohjelmaan
Julkaistu, Kuuntele Uudet, Finland

Michala Petri, recorder
Lapland Chamber Orchestra
Nordic Sound
Tribute to Axel Borup-Jørgensen
3 times 5 stars review (Max.)
Dominy Clements October 2015, Music Web International
15 October 2015

Axel Borup-Jørgensen was one of Denmark’s most significant 20th century composers, with an extensive and influential catalogue of works including music for orchestra, chamber pieces and numerous songs. Not long after his death, producer and co-founder of Our Recordings Lars Hannibal met with the composer’s daughter, recorder player Elisabet Selin, to talk about how to preserve and promote her father’s music. This recording is one of a number of projects and a particularly important one for Michala Petri, a longtime family friend and like a “second daughter” to Axel. Other recordings of Borup-Jørgensen’s music released by Our Recordings are of his Recorder Music with Elisabet Selin on Our Recordings 8.226910 and The Percussion Universe of Axel Borup Jørgensen with Gert Mortensen on Our Recordings SACD 6.220608.

Bent Sørensen’s music “is characterized by his focus on minute details of sound and texture”, and in its soft sound levels his piece Whispering encourages us to do the same. Written as a homage to Axel Borup-Jørgensen, the title relates to Axel’s quiet manner of speech. The longer periods in which the recorder’s interplay with the upper strings creates an air of expectation means that the rare appearance of harmony and lower notes are all the more telling. Landscapes are referred to, but this is landscape in a moment in which as much is hidden as can be seen. The final ‘sotto-voce’ three and half minutes or so are truly magical.

Pelle Gudmunson-Holmgreen is the senior member of the living composers in this programme, and one who went through the influences of Sibelius and Nielsen in his early years before breaking out via Darmstadt serialism. This, too, was a long time ago, though while the Music for 13 strings. For Axel “Boje” is by no means serialist there is a strong pull against tonality and the delivery of plenty of angst-ridden explosiveness. The angular nature of the music leads to a highly theatrical character in the work. Its episodic nature results in clear ‘scenes’, and the whole has the strength to carry a potent narrative the listeners can fill in for themselves. ‘Boje’ is the nickname given to Axel by his family, but this I suspect is a work that responds more to its dedicatee’s force of creativity, “as an admirer of his art” rather than as a realistic character reference. There are moments of humour and some moments of more tender reflection towards the end, but this is more of a monument than a mirror – and striking in its power to make us remember it as something vast and symphonically seething despite its strings-only instrumentation.

Sunleif Rasmussen’s Winter Echoes adds recorder solo to eight string players from the Lapland Chamber Orchestra, in a journey from dark to light through changes in solo instrument from bass recorder to sopranino. The first section or movement is a spiky and energetic toccata, the driving rhythmic ostinato of which eventually gives way to a slower paced leggiero over which the recorder’s high notes slide and speak with preening aloofness. The resolution is slower still, the recorder eventually abandoned to its own devices by the silent strings.

From winter to a Nordic Summer Scherzo by Mogens Christensen, who takes some notes from piano pieces by Borup-Jørgensen, integrating them into a piece that is inspired by Swedish culture and that country’s ‘midnight sun’, both of which held Axel’s affection. With some multiphonic effects from the recorder and a feel of narrative development, this is an impressively theatrical and wide-ranging work that nods to Sibelius along the way. The composer sought to “create a dialogue between noisy sounds and small fragments of melodies”, and while there can be no argument about this there is also a great deal of fun to be had along the way.

Thomas Clausen’s background in jazz sees him inhabiting a more recognisably tonal world in his Concertino for recorder and strings. Baroque models are referred to, sonata and rondo forms are used, and connections with Bach, Mozart and Grieg emerge. The second Largo movement is a lovely aria for the recorder, and the third provides dramatic contrast in its turbulent accents and restless cadences. This was originally planned as a three-movement work, but Michala Petri easily persuaded Clausen to add a final fast movement which turned out as ‘a private tribute to Mozart’, the composer’s “all time hero.”

The last word in this programme is given to Axel Borup-Jørgensen in his Sommasvit op. 24 for string orchestra. From 1957 this is considered an early work, the title being Swedish for ‘Sommen Suite’, referring to a large lake area in the province of Småland with which the composer was familiar as a child. In five movements the work describes the arc of a day, from a suspenseful Morgon to a stormy Natt, with a calm concluding Epilog with which to round everything off. Everything here is suggestive rather than explicit, and the imagination is allowed to roam around an intimate inner landscape rather than specific descriptive depictions. The mood is dark, lonely and impassive, and even the driving rain of the nocturnal storm strikes against stone and slaps against wood rather than threatening any kind of human presence. With the final brief movement we are left haunted by this seemingly untouched and indifferent region.

