all reviews
currently showing records for:
Palle Mikkelborg
Going To Pieces - Without Falling Apart
Great review in UK Recorder Magazine on "Going to Pieces-Without falling Apart"!
Recorder Magazine
10 April 2015
Review in UK Recorder Magazine
Palle Mikkelborg is a Danish jazz trumpeter and composer who has collaborated with such luminaries as Miles Davies, Ravi Shankar and Don Cherry. This disc features "Going To Pieces Without falling Apart" and "Afterthoughts", the former being a concerto for harp and recorder and strings (with michala Petri's contribution as soloist earning the disc a note in this illustrious publication) and the latter. A work for solo trumpet.
Mikkleborg's music is very deeply rooted in his own spiritual life. Says he, " I see my musical career as a symphony in many movements: each movement capturing impressions of fascinating meetings with musicians from many cultural spheres, knowing that we are all painting with different colours on our palettes" That painterly attitude to life provides an insight the compositional process behind his concerto, which takes the form of twelve short movements. The Dawn Chorus – Morning Raga – Sunrise – The African Girl – A Summer Nightfall – Chanting Monks – Gentle Summer Rain – A Spiritual carousel – A Golden Mystery – The Chines Girl – Lullabies While the Adults Are Talking – Shadow Waltz.
NO movement is more than six minutes long, and each is primarily concerned with the crystallizing of a sound-world rather than the generating of a long-range emotional or tonal structure. Mikkelborg is, if you like, an imagine maker, and this isen't to damn his work with faint praise; his emotional pictures are obviously very deeply felt. Perhaps his music might effectively be described as film music, with the film left to the listeners imagination. At any rate, his performers respond beautifully, Helen Davies' harp and Michala Petri's recorder intertwining and entering fully into what are undeniably some pretty supremely crafted sound-worlds; Mikkelborg owes a lot to his very fine engineer, too.
Petri's sound is instantly recognizable, of course, and its fullness is entirely appropriate her, this double concerto is a fitting vehicle for her. Cat Groom,- January 2014
Recorder Magazine

Michala Petri, recorder
Danish National Symphony Orchestra
Movements
5 out of 5 Stars for Movement in German Klassik.com
Klassik.com
05 April 2015

Cover vergrößern  Ein Gemälde und drei Konzerte
Kritik von Christian Vitalis, 13.07.2008



Movements: Michala Petri plays Amargós, Börtz and Stucky
Label: Our Recordings




Interpretation:
Klangqualität:
Repertoirewert:
Booklet:




 





Ihren Ruf als reines Einsteigerinstrument wird die Blockflöte wohl so schnell nicht los werden, zahlreicher Bemühungen zum Trotz, das Instrument – etwa durch wirkungsvolle Bearbeitungen für Blockflötenensembles oder neue Konzerte – als vollwertiges Mitglied in der Familie der Blasinstrumente zu bestätigen. Vor einiger Zeit habe ich eine Blockflötenplatte besprochen, in deren Booklet der Solist Dan Laurin die allgemein verbreitete These aufgriff, die Blockflöte sei in ihrem Ausdruckspektrum eingeschränkt und käme gegen ein volles Orchester ohnehin nicht an – um sie dann in musikalischer Weise eindrucksvoll zu widerlegen. Das Studium des Texthefts der vorliegenden CD aus dem Hause Our Recordings mit der dänischen Ausnahme-Flötistin Michala Petri hat da ein leichtes Déjà-vu zur Folge: Hier jedoch ist es mit Michael Stucky einer der Komponisten, der offen zugibt, diesem Vorurteil aufgesessen gewesen zu sein und erst nach dem eindrucksvollen Erlebnis eines Konzertes mit Michala Petri umgestimmt wurde – dann aber war er ‚schnell bekehrt' und hat der bis dahin nicht für sinnvoll erachteten Komposition eines Blockflötenkonzerts sofort zugestimmt.

Klingender Gegenbeweis

Eben dieser Michael Stucky hat sein Konzert ‚Etudes' genannt – und die drei Sätze tragen dann auch etüdenhafte Titel: ‚Scales', ‚Glides' und ‚Arpeggios'. Das Orchester ist eher kammermusikalisch-solistisch besetzt; so ist es schließlich nicht die Solistin allein, die sich mit den geforderten Aufgaben (Tonleitern, Glissandi und gebrochenen Dreiklangsfiguren) herumschlagen muss, sondern sämtliche Instrumente werden in gleichen Maßen an diesem Spiel beteiligt. Es entsteht auf diese Weise eine gleichermaßen geistreiche wie allgemeinverständliche und unterhaltsam andere Art von Konzert, dessen Inhalt sich – in Ergänzung mit der harmonisch unproblematischen Tonsprache – auch denjenigen Musikhörern erschließen sollte, die nicht Mathematik und/oder Tonsatz studiert haben. Noch mehr ‚für das Ohr' sind die beiden anderen Konzerte geschrieben: Daniel Börtz liefert mit ‚Pipes and Bells' ein einsätziges Konzertstück, das den nachdenklichen Mittelteil des Programms bildet; die Farben sind gedeckt, die Musik ist von einer gewissen Stille und verbreitet ein Gefühl melancholischer Einsamkeit, wie es beispielsweise den Betrachter eines Sternenhimmels überkommen kann. Die Rufe der Blockflöte am Ende verhallen im Nichts. Packend und ‚süffig' ist dagegen das effektvolle ‚Northern Concerto' des Spaniers Joan Albert Amargós, das den größten Orchesterapparat aufbietet und sich teilweise der Unterhaltungsmusik annähert: hier darf die Blockflöte auch einmal etwas ‚Swing' verbreiten.



Meisterlich

Alle drei Konzerte sind eigenständig und auf ihre Weise hochinteressant und schön. Michala Petri bestätigt ihren herausragenden Ruf – sie beherrscht die Blockflöte meisterlich und zeichnet sich nicht nur durch technische Brillanz und hochvirtuose Beweglichkeit aus, sondern fällt insbesondere durch ihren absolut runden und vom Anblasen bis zum Verhallen vollends beherrschten reinen Ton auf, bei dem es keinerlei Trübungen in Klangfarbe oder Intonation zu beanstanden gibt. Die diversen Stimmungslagen der drei Konzerte werden darüber hinaus sehr einfühlsam herausgearbeitet. Absolut überzeugend! Das vom Chinesen Lan Shui geleitete Danish National Symphony Orchestra ist hochmotiviert bei der Sache und bildet den idealen Begleiter. Ob transparente Klangtupfer wie in Stuckys ‚Etüden' oder fulminante Klangmassen wie in Amargós' Konzert, stets überzeugen die Orchestermusiker auf hohem Niveau, und stets bleibt das runde Klangbild aufnahmetechnisch perfekt ausgewogen in der Balance zwischen Solistin und Begleitung; insbesondere der Mehrkanal-Klang der SACD ist sehr gut gelungen und bietet ein hohes Maß an Plastizität. Darüber hinaus ist der Ton in allen Abspielmodi sehr natürlich; die Klangereignisse sind in allen Schichten gut durchhörbar. Das Textheft – das seine Beiträge in englischer wie spanischer Sprache präsentiert – ist nett aufgemacht und auch recht informativ; reizvoll ist der genreübergreifende Aufhänger, das Projekt über ein Gemälde zu erschließen; dieses Bild, das wohl nicht zufällig von einem dänischen Künstler stammt, ist dann auch auf dem Cover abgebildet ist und hat zudem den Titel der Produktion geliefert.

Klassik.com

Danish National Vocal Ensemble
composer: Francis Poulenc (1899 - 1963)
Half Monk | Half Rascal
Choeurs a capella
Great review on Half Monk-Half Rascal in The Arts Desk
The Arts Desk
02 April 2015
Half Monk/Half Rascal: Unaccompanied choral music by Francis Poulenc Danish National Vocal Ensemble/Stephen Layton (OUR Recordings)

"A critic said that there is both a monk and a street urchin in me. That is an accurate description of my personality." Poulenc was the first to admit the contradictions inherent in his music and character. A devout Catholic, he was openly gay, and his music can miraculously reconcile the deeply personal with the cheekily flippant. Close your ears to Poulenc and you're missing out on some of the 20th century's most alluring music. Listening repeatedly to this sharply performed a cappella choral collection is fascinating. It's easy to dismiss Poulenc as a Tatiesque clown, but the rawer sonorities serve to highlight just how sophisticated a composer he was. It's all in the harmonies and chord progressions – often breaking every rule but invariably sounding wonderful. This is music which can make life feel worth living.

Stephen Layton's Danish choir give exemplary performances. At times there's a welcome edge to the sound, a toughness, coupled with superb control – the major/minor shifts in La blanche neige are superbly done, as is the abrupt fade out at the song's close. There's a rare chance to hear two religious works for male voices, but the real masterpiece is Un soir de neige, a wartime setting of poetry by Paul Éluard. The opening of Bois meutri is chilling. And while you're still marvelling at Poulenc's eloquence in serious mode, move on to the exuberant collection of Chansons Françaises, and the tiny Chanson à boire composed for a Harvard Glee Club. It has a killer ending. Fabulous, in other words.
The Arts Desk

Michala Petri, recorder
Danish National Symphony Orchestra
Movements
Sequensa 21 on Movements
Sequenza 21
01 April 2015
Jan 27 2008

Movements: Michala Petri plays Amargos, Börtz, Stucky
Posted by Lanier Sammons in CD Review, Lanier Sammons

Michala Petri, recorder
Danish National Symphony Orchestra / DR
Lan Shui, conductor

OUR Recordings


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Movements features three pieces that place perhaps the most humble of instruments, the recorder, in the least humble of settings, the concerto. While the idea of a recorder concerto probably conjures up images antithetical to new music, Michala Petri, the featured soloist on this disc, is out to dispel those associations. To that end, Petri commissioned three contemporary composers and gave us a disc that features compositions for her instrument all written within the 21st century.

The first of these is Joan Albert Amargí³s' Northern Concerto. Amargí³s' bio references jazz and flamenco traditions along with the classical, and melodic influences from those worlds pop up throughout the concerto. I can't say that the appearances of these influences always blend cohesively, but owing to the strength of the melodies, I didn't mind too much. It's an undeniably drinkable piece that takes some chances pitting the recorder against the full orchestra and largely succeeds. In fact, Petri's recording earned the piece a Grammy nomination (scroll down to category 107).

Daniel Bōrtz's one-movement concerto, Pipes and Bells, takes a completely different tack, focusing on the recorder's distinctive timbre. Particularly nice is his opening pairing of the recorder and the bass clarinet with some brass stabs thrown in for contrast. At various places in the work the titular bells ring, again offering spectral contrast with the simple profile of the recorder's pipe. Bōrtz also consistently gives the recorder plenty of space. The orchestra mostly provides a textural bath, occasionally churning itself into a crashing wave.

The final concerto is Steven Stucky's Etudes. Like most good works of that title, the piece avoids sounding like any sort study. The three movements promise scales, glides, and arpeggios respectively. Those techniques are certainly delivered, but unobtrusively and always musically. Indeed, it's here that the recorder sounds most at home with the rest of the orchestra.

With these three clever commissions, Petri offers a convincing argument that the recorder can achieve a place outside of its historical niche. Not once on the disc do Petri and her instrument sound out of place despite the new music context and the potency of the full orchestra. In fact, I'd imagine that these concertos would work quite well on any orchestra's program.


Sequenza 21

Michala Petri, recorder
Danish National Symphony Orchestra
Movements
Sequenza 21 on Movements
Sequenza 21
01 April 2015
OUR Recordings


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Movements features three pieces that place perhaps the most humble of instruments, the recorder, in the least humble of settings, the concerto. While the idea of a recorder concerto probably conjures up images antithetical to new music, Michala Petri, the featured soloist on this disc, is out to dispel those associations. To that end, Petri commissioned three contemporary composers and gave us a disc that features compositions for her instrument all written within the 21st century.

The first of these is Joan Albert Amargós' Northern Concerto. Amargós' bio references jazz and flamenco traditions along with the classical, and melodic influences from those worlds pop up throughout the concerto. I can't say that the appearances of these influences always blend cohesively, but owing to the strength of the melodies, I didn't mind too much. It's an undeniably drinkable piece that takes some chances pitting the recorder against the full orchestra and largely succeeds. In fact, Petri's recording earned the piece a Grammy nomination (scroll down to category 107).

Daniel Börtz's one-movement concerto, Pipes and Bells, takes a completely different tack, focusing on the recorder's distinctive timbre. Particularly nice is his opening pairing of the recorder and the bass clarinet with some brass stabs thrown in for contrast. At various places in the work the titular bells ring, again offering spectral contrast with the simple profile of the recorder's pipe. Börtz also consistently gives the recorder plenty of space. The orchestra mostly provides a textural bath, occasionally churning itself into a crashing wave.

The final concerto is Steven Stucky's Etudes. Like most good works of that title, the piece avoids sounding like any sort study. The three movements promise scales, glides, and arpeggios respectively. Those techniques are certainly delivered, but unobtrusively and always musically. Indeed, it's here that the recorder sounds most at home with the rest of the orchestra.

With these three clever commissions, Petri offers a convincing argument that the recorder can achieve a place outside of its historical niche. Not once on the disc do Petri and her instrument sound out of place despite the new music context and the potency of the full orchestra. In fact, I'd imagine that these concertos would work quite well on any orchestra's program.

This entry was posted on Sunday, January 27th, 2008 at 6:54 pm and is filed under CD Review, Lanier Sammons. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.
Sequenza 21

Michala Petri, recorder
Mahan Esfahani, harpsichord
Corelli : La Follia
Great review in US Magazine Fanfare on Corelli!
Fanfare Magazine
26 March 2015
It seems as if Michala Petri has been performing at a high level for almost my entire adult life, and indeed she has. Now, at 56, she still sounds as fresh, imaginative, and accurate as she was when she was a young virtuoso first establishing the recorder with the general public as an instrument to be taken seriously.
Arcangelo Corelli's set of 12 sonatas for violin and continuo that comprises his opus 5 concludes with the famous "La Follia." The second half of that set, nos. 7–12, were transcribed for recorder by an anonymous assortment of composers in the 18th century. Corelli wrote and published his sonatas in 1700, and the undated manuscript used for this recording is titled: "Six solos for a flute and a bass by Archangelo [sic] Corelli, being the second part of his Fifth Opera, containing preludes, allmands, corrants, jigs, sarabands, gavotts with the Spanish folly. The whole exactly transpos'd and made fit for a flute and a bass with the approbation of several Eminent Masters."
It is that grouping that Petri and her harpsichordist (who also wrote very helpful notes) presents in this recording made in Garnisons Church in Copenhagen in May of 2014. The playing is as brilliant, infectious, and imaginative as we have come to expect from Petri. Her tone is sharply focused but always appealing, with a roundness surrounding its pointed center. She and Esfahani bring an extraordinarily lively rhythmic flair to this music, clearly reveling in its dance roots. Petri's virtuosity is always placed at the service of the music; no matter how complex the ornamentation, you never have the feeling that it is there for purely display purposes. The musical shape of each movement is always maintained.
Petri plays with wit throughout. One feels a smile in the gavottes, allemandes, and correntes, while the sarabandes retain their dignity and elegance. Her tone remains even from top to bottom, and her sense of phrasing is impeccable. The music is always going somewhere, it always has momentum and a sense of direction. Esfahani is a true partner in this effort, taking a lead role where the music calls for it (the opening of the Gavotte from op. 5/11, for instance), and applying the same degree of imagination to phrase-shaping and to ornamentation as Petri does.
While much praise deserves to go to Petri and Esfahani, their talents would be less important were this second- or third-rate music. But throughout one is caught up in Corelli's consistent level of inspiration and his musical imagination. Corelli lived a generation before Bach and Handel, and he influenced them as well as Vivaldi. In his day (1653–1713) he was famous throughout the world of music, both for his violin playing and his compositions (limited though they were to six opus numbers). This group of sonatas, even arranged by others for the recorder, is music of real imagination, music that rises well above the standard of its day with a vivid presence.
Natural recorded sound and a lovely booklet with not only excellent notes but lovely photos of the church where the recording was made round out this truly delightful production. Henry Fogel
This article originally appeared in Issue 38:4 (Mar/Apr 2015) of Fanfare Magazine.
Fanfare Magazine

Danish National Vocal Ensemble
composer: Francis Poulenc (1899 - 1963)
Half Monk | Half Rascal
Choeurs a capella
Great review on Half Monk-Half Rascal in UK Magazine Choir and Organ.
Choir and Organ Magazine
26 March 2015
4 out of 5 star review:
The old rouge would have kissed them all, the men twice over. Poulenc may have created am impression of easygoing hedonism, and he certainly took an unusual angel on sacred music (monks playing football,indeed!) but his music demands precision and care even at its most rapturous, and there is plenty
of rapture as well as wit in this intelligent selected programme. Layton gets a lovely, excact sound out of DNVE,heightened by a superb recording. Predictably, the religious songs are sensual, and the secular ones seem to reach for trancendence. That's Poulenc, who was all genius.
Brian Morton: Choir and Organ May/June 2012
Choir and Organ Magazine