Superbly recorded in detailed and colourful SACD sonics, this is a release which oozes affection for Axel Borup-Jørgensen and is a wonderful snapshot of Nordic contemporary music in the five world premiere pieces composed in his honour. Topped by Michala Petri’s virtuosity, no fan of modern music and the crisp transparency of this ‘northern sound’ should hesitate in adding it to their collection. Dominy Clements October 2015
 

Dominy Clements October 2015, Music Web International

Michala Petri, recorder
Danish National Vocal Ensemble
Let The Angels Sing
European Christmas Carols and Songs in New Arrangements for Recorder and Choir
Absolutely exquisite program of carols and songs
Fanfare, October 2015, Ronald E. Grames
Fanfare Magazine, USA
This program of familiar Christmas music has everything going for it. The Danish National Vocal Ensemble is the elite vocal group of the three superb choirs of the Danish Radio. Conductor and arranger Michael Bojesen is an important name in Danish music: director for most of the Danish Radio ensembles, and a noted composer and educator. And recorder virtuoso Michala Petri is, of course, a legend in her own time. The result is an absolutely exquisite program of carols and songs from around the world, dating from the 13th to the 18th centuries, treated with the utmost respect in arrangements that are at once traditional and refreshingly new. Most offer accompaniment by recorder in various ranges, although a couple, for contrast, are for the 20-voice chorus a cappella, and a particularly nice arrangement of It Came Upon the Midnight Clear features the 11 men of the chorus. All are sung in English, regardless of country of origin, though the In Dulci Jubilo arrangement alternates between English and Latin in a translation of Heinrich Suso’s 14th-century mixture of German and Latin, and others such as Unto Us is Born a Son and Blessed Be That Maid Mary retain their few lines of Latin.
Everything about this release is perfect: the purity and precision of the choral singing, the traditional but never hackneyed selections, the total lack of arranger-perpetrated bombast and cleverness that can afflict such enterprises, the charming addition of the recorder in descant, the extraordinarily open and natural sound, and the attractive presentation. I have no doubt that I will be revisiting this SACD when the season is more appropriate—I’m writing this as warm fall breezes blow through my listening room—and am only sorry that this notice will not appear in the journal itself until after this year’s Christmas has passed. Those who follow Fanfare online will see it in plenty of time.
If I have any reservation at all, it is regarding the rather cool refinement of the readings themselves. That is a strange thing to complain of, but for some, seasonal music demands a more expansive warmth of expression to which these performances do not aspire. These are not home-by-the-fireside caroling performances; they are walking-in-the-snow-covered-fields-at-night performances. The still, crisp air is bracing, the moonlit drifted snow sparkling, and the shimmering icy halos of Michala Petri’s recorder lovely indeed. And is that a star I see in the east?
Just so the reader knows. Fanfare, October 2015,  Ronald E. Grames
Fanfare, October 2015, Ronald E. Grames

Michala Petri, recorder
Lapland Chamber Orchestra
Nordic Sound
Tribute to Axel Borup-Jørgensen
Excellent SACD sound. FOUR STARS
Classic Music UK
15 October 2015
A tribute to late producer and label-founder Axel Borup-Jørgensen, this collection of six contrasted works (five premieres) ranges from the quirky (Mogens Christensen) to haunting (Bent Sørensen) to piercingly intense (Pelle Gudmundsen-Holmgreen). Thomas Clausen’s Hindemith-like concertino is a slighter work but Borup-Jørgensen’s own concise Sommen Suite is a welcome (and appropriate) bonus. Excellent SACD sound. [FOUR STARS]
Classic Music UK

Michala Petri, recorder
Henrik Vagn Christensen, conductor
Danish Faorese Recorder Concertos
Three very different recorder concertos show Michala Petri as subtle performer, with exquisite lyricism as well as stunning virtuosity
Remy Franck, Pizzicato, Luxemburg
7 October 2015
Pizzicato (Luxemburg)
Zeitgenössische Blockflöten-Konzerte
4 Notes
07/10/2015

Thomas Koppel: Moonchild's Dream; Pelle Gudmundsen-Holmgreen: Chacun son son; Sunleif Rasmussen: Territorial Songs; Michala Petri, Aalborg Symphony Orchestra, Henrik Vagn Christensen; 1 SACD Our Recordings 6.220609; 6/14 (57'01) – Rezension von Remy Franck
Michala Petri beginnt ihr Programm mit ‘Moonchild’s Dream’, dem Soundtrack eines Videofilms über die Hoffnungen und Träume eines jungen Mädchens in einem Armenviertel Kopenhagens. Die Musik ist, losgelöst vom Bild, ungemein suggestiv und eher eine Folge von meist lyrischen Naturbildern als von Sozialproblematik. Michala Petri hat hörbar viel Freude an dieser spielerisch phantasievollen Musik, in der ihre Blockflöte auf dem Seile tanzt, und heftige Paukenschläge manchmal für Kontraste zu einer imaginären schönen Welt schaffen.
Weniger schön, abstrakter und zum Teil harsch präsentiert sich das viertelstündige Konzert von Pelle Gudmundsen-Holgreen, während Sunleif Rasmussens ‘Territorial Songs’ sich mit Vögeln befasst, die ihren Gesang auch zum Markieren ihres Gebiets benutzen. Dieser wie wild zwitschernde Vogelgesang fordert Michala Petri zu phänomenaler Virtuosität heraus, wobei diese nie Selbstzweck oder Show wird, dazu ist die Musikerin zu integer!
Gute Orchesterleistungen und eine tadellose Aufnahmetechnik bekräftigen den guten Eindruck, den diese CD insgesamt macht.
Three very different recorder concertos show Michala Petri as subtle performer, with exquisite lyricism as well as stunning virtuosity
Remy Franck, Pizzicato, Luxemburg

Michala Petri, recorder
Henrik Vagn Christensen, conductor
Danish Faorese Recorder Concertos
Petri continues to show why she remains a leading inspirer of new repertoire for the instrument.
Alison Melville, The Whole Note, Canada,August 2015
2015-10-03
August brought me two CDs of modern recorder concertos from Denmark, released on the Danish label OUR Recordings, and what a pleasant smörgåsbord they are (sorry, couldn’t resist that one). Danish and Faroese Recorder Concertos also features Petri as recorder soloist but this time with the excellent Aalborg Symphony Orchestra under Henrik Vagn Christensen. A novel by Italo Calvino was the inspiration for Rasmussen’s four-movement Territorial Songs, and his inventive, multi-faceted use of orchestral colour and depth of melodic expression is impressive. Chacun son son by Gudmundsen-Holmgreen begins with the whimsical combination of bass recorder, bass clarinet, clarinet and bassoon, and the various sections of the orchestra are pitted against one another, as one might expect given the piece’s title. The recorder is well incorporated into the woodwind section here, rather than being cast in a more typical soloist’s role, and the instrument, particularly the bass recorder, balances well with the others, something unlikely in an unplugged live performance. Thomas Koppel’s Moonchild’s Dream is the third contribution to the program and its lovely yet unmistakable film vibe is no surprise, considering that it was originally commissioned for a video. As always in this repertoire, Petri continues to show why she remains a leading inspirer of new repertoire for the instrument. I just wish that the excellent solo clarinetist from the Aalborg Orchestra had been credited, as the violinist was.
Alison Melville, The Whole Note, Canada,August 2015

Michala Petri, recorder
Lapland Chamber Orchestra
Nordic Sound
Tribute to Axel Borup-Jørgensen
10/10/10
Heinz Braun, 01.10.2015, Klassik heute
1 October 2015
English Translation of Klassik Heute Review
The works of this CD where all premiered in November 2014 as part of a concert given at the Louisiana Museum of Modern Art in Humlebæk, north of Copenhagen, in honor of the great Danish composer Axel Borup-Jørgensen, who died in 2012. Besides Borup-Jørgensen's own, early string orchestra work Sommasvit (1957), five premieres of works specially commissioned for this concert (and recorded on this CD) by former friends and musical colleagues. This recording reflects a special quality of Scandinavian contemporary music, in my opinion: namely, its refreshingly un-ideological stylistic individuality and the courage to provide stand-alone musical solutions to the challenges of contemporary music.
 
In Whispering for recorder and string orchestra, Bent Sørensen succeeds in creating a delicate and atmospheric work of sometimes captivating beauty. No less convincing and consistent is Pelle Gudmundsen-Holmgreen Music for 13 strings. In this piece, his compelling and uncompromising musical language most closely recalls Borup-Jørgensen himself, in particular the repeated use of the tritone interval, unreal glissandos and tremolos punctuate the excited unison passages. Sunleif Rasmussen Winter Echoes for recorder and 13 solo strings is particularly memorable, especially in the meandering, ceaselessly propulsive Toccata episodes. Mogens Christensen has been very familiar with the recorder for many  years and here, in his brilliantly colorful-chirping Nordic Summer Scherzo, he brings his material back to Borup-Jørgensen. It may be surprising to see the composer and famous Danish jazz pianist Thomas Clausen on this CD, represented by his neoclassically-inspired, Concertino. Very much in the tradition of Holmboe, Clausen‘s Concertino is a beautiful, playful work sure to win many friends with its touching, "singing" Largo (convinced with unmistakable echoes of Bach's Air) and the bubbling, virtuoso finale. A marvelous work concludes the CD: Borup-Jørgensen‘s Sommasvit (Sommen-Suite), Op 24 for string orchestra, written when the composer was 33-years-old in remembrance of his stays on Swedish the island of the same name in the Småland region. In five concise movements that describe the progresses from morning to evening, the composer achieves a fascinating multi-layered sound panorama that ranges from delicate, subtle subdivisions on darkly elegiac passages to troubled dramatic churnings, finally fading away in a melancholy epilogue.
 