Michala Petri, recorder
Mahan Esfahani, harpsichord
Corelli : La Follia
5 star review in German Magazine Ensemble on Corelli-La Follia
Ensemble
15 March 2015
Dass Arcengelo Corelli seine unter Opus 5 zusammengefassten 12 Sonaten für Violine und Begleitinstrument schreib, steht ausser frage, denn immerhin war der Komponist einer der besten Violinvirtuosen seiner Zeit. Doch die Blockflöte war auch schon im 17.Jahrhundert immerhin ein weit verbreitetes Instrument für das häusliche Musizieren. Und da Corellis Musik (und gerade diese Sonaten) schon früh eine immense grosse Verbreitung erführen, ist es zuvollziehen, dass sie auch mit Blockflöte interpretiert wurden. Hier nun habe sich die Grand Dame des Blockflötenspiels, Michala Petri, und der iranishe Cembalist Mahan Esfahai darangemacht, die letzen sechs Sonaten van Opus 5, die durchweg van Tanzrythmen beseelt sind, zu interpretieren. Und wenn man dem Spiel dieser Beiden Musiker lauscht, fragt man sich, ob der klang der Violine oder der Blockflöte nun besser zu diesen Sonaten passt, die sich vierbis fünfsätzig in Suitenform darstelln. Denn Michala Petri is nicht nuer eine bemerkenswerte Blokflötistin, sondern vermag auch die klangliche Ebene den musikalischen Aussagen anzupassen, indem sie auch unterschiediche Flöten benutzt. Sie will gar nicht - wie die meisten Geiger - die virtuose Ebene in den Vordergrund stelln, sondern folgt genauestens dem verlauf der Musik mit Emphase. Und Esfahani ist ein wunderbare Cembalist, der mit ebenso viel geschmack und Selbstbewusstsein seiner Partnerin folgt. Carsten Dürer, November 2014
Ensemble

Michala Petri, recorder
Mahan Esfahani, harpsichord
Corelli : La Follia
Supersonic Pizzicato review on Corelli-La Follia
Pizzicato Magazine
06 March 2015
Symbiotisch  20/02/2015 

Arcangelo Corelli: 6 Sonaten op. 5, Nr.7-12; Michala Petri, Blockflöte, Mahan Esfahani, Cembalo; 1 CD Our Recordings 6.220610; 5/14 (66'22) – Rezension von Remy Franck 

Arcangelo Corellis Violinsonaten sind auch ohne Violine ganz tolle Kompositionen. Zum Beispiel, wenn die Blockflöte die Rolle der Geige spielt. Michala Petri führt den Violingesang zurück in den Mund und singt bezaubernd auf ihrer Blockflöte, sie koloriert und verziert nach allen Regeln der Kunst und schöpft so die ganze Bandbreite ihres Instrumentes meisterhaft aus. Dass jedoch dieser expressive und wunderbar leuchtende Blockflötenklang richtig zur Geltung kommt, das ist auch der Verdienst des Cembalisten Mahan Esfahani. Beide Musiker gehen so in ihrem Darstellungsdrang auf, dass ihre Instrumente einen perfekt und symbiotisch ausbalancierten Klang erzielen, in dem alles passt. Grandios!

Danish recorder player Michala Petri and Iranian-born harpsichordist Mahan Esfahani collaborate in the most appealing way to let the listener experience the beauty of Corelli's sonatas. Petri's singing sound is marvelous, and together with Esfahani she takes full advantage of the work's opportunities for supple phrasing and added embellishments.
Pizzicato Magazine

Palle Mikkelborg
Going To Pieces - Without Falling Apart
.Great reveiw on "Going to Pieces-Without Falling Apart" in US Magazine Fanfare
Fanfare Magazine
04 March 2015

If you are looking for a recording to relax you after a hard day at work, this one, entitled Going to Pieces Without Falling Apart, is it. The title comes from a book by Mark Epstein, MD. A psychiatrist and a practicing Buddhist, Epstein combines tenets of psychology with Buddhist teachings. When Palle Mikkelborg was asked to compose a work for two soloists and string orchestra, he found his inspiration in the title of Epstein's book, which he saw in the window of a bookstore. He opens with "The Dawn Chorus, a Morning Raga," and "Sunrise," which bring to mind the soft sky tones of the beginning of a warm, sunny day. It could be the start of a beautiful daydream. While the recorder plays piquant textures, the harp joins the orchestra in providing the tonal underpinnings for this picture of the waking world. Mikkelborg likes repetition and he uses it as a symphonic tool much as Philip Glass does. We might meet his "African Girl" wearing native dress while walking softly across the savannah. We could remain on that continent for "Nightfall" and the stealthy arrival of its many animals. The echoing of Petri's recorder makes it seem to be a distant call heard while the orchestra plays the pianissimo approach of darkness. The orchestra comes in full voice as we leave Africa to join a group of "Monks Chanting" on another continent, Asia. The "Gentle Summer Rain" begins as single drops that become more frequent as the piece goes on. The pace and the dynamics increase and the orchestra has one of its infrequent chances to play fortissimo. The "Spiritual Carousel" begins with a dissonant sound that wakes the overly complacent spirit. It continues as harp and orchestra maintain the melody of a waltz. The recorder plays a cleansing obbligato over them as the tempo increases and imaginary dancers whirl across the floor. Mikkelborg tells us that the bright eyes of the demure "Chinese Girl" show her hope for a bright future. She takes small, discreet steps as her body reflects the bright lights of a Hong Kong side street. What do babies think of adult conversation? We are their only security, but since they do not communicate with language, we may not always understand them. Perhaps the music of "Lullabies While the Adults are Talking" offers more comfort than words can. "Shadow Waltz," the 12th and final section of the original Concerto, presents a gentle dance that features the low tones of the recorder, as the harp plays glissandos and the orchestra provides a cushion of strings to end this wonderfully atmospheric work. In Afterthoughts the composer finally lets us hear his famous trumpet play a solo. The orchestra enters with low blended tones punctuated by the raindrops we heard earlier. The ensemble comes to life with huge sounds that dissolve into rain. The trumpet plays snatches of melody and the orchestra responds in kind as they play together for the finale. On this disc, Michala Petri plays the recorder with her usual virtuosity and Helen Davies proves to be a splendid harpist. Conductor Henrik Vagn Christensen often keeps the orchestral sound down, but when he lets loose, the result is magnificent. I really enjoyed this recording and suggest it to anyone who likes to daydream. The sound on this SACD is pristine with each of the solo instruments well in front of the orchestra. Maria Nockin  (Mar/Apr 2014) of Fanfare Magazine.

Fanfare Magazine

Michala Petri, recorder
Carolin Widmann, violin
Mozart Flute Quartets
Nice review on Mozart in Pizzicato Music Magazine
Pizzicato Magazine
04 March 2015
RéF, Pizzicato. October 2008

4 out of 5 notes

Mozart schriebt zwar mit Begeisterung seine Oper "Die Zauberflöte", aber die Flöte mochte er ergentlich nicht. "Es gibt nichts so Unreines wie eine Flöte, von zwei Flöten ganz zu sweigen", pfleget er zu sagen. Aus seiner Feder gibt es dennoch mehrere Werke mit Soloflöte, so die vier Flötenquartette die für Querflöte geschrieben wurden und nicht für Blockflöte, so wie sie hier erklingen. Doch bei Michala Petris intonationssicherem, schlanken und flüssigen Blockflötenton wird die Diskussion, ob oder ob nicht, überflüssig. Sie Spielt die Blokflöte sehr virtuos und mit einer souveränen Technik, die ihr ein total natürliches Atmen und Phrasieren mit ihren Streicherkollegen erlaubt. Mozarts konzertante Quartette sprühen ja nur so vor galanter ubd graziöser Thematik, und Michala Petri wird dem vollauf gerecht. Das Streichtrio great mit diesem Klang nicht so sehr in in den hintergrung wie bei der modernen Querflöte, agiert partnerschaftlich mit und lässt die Quartette zu einem Kammermusikerlebnis warden.

Pizzicato Magazine

Michala Petri, recorder
Carolin Widmann, violin
Mozart Flute Quartets
Review in The Oxford Times from concetrs with Petri/Hannibal
The Oxford Times
04 March 2015
Michala Petri and Lars Hannibal: Holywell Music Room
5:04pm Wednesday 28th October 2009

By Simon Collings »


Michala Petri is one of the world's leading recorder virtuosos. She has done as much as anyone living to popularise the instrument, and revive and expand its repertoire. In 1992, she formed an artistic partnership with her husband, the guitarist Lars Hannibal. They have been delighting audiences around the world ever since with their masterly playing and the witty commentaries with which they spice their recitals. The long-neglected recorder has enjoyed a significant revival over the last 80 years with early music enthusiasts leading the way and contemporary composers writing for the instrument.

Friday's concert included an eclectic mixture of pieces, some composed for recorder and guitar, others transcriptions of works written for other instruments. Recorders of different size and type made their appearance during the evening.

A high point was a 2,000-year-old Chinese piece in which the recorder seems to lament for a lost love while the guitar provides consoling support. This was wonderfully communicative music, providing a vivid sense of connection with the distant past. An arrangement of three movements from Piazolla's Histoire du Tango was another highly successful piece. Tango, as Hannibal pointed out, was first performed on guitars and flutes. As compelling was a transcription of Lalo's Norwegian Fantasy, a genial and colourful work written for violin and orchestra.

Some of the other pieces in the programme were more lightweight, essentially vehicles for virtuoso display, including a set of variations on a Danish folksong composed by Petri herself. The range of effects she produces from the instrument is impressive.

The enthusiastic applause of a packed hall prompted two encores – the second a witty piece called the Wagtail and the Cuckoo from a suite by a contemporary Danish composer. Petri switched between two different-sized recorders, representing the two birds with comic effect – a perfect ending to an entertaining evening.

The Oxford Times

Michala Petri, recorder
Mahan Esfahani, harpsichord
Corelli : La Follia
10/10/10 review in Klassik Heute on Corelli-La Follia
Klassik Heute Magazine
01 March 2015
Selbstverständlich bleibt eine ganze Menge auf der Strecke, wenn man die Violinsonaten op. 5, das kammermusikalische Hauptwerk Arcangelo Corellis, von der Violine auf die Blockflöte überträgt, und den, der die Stücke kennt, wird sicher irritieren, wie oft die Melodie aufgrund des eingeschränkten Tonumfangs in die Gegenrichtung springen muss, und natürlich besonders die wunderschönen Doppelgriff-Passagen vermissen. So schön das alles ist, ist es doch nicht das Wesentliche am Corelli'schen Tonsatz, der auch dann in ungeminderter Charakteristik und Pracht zum Tragen kommt, wenn die Ausdrucksmittel auf jenes geradlinige Minimum fokussiert werden, welches die Blockflöte in höchster Konzentration und Reinheit verkörpert symbolisiert.
Wenn dies trotz aller Verluste eine der schönsten Corelli-Aufnahmen der Geschichte ist, so hauptsächlich dank der grandiosen Präsenz von Michala Petri, der weiterhin unangefochtenen Maestra assoluta der Blockflöte. Ihr Spiel wurde jahrelang von den Konkurrenten aus den diversen Alte-Musik-Lagern oft harsch kritisiert: zu kühl perfekt, zu wenig affektbetont, zu klinisch präzise… Nichts davon ist auch nur ansatzweise wahr. Petri lässt ihr Instrument einfach das sein, was es ist, und versucht nicht, mit extremen Tonschwellungen oder waberndem Vibrato ein behindertes Streichinstrument zu imitieren. Ihre Kunst liegt jedoch in der subtilen Verwendung der Ausdrucksmittel und in einer höchst ungewöhnlichen energetischen Konzentration, und ohnehin in einer technisch-tonlichen Makellosigkeit und Schönheit, die immer wieder staunen machen. Ihr Partner ist der exzellente iranische, in London unterrichtende Cembalist Mahan Esfahani, der hier den 1992er Nachbau (Alain Anselm) eines italienischen Instruments der Corelli-Zeit spielt und mit seiner Lebendigkeit, sowohl spontan zierreichen als auch unmissverständlich pulsierenden Artikulationsweise und intelligenten Brillianz weit mehr als ein wendiger und wacher Begeiter ist.
Schade finde ich hier lediglich, dass die langsamen Sätze allzu flüchtig und geschwinde genommen werden und so nicht der Zauber entfacht wird, der potenziell enthalten ist. Und kritisieren, wenn auch mit Einschränkung, muss ich allenfalls gelegentlich die Art der umspielenden Verzierungen, die Michala Petri zwar meist mit viel Geschmack und Einfallsreichtum anbringt, wo es mir jedoch immer wieder so geht, dass die noble, pure Melodik des unverzierten Corelli'schen Originals schlicht mehr Größe hat und Weite atmet. Hier wäre oft weniger viel mehr. Andererseits ist es jedes Mal interessant, bei Wiederholungen die umfangreichen Wandlungen zu verfolgen, die Petri dem melodischen Rankenwerk angedeihen lässt.
Der Klang in der Kopenhagener Garnisonskirken ist ausgezeichnet eingefangen, voll, rund und klar, wobei es nicht einfach ist, unter solch halligen Umständen einen durchweg funktionierenden Ausgleich zwischen Blockflöte und Cembalo herzustellen. Dazu gibt's einen kompetent informierenden Booklet-Text von Esfahani selbst.
Dies waren also nun die Sonaten Nr. 7-12 aus dem wundervollen Opus V von Corelli, und es steht zu hoffen, dass die ersten sechs Sonaten noch folgen werden. Die wenigen kritischen Einwände können nicht darüber hinweg täuschen, dass es sich hier um Musizieren höchsten Karats handelt, dem zu lauschen nicht nur den zahlreichen Fans der Blockflöte und Liebhabern des italienischen Barock empfohlen sei, sondern überhaupt jedem ohne Scheuklappen Interessierten.
Christoph Schlüren [02.03.2015]
Klassik Heute Magazine