One can hardly imagine more competent and more committed performers for this music than soloist Michala Petri and the fabulous strings of Lapland Chamber Orchestra under the confident, colorful and illuminating guidance of Clemens Schuldt. Also the engineering, artwork and editorial quality of the booklet are on the highest level. A homage very much worth hearing, that impresses  with the sheer quality of the music, stylistic diversity and integrity of the design. Heinz Braun (01.10.2015)
Wertung: 10 / 10 / 10
 
 
Die Werke dieser CD wurden im November 2014 im Rahmen eines Konzerts zu Ehren des 2012 verstorbenen bedeutenden dänischen Komponisten Axel Borup-Jørgensen im Louisiana Museum of Modern Art in Humlebæk, nördlich von Kopenhagen aufgeführt. Neben Borup-Jørgensens eigenem, frühen Streichorchesterwerk Sommasvit von 1957 erklangen fünf Uraufführungen, die speziell für dieses Konzert (und die in der Folge produzierte CD) von ehemaligen Freunden und musikalischen Weggefährten geschrieben wurden. In dieser Aufnahme spiegelt sich meines Erachtens eine besondere Qualität der skandinavischen Gegenwartsmusik: ihre erfrischend un-ideologische stilistische Individualität, die Mut zu eigenständigen musikalischen Lösungen hat.
Bent Sørensen gelingt mit Whispering für Blockflöte und Streichorchester ein zartes und atmosphärisches Werk von zuweilen berückender Schönheit. Nicht weniger überzeugend und stimmig wirkt Pelle Gudmundsen-Holmgreens Music for 13 Strings. In seiner zwingenden und kompromisslosen Klangsprache erinnert dieses Werk noch am ehesten an Borup-Jørgensen selbst: Eine immer wieder vom Tritonus-Intervall geprägte Musik, in der fahle, unwirkliche Glissandi und Tremoli aufgeregten Unisono-Passagen gegenüberstehen. Sunleif Rasmussens Winter Echoes für Blockflöte und 13 Solostreicher bleiben vor allem mit ihren mäandernden, unaufhörlich vorwärtstreibenden Toccata-Episoden in Erinnerung. Der mit der Blockflöte seit vielen Jahren bestens vertraute Mogens Christensen greift in seinem koloristisch-zwitschernden Nordic Summer Scherzo in seinem Material auf Borup-Jørgensen zurück. Es mag überraschen, unter den Komponisten der CD auch den bekannten dänischen Jazz-Pianisten Thomas Clausen zu finden, dem mit seinem neoklassizistisch angehauchten, in der Tradition Holmboes stehenden Concertino ein wunderschönes, spielerisches Werk gelungen ist, das mit seinem rührend „singenden“ Largo (mit unüberhörbaren Anklängen an Bachs Air) und dem virtuos-sprudelnden Finalsatz überzeugt. Ein wunderbares Werk beschließt die CD: Borup-Jørgensens Sommasvit (Sommen–Suite) op. 24 für Streichorchester, das der damals Dreiunddreißigjährige in Erinnerung an seine Aufenthalte in der gleichnamigen Landschaft im schwedischen Småland geschrieben hatte. In fünf konzisen Sätzen, die den Tageslauf vom Morgen bis zum Abend beschreiben, entfaltet sich eine faszinierend vielschichtiges Klangpanorama, das von zarten, feinsten Verästelungen über düster-elegische Passagen bis hin zu dramatisch aufgewühlten Steigerungen reicht und in einem melancholischen Epilog ausklingt.
Man kann sich für diese Musik kaum kompetentere und engagiertere Interpreten vorstellen als die Solistin Michala Petri und die fabelhaften Streicher des Lapland Chamber Orchestra unter der souverän alle Farben ausleuchtenden Leitung von Clemens Schuldt. Auch Tontechnik, Artwork und editorische Güte des Booklets bewegen sich auf höchstem Niveau. Eine überaus hörenswerte Hommage, die durch die schiere Qualität der Musik, stilistische Vielfalt und Seriosität der Ausführung besticht. Heinz Braun, 01.10.2015
Heinz Braun, 01.10.2015, Klassik heute

Michala Petri, recorder
Lapland Chamber Orchestra
Nordic Sound
Tribute to Axel Borup-Jørgensen
and what a pleasant smörgåsbord they are
Alison Melville, 28 September 2015, The Whole Note, Canada
28.September 2015
August brought me two CDs of modern recorder concertos from Denmark, released on the Danish label OUR Recordings, and what a pleasant smörgåsbord they are (sorry, couldn’t resist that one).