Michala Petri, recorder
Carolin Widmann, violin
Mozart Flute Quartets
2 new reviews from Bruuchsaler Schlosskonzert, Germany
Bruuchsaler Schlosskonzert
24 February 2015
Bruchsaler Schlosskonzert vom 12. Dezember 2008: Michala Petri (Blockflöten) und Lars Hannibal (Gitarre und Laute)
PAMINA – Klassik online im Südwesten, 15.12.2008 (www.pamina-magazin.de)
Wenn stupende Technik auf Humor trifft
Michala Petri und Lars Hannibal zeigen in Bruchsal außergewöhnliche Bandbreite
Wann erlebt man dies an einem Abend: Höchstes Konzertniveau und Musik-Kabarett vom Feinsten. Michala Petri, weltweit
führende Blockflötistin, zeigt bei den Bruchsaler Schlosskonzerten die ganze Bandbreite ihres Instruments – die freilich nur
dann zum Tragen kommt, wenn man derart außergewöhnliche Fähigkeiten hat. Begleitet wird sie von dem ebenso
sympathischen wie versierten Lautenisten und Gitarristen Lars Hannibal.
Vollkommen gelassen steht sie auf dem Podium, die Augen hat sie dabei geschlossen – fast die ganze Zeit über
während des Spiels. Die dänische Blockflötistin Michala Petri ist nicht nur eine unbestrittene Meisterin ihres Fachs,
sondern sie beherrscht dieses Fach auch mit einer bemerkenswerten Selbstverständlichkeit: In ihren Sonaten,
Variationen und Fantasien, die ihr technisch alles abverlangen, nimmt sie sich völlig zurück und lässt stattdessen
schwindelerregende Trillerketten, schnurgeraden Läufe und Flatterzungen-Passagen (Töne mit leichtem Tremolo) für
sich sprechen, und sie verquickt dies unglaublich agil: Nichts, aber auch gar nichts scheint ihr irgendeine Form der
Anstrengung zu bereiten.
Bei den Bruchsaler Schlosskonzerten durften die Zuhörer auf
eindrucksvolle Art erleben, welche enorme Bandbreite die Blockflöte hat:
Gleich ein ganzes Bündel (von Sopranino bis Tenor) bringt Michala Petri
mit auf die Bühne; sie bewegt sich bei weitem nicht nur im konventionellen
Rahmen zwischen Renaissance und Barock, vielleicht noch ergänzt um die
eine oder andere zeitgenössische Komposition – denn erst im 20.
Jahrhundert entdeckte man die Blockflöte wieder, nachdem sie im
Konzertrepertoire mehr als 150 Jahre von der Bildfläche verschwunden
war. Nein, das Repertoire der sympathischen Musikerin ist viel
differenzierter, reicht bis hin zu Astor Piazzolla, denn – so erfährt man
nebenbei – der Tango wurde Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts erstmals auf einer
Flöte gespielt.
Gemeinsam mit ihrem Partner und Ehemann Lars Hannibal (Laute, Gitarre)
lässt sie sich nun auf ein ebenso virtuoses wie humorvolles Programm ein:
Bachs Sonate F-Dur (BWV 1033) beginnt erst mit einer ruhigen Einleitung,
doch dann wirft sich Michala Petri schwungvoll hinein in die brillanten
Figuren, bei denen einfach jeder Ton sitzt und alles mit der gleichen
Intensität, demselben runden Klang gespielt wird. Selbst die langsamen
Sätze, bei denen sie die schlichten Kantilenen unter einen einzigen großen
Bogen nimmt – sie alle folgen in ihrer Einfachheit noch einer sanft
pulsierenden Bewegung (beispielsweise in der c-moll-Partita für Solo-
Flöte), denn Michala Petri versteht es meisterhaft, diesen Bögen sofort eine Richtung zu geben. Sie stößt sie an, und
der Ton schwingt beinahe von alleine; es ist ein ganz natürlicher, weicher Atemfluss.
An der Laute ist Lars Hannibal ein aufmerksamer Partner, er folgt jeder Regung – man spürt, dass die beiden bestens
aufeinander eingespielt sind. Er fängt die Blockflöte mit behutsamen Gegenstimmen ab, umschmeichelt sie mit
bewegter Begleitung oder gibt ihr mit rhythmischen Akzenten einen festen Rahmen; wach und flink wechseln die
Figuren zwischen den beiden Instrumenten – etwa in Corellis Variationen über einen altspanischen Tanz („La Follia").
Vivaldis G-Dur-Sonate (RV 59) ist schließlich ein einziges Sprühen und Aufjauchzen.
Im zweiten Teil profiliert sich die Blockflöte dann als lautmalerisches und bildreiches Instrument: In Piazzollas „Histoire
du Tango", deren Einzelsätze mit „Bordel". „Café" und „Night Club" überschrieben sind, erwartet man selbstverständlich
eine schwül-laszive Atmosphäre, und man fragt sich zunächst, ob die Blockflöte dem entsprechen kann. Doch ein
helles, fröhliches Parlieren verbreitet schließlich die Anmutung von Leichtlebigkeit, und den verhangenmelancholischen
Ton beschwört ein tieferes Instrument.
Für die klare nordische Farbe in schlichten Volkstänzen, zarten Hirtenliedern und flimmernden Elfentänzen sorgen fünf
Stücke aus der „Lyrischen Suite" von Edvard Grieg – original geschrieben für Klavier, von Lars Hannibal eingerichtet
für Blockflöte und seine katalanische Gitarre, mit der er den Rest des Abends bestreitet.
Dazwischen lockern die beiden das Programm immer wieder mit launigen Zwischenmoderationen auf, und Michala
Petri zeigt ihren Sinn für Humor schließlich in ihren eigenen Variationen über das dänische Volkslied „Mads doss":
Extravagante Glissandi und derbe (gesungene) Gegenstimmen zum Flötenton sorgen hier bereits für Schmunzeln –
und nach der aufschäumenden, temperamentvollen „Fantaisie norvegienne" (von Edouard Lalo) gibt es zwei ebenso
pikante Zugaben. Denn nun sei man eingespielt, und in dieser wunderbaren Akustik könne man ohnehin nicht
aufhören, so der flapsige Kommentar.
In „Souvenir" von Ladislav Kupkovic windet sich die Blockflöte kokett bis schadenfroh um die immer gleiche, sehr
begrenzte Begleitung; Asger Lund Christiansen lässt in seiner „Garden Party" eine flinke Bachstelze und einen
wortkargen Kuckuck miteinander in einen komischen Dialog treten. – Selten erlebt man eine solche Vielfalt; den beiden
Künstlern gelingt höchstes Konzertniveau und Musik-Kabarett an einem einzigen Abend.
Christine Gehringer
Bruchsaler Schlosskonzert vom 12. Dezember 2008:
Michala Petri, Bockflöten und Lars Hannibal, Gitarre und Laute
Badische Neueste Nachrichten, Karlsruhe, 15.12.2008
ZWISCHEN TRAUM UND GLÜCK
Grandios: Die Flötistin Michala Petri im Bruchsaler Schloss
Edel, makellos, rein und schlank, angesiedelt in einer Zone zwischen Traum und
Glückseligkeit, so kommen sie daher: die Flötentöne von Michala Petri. Ihr erneuter
Auftritt in der Reihe der Bruchsaler Schlosskonzerte übertraf alle noch so kühnen
Erwartungen.
Der erste Teil war Johann Sebastian Bach, Arcangelo Corelli und Antonio Vivaldi
verpflichtet, – den Barockmeistern, die noch für die Blockflöte komponierten, bevor
diese in einen Dornröschenschlaf von etwa 170 Jahren versank, weil sie der
Traversflöte hinsichtlich Tonumfang und Klangstärke nicht mehr gewachsen war. Als
man im vergangenen Jahrhundert begann, die Barockmusik erneut zu schätzen,
empfand man auch das Bedürfnis, sie authentisch zu hören. Man darf davon
ausgehen, dass das, was man bei diesem Bruchsaler Schlosskonzert gehört hat – ob
von der Flötistin allein oder zusammen mit ihrem kongenialen Partner und Ehemann
an der Laute, Lars Hannibal – in den kirchenfürstlichen Barockräumen damals genau
so geklungen hat, falls Persönlichkeiten dieses Formates hier musiziert haben.
Mit schier endlosem Atem gab die Künstlerin den Kantilenen in den langsamen
Sätzen der F-dur-Sonate und c-moll-Partita Bachs sowie der Pastorale in der G-dur-
Sonate Vivaldis lebendige Gestalt, wobei sie die Verzierungen klug der Linearität
unterordnete. Die schnellen Sätze offenbarten ihre Virtuosität, – nie Selbstzweck,
sondern getreue Dienerin der Interpretation. So auch bei La Follia von Corelli, wo
das ursprünglich für Violine geschriebene Stück unter ihren quirligen Fingern zu
einem wahren Kabinettstück geriet.
Kompositionen mit folkloristischen Elementen aus der Zeit der Romantik und
Gegenwart prägten den zweiten Teil dieses Konzertabends. Auch hier bewegte sich
die Solistin absolut stilsicher, wenn sie etwa mit Astor Piazzolla die Hörer auf eine
Zeitreise durch die Geschichte des Tangos mitnahm, bei der charakteristische
Elemente dieses Tanzes in einem neuen Licht dargestellt werden, die Essenz jedoch
erhalten bleibt, aber auch bei der „Fantaisie norvegienne" von Lalo oder den Tänzen
von Edvard Grieg, wo beispielsweise die Elfen spukartig vorüberhuschen. Dass die
Virtuosität bei Michala Petri keine erkennbaren Grenzen kennt, bewies sie bei ihren
eigenen Variationen über das dänische Volkslied „Mads doss", in welchem es an
bruchlosen Glissandi, wild bewegten Tonkaskaden mit Flatterzunge (Frullato) und
kontrapunktisch mit den gespielten Tönen verwobenen gesungenen
schalmeienartigen Gegenstimmen nur so wimmelte.
Lars Hannibal, der im zweiten Teil seine Laute gegen eine katalanische Gitarre
ausgetauscht hatte, begeisterte durch sein Einfühlungsvermögen. Zu Zugaben
musste das sympathische Paar nicht gedrängt werden. Nach zwei Stunden höchster
Konzentration meinte die Primadonna des Blockflötenspiels: „Jetzt, wo wir uns warm
gespielt haben, fällt es sowieso schwer, aufzuhören".
Herbert Menrath
Bruuchsaler Schlosskonzert

Michala Petri, recorder
Mahan Esfahani, harpsichord
Corelli : La Follia
Great Eurodisc review on Corelli
Eurodisc Magazine
17 February 2015
Europadisc UK
Harpsichordist Mahan Esfahani has been making rather a name for himself over the last year or so, especially since the release of his Gramophone Award winning disc of CPE Bach's Wurttemburg Sonatas on Hyperion. Since then, there has been a very well received live recital from the Wigmore Hall and a brand new set of works by Rameau, again on Hyperion. However, our review this week actually moves away from his solo work and looks at a collaboration he has made with virtuoso recorder player Michala Petri. Featuring sonatas (transcribed) by Corelli, it is entitled La Follia and features six of the Opus 5 Sonatas, including the famous set of variations from which the disc gets its title. It is beautifully played and recorded (in Hybrid SACD format by OUR Recordings) and comes highly recommended as our disc to buy this week. See below for the full review.
Incredibly, it's almost thirty-five years since Danish recorder player Michala Petri burst onto the international music scene with her first recordings for Philips. Yet on this latest disc from her own OUR Recordings label her playing is as fresh and sparkling as ever. Here she teams up with the young Iranian-born harpsichordist Mahan Esfahani – already something of a star in his own right – for a splendidly invigorating disc of sonatas by Arcangelo Corelli.

Published in 1700, Corelli's twelve Opus 5 Sonatas for violin and continuo were among his most popular, appearing in no fewer than forty-two editions (including various re-arrangements) during their first century of existence. The second half of the set comprises six sonatas taking their inspiration from the baroque dance suite, and it is little wonder that they proved such a success, for they combine Corelli's own unique cantabile style of melodic invention with a wondrously uplifting sense of rhythmic buoyancy.

These performances are based on an eighteenth-century edition by John Walsh of London, 'The whole exactly Transposed and made fitt for A FLUTE and A BASS with the aprobation of severall Eminent Masters'. With changes in figuration to accommodate the recorder, they work brilliantly as an instrumental showcase, designed for the growing market in home music-making. Esfahani's insightful booklet note explains how he and Ms Petri have consulted extensive contemporary editions in their choice of ornamentation and continuo realisation, and their performances are sublimely engaging. Slow movements (notably the Sarabandes) are beautifully expressive without being over-indulgent, while the faster ones are nicely sprung and alert – the Gavottes of Sonatas 9 and 10 turn into wonderfully agile tours de force.

The highlight, however, is certainly the twelfth Sonata, a kaleidoscopic set of variations on the celebrated La Follia theme (advertised by Walsh as 'the SPANISH FOLLY') that proved so popular in the baroque period and even influenced Liszt, Rachmaninov and Tippett. Here, Petri and Esfahani are ideally responsive to the changing character of each variation, and Ms Petri's command of the various figurations is dazzling.