Nordic Sound is a special tribute to Axel Borup-Jørgensen (1924-2012), one of Denmark’s most influential modern-era composers, and four of the six works on the program are for recorder and strings. Inspired by the Danish landscape, Bent Sørensen creates a mystical and spacious atmosphere in Whispering, and the elegant pointillism and rhythmic complexity of the Faroese composer Sunleif Rasmussen’s Winter Echoes elicits wonderful and virtuosic playing from all parties. Mogens Christensen requests a panoply of flutters, pips, chirps and multiphonics from Michala Petri in his Nordic Summer Scherzo, all of which makes for a tour-de-force of bird imitation, and Thomas Clausen’s four-movement Concertino provides a tasteful shift to the neo-Baroque. Two pieces for strings, by Pelle Gudmundsen-Holmgreen and Borup-Jørgensen himself, are beautifully played by the members of the Lapland Chamber Orchestra under Clemens Schuldt. Alison Melville, 28 September 2015 
Alison Melville, 28 September 2015, The Whole Note, Canada

Michala Petri, recorder
Lapland Chamber Orchestra
Nordic Sound
Tribute to Axel Borup-Jørgensen
Nordic Sound. Tribute to Axel Borup-Jørgensen.
Anu Jormalainen, Lapin Kansa Finland
26 September 2015
 
Lapin kamariorkesteri. Kapellimestarina Clemens Schuldt. Michala Petri, nokkahuilu. OUR Recordings, 2015.
Musiikin tunneilla traumatisoituneet saattavat kavahtaa Lapin kamariorkesterin alkusyksystä ilmestyneen levyn soolosoitinta. Juuri ennakkoasenteisten kannattaisi kuitenkin kuunnellaNordic Sound huolella, sillä sen keskiössä hurmaa maailmankuulu tanskalainen nokkahuilutaiteilija Michala Petri. Arvostetun ECHO Classic Awardin vuoden parhaasta konserttolevystä hiljattain voittanut Lapin kamariorkesterikin on tottunut vakuuttamaan kuulijansa; varsinkin nykymusiikin ja ensiesitysten saralla. Tällä kertaa Petrin ohella äänessä ovat orkesterin jouset, jotka kantaesittivät ohjelmiston jo viime marraskuussa Tanskassa, Louisiana Museum of Modern Artissa säveltäjä Axel Borup-Jørgensenin (1924–2012) muistokonsertissa.
Tanskalaisen modernismin kärkinimiin kuuluneella Borup-Jørgensenilla oli syvä suhde nokkahuilumusiikkiin. Viiden tanskalaissäveltäjän tilausteokset – joko nokkahuilulle ja jousille tai pelkälle jousiorkesterille – on tehty säveltäjämestarin elämäntyön hengessä. Näistä lähtökohdista syntyy levyn tumma, mutta lohdullinen pohjasävel. Albumi on äänitetty Korundissa nuoren saksalaisen kapellimestaritähti Clemens Schuldtin johdolla.
Kunnianosoituksen nivoo yhteen niin Petrin virtuoosisuus kuin skandinaavinen äänimaisema-arkkitehtoninen sävelkieli. Aloitusteos, Bent Sørensenin utuinen Whispering (2014), nousee hiljaisuuden sävelsumusta majakan lailla ja vangitsee eteeris-minimalistisilla harmonioilla. Kontrastin tarjoaa Pelle Gudmundsen-Holmgreenin kompleksisempi Music for 13 Strings(2014), jonka vimmaista rytmiikkaa ryydittävät muusikoiden jalkojen polkaisut.
Kamariorkesterille aiemmista projekteista tuttu färsaarelaissäveltäjä Sunleif Rasmussen on luonut karunkomean talven ihmemaan teoksellaan Winter Echoes (2014).
Mogens Christensenin nyanssirikkaasta Nordic Summer Scherzosta (2014) kuultaa lintujen liverrys. Nokkahuilu taipuu Petrin taiturimaisessa käsittelyssä helmipöllön puputuksesta elektroefekteihin.
Iskevien hetkien jälkeen levyn kaunein laguuni, jazzmuusikko
Thomas Clausenin
barokkivaikutteinen Concertino for recorder & strings (2014), ja eritoten sen melankolinen Largo, tuntuu suoraan sieluun valutetulta hunajalta.
Sopusuhtaisen kokonaisuuden sinetöi Borup-Jørgensenin oma sävellys Sommasvit op. 24 (1957), joka pyörittää kuulijan läpi smålantilaisen päivänkierron.
Anu Jormalainen 26.9.2015
Anu Jormalainen, Lapin Kansa Finland

Marcus Creed, Conductor
L'amour et la foi
Vocal Music by Olivier Messiaen (1908 - 1992)
Marcus Creed Presides Over Idiomatic Performances with Authority
Philip Reed, Choir and Organ
2015-09-24
4 stars

This recording offers three of Messiaen's bestknown choral works: O sacrum convivium! (1937), Trois petites liturgies de la Présence Divine (1943) and Cinq rechants (1948). The last of these, with its mixture of languages (French and a Sanskrit-like language devised by Messiaen himsef), was composed for 12 solo voices and presents many challenges to its performers: sound, rhythm and technique are all extended by the composer's demands, which include modifying vowels sounds to produce percussive effects.

The Danish National Vocal Ensemble delivers a committed reading of this difficult work. No less committed are their colleagues of the Danish National Concert Choir and Chamber Orchestra who join them in the other substantial piece on the CD, the Trois petites liturgies, which receives a persuasive account, Marcus Creed presides over these idiomatic performances with authority.
Philip Reed, Choir and Organ

Michala Petri, recorder
Henrik Vagn Christensen, conductor
Danish Faorese Recorder Concertos
Disc Complement Petri's Understated Virtuosity
Richard Whitehouse. Gramophone
October Issue
These latest releases from OUR Recordings, the label Michala Petri founded a decade ago, reaffirm the breadth of the contemporary recorder repertoire. "Nordic Sound" came together as a memorial tribute to Danish Composer Axel Borup-Jørgensen, represented here by his suite for strings inspired by Swedish lake-land Sommen and typical in its obligue combining of abrasive energy with austere expectancy.

Pelle Gudmundsen-Holmgreen's Music for 13 Strings is appreciably more integrated as an overall entity, its trenchant contrapuntal writing redolent of Danish music from the 1950s. That the other pieces feature recorder is about their only connection. As it title suggests, Bent Sørensen's Whispering is a resourceful study in "sound overheard", while Mogens Christensen's Nordic Summer Scherzo has the descant instrument in a wealth of deft and capricious exchanges, most distinctive is Winter Echoes by Sunleif Rasmussen, with recorder and strings as one in a somber evocation of exquisite poise.

The other disc focuses on Danish and Faroese recorder concertos, this latter country again represented by Rasmussen – his Territorial Songs inspired by competing bird colonies in a sequence of five movements whose expressive central "anti-cadenca" is framed by musical landscapes of mesmeric stillness and, in turn, by bell-permeated studies of surging impetus. Vastly different is Moonchilds Dream, Thomas Koppels's concerto, whose four movements outline a trajectory of hopes envisaged though ultimately denied in music that ranges from overt brutality to radiant pathos. In between is Chacun Son Son, Pelle Gudmundsen-Holmgreen's typically ingenious sequence of canonic exchanges in which various recorders are deployed according to the orchestral context – thus resulting in music that is ominous and sardonic by turns.

Both discs complement Petri's tellingly understated virtuosity with committed playing from the Lapland Chamber Orchestra and Aalborg Symphony orchestras respectively. Spacious sound and copious notes further enhance recordings that are provocative and diverting in equal measure.
Richard Whitehouse. Gramophone

Michala Petri, recorder
Lapland Chamber Orchestra
Nordic Sound
Tribute to Axel Borup-Jørgensen
Disc Complement Petri's Understated Virtuosity
Richard Whitehouse. Gramophone
October Issue
These latest releases from OUR Recordings, the label Michala Petri founded a decade ago, reaffirm the breadth of the contemporary recorder repertoire. "Nordic Sound" came together as a memorial tribute to Danish Composer Axel Borup-Jørgensen, represented here by his suite for strings inspired by Swedish lake-land Sommen and typical in its obligue combining of abrasive energy with austere expectancy.

Pelle Gudmundsen-Holmgreen's Music for 13 Strings is appreciably more integrated as an overall entity, its trenchant contrapuntal writing redolent of Danish music from the 1950s. That the other pieces feature recorder is about their only connection. As it title suggests, Bent Sørensen's Whispering is a resourceful study in "sound overheard", while Mogens Christensen's Nordic Summer Scherzo has the descant instrument in a wealth of deft and capricious exchanges, most distinctive is Winter Echoes by Sunleif Rasmussen, with recorder and strings as one in a somber evocation of exquisite poise.

The other disc focuses on Danish and Faroese recorder concertos, this latter country again represented by Rasmussen – his Territorial Songs inspired by competing bird colonies in a sequence of five movements whose expressive central "anti-cadenca" is framed by musical landscapes of mesmeric stillness and, in turn, by bell-permeated studies of surging impetus. Vastly different is Moonchilds Dream, Thomas Koppels's concerto, whose four movements outline a trajectory of hopes envisaged though ultimately denied in music that ranges from overt brutality to radiant pathos. In between is Chacun Son Son, Pelle Gudmundsen-Holmgreen's typically ingenious sequence of canonic exchanges in which various recorders are deployed according to the orchestral context – thus resulting in music that is ominous and sardonic by turns.