The recordings, made in the sympathetic baroque surroundings of Copenhagen's Garrison Church, strike exactly the right balance between spaciousness and focus, with the the harpsichord quite rightly less closely miked than it would be for a solo recital, yet no detail is lost, and Esfahani's brilliant harpsichord playing is a perfect match for Ms Petri's seemingly effortless virtuosity. A dream team, then – and, with a lavishly illustrated booklet, an easy recommendation for this endlessly charming and inspiriting music. November 2014
Eurodisc Magazine

New interview with Michala Petri in US Music Magazine Fanfare
James Reel, Fanfare Magazine
29 January 2015
Major classical labels may be in decline, but the CD business is booming for individual artists (and orchestras) operating their own labels. These aren't just minor players funding small-scale vanity products, but major performers taking chances that would not be possible in the current major-label environment. Recorder soloist Michala Petri (she pronounces her first name MEE-ca-la, by the way) and her frequent recital partner, guitarist/lutenist Lars Hannibal, have launched their own label, called OUR Recordings. The name could hardly be more specific about their emphasis. Each of the releases features one or both of the label's principals; some are collaborations between Hannibal and his other longtime recital partner, violinist Kim Sjøgren (together they appear as Duo Concertante).

There's something at least a little unusual about each disc. The most "ordinary" among them is a collection of not exactly obscure but certainly not over-recorded works for violin and guitar by Mauro Giuliani, recorded back in 1988 (8.226904). A fairly mainstream disc with a twist contains the Mozart Flute Quartets, reworked for recorder (Petri) and strings on a lovely sounding SACD (6.220570). Even better known music arrives in an unexpectedly small package: Lalo's Symphonie espagnole and Norwegian Fantasy in versions for violin and guitar that work surprisingly well (8.226903). There's a steamy Latin-tinged collection of duos for Petri and Hannibal called "Siesta" (8.226900), and two contemporary collections: works for recorder and orchestra by Joan Albert Amargós, Daniel Börtz, and Steven Stucky ("Movements," 6.220531); and violin-guitar duos by Palle Mikkelborg, Herman D. Koppel, Jørgen Jersild, and Vagn Holmboe ("Journey," 8.226902). Finally (for now), Hannibal accompanies bamboo flutist (or xiao player) Chen Yue in a program of traditional pieces from around the world ("Spirits," 8.226901), which comes with a DVD as well as a CD. Arriving soon will be Hannibal's traversal of Castelnuovo-Tedesco's Platero y yo , with Danish narration, and a collection of Chinese and Danish duets for bamboo flute and recorder.

I e-mailed Petri some questions about her label, which she managed to answer quite fully between stops on the concert circuit.

          You've had what appears to have been great success with Philips and BMG in the past. Why is this the time for you to go your own way with your own label?

I have had wonderful years with working both with Philips and RCA/BMG, and have through them been fortunate to work with many great musicians, orchestras, and composers. To this it must be added the friendships made with some of the people working at the labels, some of whom I am still close friends with. Working in music is not just work—you are one big family, with the family feeling that comes with it towards all involved in the working process.

However, the situation in the recording industry has changed radically in recent years, and the companies are now more concerned about what will sell in large numbers more quickly than before, so it is not easy to get enthusiastic support to record, for instance, contemporary music, or music that has not already proven itself to sell well. I somehow think that the marketing approaches of many of the big labels have become opposed to the nature of music, which is to bring out and inspire individuality in the listener as well as the performer. Also it is different today from 15 years ago in that everybody can now connect immediately via the Internet, so I think that people's "cultural" needs tend to be more targeted to what will suit them individually, rather than having a "consumer product" which in some ways has acted also as a uniting factor between people, which is now taken care of in other ways.

In having our own label I am able to continue and expand the way I think in my life and career, where I have always tried to be a pioneer for my instrument, and to promote individuality. We have the freedom to decide what we want to do—or follow what we feel is right—to record. The consideration (and challenge) is of course to find the money to finance the recordings, but as a small company we have better chances to keep the cost low, and I also believe in the "togetherness" of things—and feel somehow confident that if I follow my intuition rather than calculations of corporate accountants, the practical side will ultimately take care of itself. But then I am also good at not setting unrealistic goals, of course!

          What does OUR signify? Is it more than the plural possessive in English?

We have chosen the name OUR Recordings with a little tongue in cheek hint to the big companies and their consumer-driven way of thinking, indicating that we personally stand up for the content, more than merely focusing on wanting to sell a lot of CDs. We only release recordings where either Hannibal or I, or both of us, are involved as musicians. We have been asked by several musicians if we could release their recordings, but since we are musicians first of all, and it is very time consuming to have your own label, we have chosen to limit ourselves to this singular focus.

          How do you divide or share the various duties of operating the label?

Hannibal is very much the creative force who gets the ideas in the first place, and carries them through, where I more like to get lost in the music! Hannibal is doing all the label work, but we discuss all issues, and inspire and balance each other's ideas, much the same way as when we are performing together. I am also involved in the cover-art decisions, both graphic and booklet notes, and we have a graphic designer who is also a partner in OUR Recordings! And we are fortunate to have partners in China and the U.S. who are extremely wise, nice, and helpful co-operators; for us it is just as important to be on the same wavelength with co-workers in this as with fellow-musicians when we perform.

          Do you personally have direct control over every element?

We are both involved in all major decisions, such as the label profile, and in smaller things, like deciding which of our many projects shall be the next! On the musical side I am also getting increasingly involved in the editing process with the producers. I have been working with so many top producers in my career, which has given me some knowledge, although I know my limits. I find the interplay between my ears and the producer's suggestions and experience very inspiring. As a musician you are the one who knows what you want, what you have been feeling when studying the music, and sometimes you are the only one that hears the microscopic details that make the difference!

          You have been associated with Lars Hannibal for many years, and he has known and performed with Kim Sjøgren for a very long time. The three of you are the core artists on the first seven discs, with the addition of Chen Yue on "Spirits." Will the label continue to focus on the work of the three of you? Do you anticipate showcasing many guest artists like Chen Yue?

The focus of the label is just that the two of us, Hannibal and myself, are in one way or another involved musically—apart from that we have no borders. This thinking is in line with my constant attempt not to have any limits on my possibilities! Which is not the same as being uncritical—rather the opposite, since having no borders forces you to think hard in every case if this is really the right thing to do. The three recordings where Hannibal plays with Kim Sjøgren are all re-releases, having only been available in Denmark before. I personally have always loved those CDs very much, because of the sense of true musicianship they radiate, as well as the example they set in showing how transcriptions can attain a high level of artistic quality. If Hannibal and Kim will record again in the future, it would be obvious to have the recordings released on OUR Recordings. The recording of "Spirits" with Hannibal and the Chinese xiao virtuoso Chen Yue is only the first release with her. The next release on OUR Recordings will be a program of 10 duets composed especially for this project especially for Chen Yue and me by five young Chinese composers and five young Danish composers.

          You seem to be avoiding re-recording works you've recorded before. Do you anticipate revisiting any works you recorded years ago, or are you striving to issue only music that is new to your discography?

I would love to re-record some of the standard repertoire at some point. However, before that there are so many new things to record, especially repertoire which has not been recorded before, and which very much deserves to be better known. There are some new pieces for recorder and full symphony orchestra that work very well. The artistic and commercial possibility of works like this was confirmed for me by the Grammy nomination of the Northern Concerto by the Spanish composer Joan Albert Amargós. Also for re-recording, I would like to make sure that I can at least try to add something to my older interpretations—some of which are not bad at all, I have to admit when I happen to hear them. So in some cases I would like to re-release some of my older recordings that still have a communicative factor that outweighs that they clearly are played by a younger and humanly less experienced person than I am today. We have been negotiating for a while with Sony/BMG to see if we can reach an agreement on terms, so I hope that in the near future additional recordings can be made available again.

          What, in fact, are your criteria for selecting repertoire to record?

An impossible question to answer! Although I am never in doubt. Somehow my only criteria is the vague one that I feel that this is the right thing to do next, and that I feel that I can do it with a certain kind of conviction I have learned to recognize in myself over the years. So far we have had a "theme" for each CD, like "Kreisler Inspirations," featuring music originally composed for violin, "Siesta" with music with a "Latin" touch from the 20th century, or contemporary concertos written for me. But one day I might like to just have a theme called "as mixed and varied as possible!"—a musical kaleidoscope—maybe. Again I draw parallel to my way of making music, where I just do the single details the way I feel is right—and not until afterwards do I get an idea of the whole picture, of what my criteria were. Actually, my creative process is in this way closer to that of improvising musicians and composers than to a great deal of concert musicians, I have realized.