Both discs complement Petri's tellingly understated virtuosity with committed playing from the Lapland Chamber Orchestra and Aalborg Symphony orchestras respectively. Spacious sound and copious notes further enhance recordings that are provocative and diverting in equal measure.
Richard Whitehouse. Gramophone

Michala Petri, recorder
Lapland Chamber Orchestra
Nordic Sound
Tribute to Axel Borup-Jørgensen
Komplext och jovialt för blockflöjt
Mats Liljeroos, Hufvudstadsbladet, Helsinke, Finlan
16.September 2015
Komplext och jovialt för blockflöjt
Danska Michala Petri gör utmärkta premiärinspelningar av en handfull verk för blokflöjt och orkester.
Michala petri, blokflöjt
Nordic Sound. Verk för blokflöjt och stråker. Lapplands kammarorkester under Clemens Schuldt. (OUR Recordings)
Danska och färiska konserter för blokflöjt och orkester. Aalborgs symfoniorkester under Henrik Vagn Christensen.
Danskarna har av hävd struntat i de gängse modernistiska normerna och skapat den musik de känt för, fräscht stilmixande och med äktdanskt gemyt, vilket givetvis inte betyder att allt är fröna ängar och fradgande ölstop. Komplexitet och jovialitet kan ingå nog så spännande symbioser och så sker även i landets modernist par excellence, Bent Sørensen (f.1958) detaljerade partitur, där texturerna med åren luckrats upp rejält. Så till eksempel i Whispering för blokflöjt och stråkar, där inledningens täta klanger så småningom övergår i öppnare lanskap.
Stycket inleder skivan Nordic Sound, tillägnad en af Danmarks centrala 1900-talstonsättare, Axel Borup-Jørgensen. Sunleif Rasmussen (f.1961) Winter Echoes, Pelle Gudmundsen-Holmgreens (f.1932) Music for 13 strings och Mogens Christensens (f.1955) Nordic Summer Scherzo rör sig alla I det fascinerande Gränslandet mellem det moderna og mer traditionella, medan drivne jazzpianisten Thomas Clausen (f. 1948) nybarocka Concertino – liksom ovannämnda stycken skrivet 2014 för blokflöjt och stråkar – på ett skojigt sätt skiller sig ur mängden.
Modernistpionjären Borup-Jørgensens (1924-2012) Sommasvit  för stråkar (1957) – titeln syftar på den småländska  insjön – är ett fint tidligt eksempel på den särpräglade estetiska uttryk. Lapplands kammerorkester har tidligare företagit lyckade danska exkursioner med sin chefdirigent John Storgårds  och gör nu ett ypperligt jobb under unge tysken Clemens Schuldt.
Human Modernism
Den gemensamma nämnaren för de här aktuella inspelningarna är blokflöjtvirtuosen Michala Petri, som i sina talrika skivinspelningar rörst sig från tidlig barock till nyasta nytt. Man kunde rentav påstå at danmark tack vare henne bivet någat av et blokflöjtsparadis där var och varannan skrivit för Petri, som uruppfört över 150 verk.
Man kan ävan på skivan med den danska och färiska blokflöjtkonserter – likaså utgiven på Petris och Lars Hannibals bolag OUR Recordings – beundra den dejliga danska diversiteten alltifrån Savage Rose – grundaren Thomas Koppels (1944-2016) ogenerat filmmusikkromantiska Moonchilds Dream (1991) till Sunleif Rasmussens kontrastrika, fågelsångsinspirerade Territorial Songs (2009). Skivans mest egensinniga verk är Pelle Gudmundsen-Holmgreens Chacun Son Son (2014), som åskådligt demonstrerar hans humana modernism.
Michala Petri har fört det moderna blojkflöjtspelet til nya sfärer med multifoner, sång i röret och ett teknisk raffinemang som söker sin like. Hon får här utmärkt stöd av Aalborgsymfonikerna och Henrik Vagn Christensen och ljudbilden är på bägge skivorna varmt och naturligt resonerande.
Mats Liljeroos, 16.september 2015
Mats Liljeroos, Hufvudstadsbladet, Helsinke, Finlan

Marcus Creed, Conductor
L'amour et la foi
Vocal Music by Olivier Messiaen (1908 - 1992)
5 Star review
Frits van der Waa, Volkskrant
16 September 2015
Een haarscherpe uitvoering onder leiding van Marcus Creed
 
De zangers van het Deens Nationaal Vocaal Ensemble, het Nationaal Concertkoor en het Nationaal Kamerorkest leveren bevlogen en haarscherpe uitvoeringen onder leiding van Marcus Creed

Er is weinig 20ste-eeuwse muziek waaruit zo'n blijmoedigheid spreekt als uit die van Olivier Messiaen. Het werk van de Franse componist is één grote lofzang op de schepping. In de tinkelende pianonootjes in Trois petites liturgies de la présence divine hoor je Messiaens geliefde vogeltjes kwinkeleren, als afwisseling met de engelachtige, in fondanten klanken gevatte vrouwenstemmen.

Daar blijft het niet bij in dit werk uit 1943: klokgelui, spreekkoren, ketsende akkoorden en de elektronische oouueeii-geluiden van de ondes Martenot maken de loftuitingen hier en daar flink luidruchtig.