          Jordi Savall is releasing new material on his own label, but he is also gradually re-releasing the 70 recordings he made for another label earlier in his career. Do you anticipate reissuing any of your 70-some older recordings?

I find it very good to have earlier recordings available—you can never tell which are meaningful to some people, and I have very often had enquires for out-of-print CDs. I understand totally what Jordi Savall—whom I admire very much, by the way—is doing with his label, and I often look for older recordings myself to find inspiration. The newest is not always best.

          Do you have a particular philosophy of audio quality?

If it is possible, we like to work in SACD. It gives the possibility to have an extraordinary experience with the right audio equipment, which I found unique when I heard it the first time. It is great to create the feeling of being close to the musicians, to use these modern possibilities!

          Two of the discs are SACDs, and one CD includes a DVD. How great a presence will SACDs and DVDs have in your catalog, and for what reason?

We would like to have as many SACD recordings as possible, and in the future we will also release some additional DVDs. It is expensive, so far, but also a very interesting issue. We are all generally getting more visually oriented, and opposite to my thinking years ago, I find that seeing the performer can enhance your experience of the music. Some experienced listeners can understand just as much without pictures, but seeing a performance never diminishes the listening experience, I think, and it may make the music more accessible to more people. However, DVD is an art form in itself, especially if you want to also add something to the music with other pictures than of just the performers, so you have to find the right film directors to work with. In this field we have some plans that we have been working with for five years, which I hope will come true in the next couple of years.
James Reel, Fanfare Magazine

Michala Petri, recorder
Carolin Widmann, violin
Mozart Flute Quartets
Fanfare Overview on OURrecordings
Fanfare Magazine
16 January 2015
"Each OUR Recordings CD occupies its own niche and can be recommended without hesitation…"
Michala Petri is a world-renowned recorder virtuoso, but she's recently embarked on a second career running OUR Recordings with her husband, guitarist Lars Hannibal. Although justly praised for her exuberant and knowledgeable performances of Baroque music, Petri has always been an adventuresome artist, dedicated to expanding her instrument's repertoire by commissioning new works and participating in imaginative collaborations with other musicians. Judging by these CDs, OUR Recordings seems set on a similar exploratory path.
"Spirits" pairs Hannibal with Chen Yue, a Chinese bamboo flutist, in a mellow recital combining traditional English, Chinese, Japanese, Hungarian, and Catalan music with one piece each by Bach (the ever-popular Air on the G String), Vivaldi (the Largo from The Four Season's Winter, played in a faster-than-usual tempo), and Ulrik Neumann (a nostalgic Love Waltz with a Russian soul). Chen is a sensitive and expressive musician. Her lovely tone, tasteful slides, and exquisite timing beautify everything she plays; her performances of Chinese music are especially memorable. Lars Hannibal is an attentive accompanist and a virtuoso in his own right. His sophisticated arrangements—in the Chinese pieces he convincingly imitates traditional ch'in and pipa technique—treat both instruments as true partners. The two also perform as soloists—three tracks each—and Chen overdubs two flutes in Autumn Piece.
When I read the word "Siesta," I picture a recumbent Mexican wearing a multicolored serape snoozing under his extravagantly brimmed sombrero. For Lars Hannibal, however, a siesta offers a break from work which doesn't have to be spent sleeping. Instead, it's a good time to listen to music. You certainly wouldn't want to doze through this CD, as even in the familiar pieces the recorder's woody rusticity shines a new light on the old tunes. Piazzolla's Histoire du tango—a four-movement suite chronicling the evolution of tango in Argentina—expresses itself with humor, melancholy, and in the last movement, irony. Joan Albert Amargòs's Tango català has a Spanish title, but I hear Brazil in its mood, melody, and harmony. After the guitar sets the scene, the recorder joins in, substituting for a sultry singer in a work "having the quiet sadness of many a Jazz ballad" (from Leo Black's notes). Castelnuovo-Tedesco's Sonatina is the work of a classicist in love with Spain; Ravel's Pièce en forme de habanera sways to its endlessly seductive rhythm; and Entr'acte, Ibert's swirling mini-travelogue, recalls the old cliché that some of the best Spanish music is by French composers. Three works by Villa-Lobos close the recital: Modinha (literally, little song), a lyrical, syncopated melody; Distribução de flores, a haunting tune (especially when played by the tenor recorder), with an unmistakable South American Indian sound; and the Cantilena from the well-loved Bachianas
brasileiras No. 5. The recorder and guitar probably won't displace the voice and cellos of the original in listeners' affections, but the melody is as beautiful as ever... Overall, a very enjoyable disc that introduced me to some unfamiliar music while providing a fresh look at some perennials. (One tiny flaw: on my copy, the titles of tracks 9 and 10 should have been reversed.)
If your idea of a recorder concerto hasn't progressed beyond the Baroque, "Movements"— will be a revelation, for here are three large-scale works that place the instrument firmly in the 21st century. Amargòs's Northern Concerto is astonishing for its color, brilliant orchestration, and sheer sweep. The intoxicating opening theme, the fluid mix of tumultuous and lightly textured orchestral writing, allowing the enthusiastic piping of the recorder to be heard without strain, and the sophisticated, yet earthy rhythms confer immediate, sensuous delight. Stunning clarity and an exceptionally animated performance by soloist and orchestra—a tribute to the conductor's skill as well as to his players' virtuoso technique—unite in a sonic spectacular. I couldn't help but respond to Amargòs's exuberance, especially given my fondness for splashy, exotically tinged music. Pipes and Bells, Daniel Börtz's one-movement concerto, opens with a mysterious passage that's followed by rhythmically charged outbursts and moments of pastoral poetry. The recorder's soft "cuckoo, cuckoo" seems to emerge from and then recede into a mist as the music fades away. Writing about it, Hannibal explains that "Bortz responded to Michala's wish to explore new and stronger dynamics, recently made possible thanks to some newly acquired instruments: he wrote dramatic dynamic changes and quick passages for the large and usually soft tenor recorder; conversely, the small, normally penetrating and aggressive sopranino is asked to produce soft, long-held tones. This approach affected not only the contrast between the two instruments, but also the extreme dynamics between the soloist and the orchestra, through a mixture of soft, delicate and angelic passages and loud, almost diabolical passages." Steven Stucky's Etudes is much more sophisticated than the titles of its movements—"Scales," "Glides," and "Arpeggios"—might suggest. Alternately puckish, languorous, and jaunty, it's consistently colorful and inventive: the inspired orchestration always provides a perfect foil for Petri's agile, atmospheric playing. In sum, this is a fabulous disc, filled with wonderful music and performances that enlarge our appreciation of the recorder's possibilities.
Each OUR Recordings CD occupies its own niche and can be recommended without hesitation, but if I had to choose just one, I'd be hard pressed to discard "Movements."
-Robert Schulslaper
Fanfare Magazine

Michala Petri, recorder
Carolin Widmann, violin
Mozart Flute Quartets
5 out of 5 stars for Mozart in Amazon.com
Amazon.com
06 January 2015
My Favorite Recording of 2007: Petri and Company with Mozart's Flute Quartets (review from amazon.com)   
Michala Petri of Denmark on the recorder, Carolin Widmann of Germany on the violin, Ula Ulijona of Lithuania on the viola and Marta Sudraba of Latvia on the cello. All four ladies demonstrate remarkable tonal balance and seamless phrasing in their respective accompaniments,although Michala Petri is by far the best renown for her works with Keith Jarrett for RCA, most notably the Bach Sonatas for flute Bach: Six Sonatas and the Handel recorder sonatas Handel: Recorder Sonatas. I disagree with the previous reviewer about Mozart's flute quartets being played just on flutes. Herein is the argument: was Mozart the composer more concerned about the actual composition as is, or the interpretation of what ought to be played?
The transverse flute finds its most contemporary interpretation in the alto, soprano and the birdlike sopranino recorders. Petri plays these instruments brilliantly and with great virtuosity, although without casting attention upon herself but sharing the stage with her fellow ensemble members. The other three ladies are accomplished performers in their own countries so it is with great respect that I esteem this wonderful collaboration of four ladies from such diverse backgrounds.
The entire recording has a delicate feel that is warm and caressing to the ears. Although the modern flute may sound metallic and even shrill at times, there is none of that harshness here. All four quartets come forth with seamless phrasing and sensitivity to detail. Our Recordings' sonic engineering is to be commended. This was beautifully produced overall in the month of August 2007 on the Danish island of Bornholm. With detailed backgrounds of each performer and excellent liner notes, this disk is highly recommended. The best recording of 2007 for me, ClasseekGeek.
Performance: 5 stars. Sonic Engineering: 5 stars. (This hybrid SACD sounds warm and inviting even on a home stereo system without SACD capabilities) Presentation/Packaging: 5 stars. Track Selection: 5 stars. 
Amazon.com

Michala Petri, recorder
Carolin Widmann, violin
Mozart Flute Quartets
Interview with Michala
02 December 2014
Ihr Name ist in der Musikwelt ein Begriff, wenn es um ihr Instrument, die Blockflöte, geht. Michala Petri hat mit diesem Instrument, das so einfach zu handhaben und zu spielen scheint, eine Weltkarriere, die mit diesem Instrument wohl noch keiner vor ihr hatte. In diesem Jahr feiert die aktive Dänin bereits ihren 50. Geburtstag. Doch, was noch beeindruckender ist: Sie kann in der Saison 2008/09 bereits ihr 40. Bühnenjubiläum feiern. Und das mit einem der Kammermusik zugewandten Instrument, das man vor allem aus der Alte-Musik-Praxis kennt. Aber Michala Petri war niemals Teil dieser seit den 60er Jahren so populär gewordenen Art des Musizierens. Kaum mag man es glauben. Wir trafen Michala Petri in Dänemark und unterhielten uns mit ihr über ihren Werdegang und ihre Ansichten zum Blockflötenspiel.