Het motet O sacrum convivium fungeert als rustpunt, waarna Messiaen het in Cinq rechants over een nog speelsere boeg gooit. Bij teksten als mayoma kalimolimo denk je gauw aan fritessaus of priklimonade, maar het gaat toch echt over de liefde. De zangers van het Deens Nationaal Vocaal Ensemble, het Nationaal Concertkoor en het Nationaal Kamerorkest leveren bevlogen en haarscherpe uitvoeringen onder leiding van Marcus Creed.
Frits van der Waa, Volkskrant

Michala Petri, recorder
Henrik Vagn Christensen, conductor
Danish Faorese Recorder Concertos
Michala Petri har fört det moderna blojkflöjtspelet til nya sfärer
Mats Liljeroos, Hufvudstadsbladet, Helsinke, Finlan
16.September 2015
Komplext och jovialt för blockflöjt
Danska Michala Petri gör utmärkta premiärinspelningar av en handfull verk för blokflöjt och orkester.
Michala petri, blokflöjt
Nordic Sound. Verk för blokflöjt och stråker. Lapplands kammarorkester under Clemens Schuldt. (OUR Recordings)
Danska och färiska konserter för blokflöjt och orkester. Aalborgs symfoniorkester under Henrik Vagn Christensen.
Danskarna har av hävd struntat i de gängse modernistiska normerna och skapat den musik de känt för, fräscht stilmixande och med äktdanskt gemyt, vilket givetvis inte betyder att allt är fröna ängar och fradgande ölstop. Komplexitet och jovialitet kan ingå nog så spännande symbioser och så sker även i landets modernist par excellence, Bent Sørensen (f.1958) detaljerade partitur, där texturerna med åren luckrats upp rejält. Så till eksempel i Whispering för blokflöjt och stråkar, där inledningens täta klanger så småningom övergår i öppnare lanskap.
Stycket inleder skivan Nordic Sound, tillägnad en af Danmarks centrala 1900-talstonsättare, Axel Borup-Jørgensen. Sunleif Rasmussen (f.1961) Winter Echoes, Pelle Gudmundsen-Holmgreens (f.1932) Music for 13 strings och Mogens Christensens (f.1955) Nordic Summer Scherzo rör sig alla I det fascinerande Gränslandet mellem det moderna og mer traditionella, medan drivne jazzpianisten Thomas Clausen (f. 1948) nybarocka Concertino – liksom ovannämnda stycken skrivet 2014 för blokflöjt och stråkar – på ett skojigt sätt skiller sig ur mängden.
Modernistpionjären Borup-Jørgensens (1924-2012) Sommasvit  för stråkar (1957) – titeln syftar på den småländska  insjön – är ett fint tidligt eksempel på den särpräglade estetiska uttryk. Lapplands kammerorkester har tidligare företagit lyckade danska exkursioner med sin chefdirigent John Storgårds  och gör nu ett ypperligt jobb under unge tysken Clemens Schuldt.
Human Modernism
Den gemensamma nämnaren för de här aktuella inspelningarna är blokflöjtvirtuosen Michala Petri, som i sina talrika skivinspelningar rörst sig från tidlig barock till nyasta nytt. Man kunde rentav påstå at danmark tack vare henne bivet någat av et blokflöjtsparadis där var och varannan skrivit för Petri, som uruppfört över 150 verk.
Man kan ävan på skivan med den danska och färiska blokflöjtkonserter – likaså utgiven på Petris och Lars Hannibals bolag OUR Recordings – beundra den dejliga danska diversiteten alltifrån Savage Rose – grundaren Thomas Koppels (1944-2016) ogenerat filmmusikkromantiska Moonchilds Dream (1991) till Sunleif Rasmussens kontrastrika, fågelsångsinspirerade Territorial Songs (2009). Skivans mest egensinniga verk är Pelle Gudmundsen-Holmgreens Chacun Son Son (2014), som åskådligt demonstrerar hans humana modernism.
Michala Petri har fört det moderna blojkflöjtspelet til nya sfärer med multifoner, sång i röret och ett teknisk raffinemang som söker sin like. Hon får här utmärkt stöd av Aalborgsymfonikerna och Henrik Vagn Christensen och ljudbilden är på bägge skivorna varmt och naturligt resonerande.
Mats Liljeroos, 16.september 2015
Mats Liljeroos, Hufvudstadsbladet, Helsinke, Finlan
  OUR Recordings
Esromgade 15, opg.1 3.floor, room 1315
2200 Copenhagen N
Denmark
Tel: +45 4015 05 77
E-mail: hannibal@michalapetri.com
QUICK LINKS
NEWS
RELEASES
PROJECTS
COLLABORATORS
CONCERT SCHEDULE
REVIEWS
GALLERIES
  PROFILE

CONTACT

MICHALA PETRI'S WEBSITE
LARS HANNIBAL'S WEBSITE

 

 
   

Home | Contact | Copyright OUR Recordings 2002 - 2019. All rights reserved. | Michala Petri's Official Website | Lars Hannibal's Official Website