Carsten Dürer

Ensemble: Sie haben sich ja enorm früh für die Blockflöte als Instrument entschieden, in einem Alter, in dem viele Kinder wohl noch keine konkrete Idee haben, welches Instrument sie überhaupt spielen wollen, und vielleicht sogar noch davon träumen, später einmal ein anderes Instrument zu spielen. Wieso also die Blockflöte?

Michala Petri: Nun, das kam sehr natürlich, auch dadurch, dass ich die erste Blockflöte bereits mit drei Jahren von meinem Vater geschenkt bekommen habe. Wenn ich jetzt zurückdenke – auch in den Krisen, die ich mit diesem Instrument in all den Jahren hatte und in denen ich mich selbst gefragt habe, warum ich dieses Instrument spiele –, dann war es für mich immer das richtige Instrument, schon als ich fünf Jahre alt war. Mein erster Auftritt war, als ich fünf Jahre alt war. Und ich kann mich heute noch sehr genau daran erinnern, wie ich mich in dieser Situation gefühlt habe. Ich habe gespürt, dass die Situation wichtig ist, dass es etwas Richtiges war, was ich da tat. Ich spürte, dass es wahr ist, was ich da tue, auch wenn ich damals das Wort „wahr" noch gar nicht kannte oder wahrnehmen konnte. Das war etwas Essenzielles.

Ensemble: Das heißt: Das Instrument passte einfach zu Ihnen?

Michala Petri: Ja. Ich habe später ja auch noch Querflöte gespielt, ein Instrument, das mich nie richtig angesprochen hat. Meine Eltern hatten mir die Querflöte geschenkt, als ich 11 oder 12 Jahre alt war. Vielleicht war es die frühe Erfahrung des Auftretens mit der Blockflöte, die mir signalisierte, dass dies genau das Richtige ist.Jedenfalls spielte ich einige Jahre lang, bis ich 16 Jahre alt war, die Querflöte, parallel zur Blockflöte, bin sogar kurzzeitig aufs Konservatorium mit diesem Instrument gegangen, habe es aber dann aufgegeben. Zum einen dachte ich, dass ich nicht so viel auf diesem Instrument kann wie die anderen Schüler, zum anderen hatte ich den Eindruck, dass dieses Instrument zu einfach zu spielen sei. Ich war es von der Blockflöte ja gewohnt, extrem präzise zu spielen. Nun wird jeder Querflötenspieler sagen, dass man das auch muss, wenn man Querflöte spielt. Aber man hat die Klappen, und das macht einen kleinen Unterschied, wenn man Blockflöte spielt. Und ich spürte, dass mein Spiel auf der Blockflöte immer schlampiger wurde, wenn ich die Querflöte viel gespielt habe. Und auch der Atemdruck ist viel grober bei der Querflöte, man muss viel stärker physisch arbeiten. Zu dieser Zeit war ich ja bereits 16 Jahre alt und hatte schon sehr viel zu tun, spielte viele Konzerte. Und so entschied ich mich endgültig für die Blockflöte.

Ensemble: Nicht ganz so schnell bitte. Haben Sie niemals auf ein anderes Instrument geschielt? Auf die Geige oder das Klavier?

Michala Petri: Klavierspielen habe ich geliebt, als ich es in meinem Studium spielen musste. Aber davon einmal abgesehen: In meinem Ohr habe ich immer den Klang einer Geige, wenn ich die Blockflöte spiele, wenn ich etwas Musikalisches gestalten soll und will. Entweder eine Singstimme, oder aber halt eine Geige.

Ensemble: Warum ausgerechnet eine Geige?

Michala Petri: Vielleicht, weil mein Vater Geiger ist. Aber auch deshalb, da es so viele großartige Musiker gibt, die Geiger sind, alles im Bereich des Klangs einfach gestalten können. Und das ist das Maximale, was ich mir auf einem Ein-Ton-Instrument wie der Blockflöte vorstellen kann.

Ensemble: Für Sie war es ja schon von früh an so, dass die Musikrichtung, die man fast gleichbedeutend mit der Blockflöte setzt, die Barockmusik, bei Ihnen niemals der Fokus war. Ist das richtig?

Michala Petri: Es war auch nicht außerhalb des Fokus, allein aufgrund der Ausbildung. Aber ich habe immer versucht, weiterzukommen, als das, was es schon gibt. Und vielleicht habe ich auch bald schon gespürt, dass es viele andere Blockflötisten gibt, die bereits viel Barockmusik spielen – und kaum solche, die neue Werke für Blockflöte schreiben lassen, oder auch nur interpretieren.

Ensemble: Hat es auch damit zu tun gehabt, dass Sie anders sein wollten, vielleicht auch anders als die anderen Studenten, mit denen Sie studiert haben, die aber hauptsächlich Barockmusik spielten?

Michala Petri: Ja und nein, denn ich war ja eh anders, da ich ja schon mit 11 Jahren zu studieren begonnen habe.

Ensemble: Hier in Dänemark?

Michala Petri: Nein, in Hannover. Ich habe nach der vierten Klasse die Schule abgebrochen und bin dann an die Hochschule in Hannover gegangen. Die anderen waren also um die 18 Jahre und ich war 11 Jahre. Natürlich habe ich dann erst einmal das gesamte Barockrepertoire von meinem Lehrer Ferdinand Konrad gelernt. Aber für ihn war es dann auch bald interessant, dass es neue Stücke gab. Denn ich habe ja schon das erste Stück mit sechs Jahren gewidmet bekommen, von Henning Christiansen, einem dänischen Komponisten, der später Kunstprofessor in Deutschland war.

Ensemble: Warum aber das Ausland, warum Hannover, als Sie noch so jung waren?

Michala Petri: Mein damaliger Lehrer hier in Dänemark hatte meiner Mutter empfohlen, dass ich Ferdinand Konrad vorspielen sollte, damit er meine Zukunft beurteilensollte. Es sollte ein kurzer Besuch werden, aberdann war er so begeistert, dass er mich sogleich in seine Klasse aufnehmen wollte.

Ensemble: Sind Sie dann alleine nach Hannover gezogen?

Michala Petri: Ich habe weiterhin in Dänemark gewohnt, bin aber mit meiner Mutter jeden Montagabend mit dem Zug nach Hannover gefahren und Dienstagund Mittwochmorgen habe ich dann Stunden bekommen, und am Mittwochabend ging es wieder zurück. Das habe ich bis zum Alter von 17 Jahren gem acht.

Ensemble: Gab es dann auch in Ihrem Werdegang Kurse bei Lehrern, die sich mit der Alte-Musik-Praxis beschäftigten?

Michala Petri: Die ersten Jahre habe ich nur Blockflötenstunden bekommen, dann habe ich auch die Musikgeschichte gelernt, allerdings nur sehr wenig, muss ich sagen. Musiktheorie habe ich dann privat bei einem Lehrer in Dänemark gemacht.

Ensemble: Doch noch einmal gefragt: War die ganze Alte-Musik-Bewegung nicht beeinflussend oder interessant für Sie als Blockflötistin?

Michala Petri: Ja, es war interessant gewesen, aber auch irgendwie als Gegenbeispiel zu meinen eigenen Überzeugungen und meinem eigenen Spiel. Ferdinand Konrad war ja noch aus der Generation vor Frans Brüggen. Damals waren diese Musiker wie Brüggen, der ja auch einmal mit modernerer Musik angefangen hat, sehr extrem; das muss man auch sein, wenn man als einer der Ersten eine neue Richtung vertritt. Aber als ich dann auch musikalisch zu derselben Generation gehörte, war mir diese Ausdruckswelt auch fremd. Zudem war ich überaus
loyal zu meinem Lehrer, der eine andere Richtung des
Spiels vertrat.

Ensemble: Es ist also schon eine vollkommen andere Art des Spiels, vor allem des Phrasierens?

Michala Petri: Es ist anders, ich empfinde es natürlich vor allem ganz anders. Man hat ja barock gestimmte 16 ensemble 4/08 Flöten und modern gestimmte Flöten. Meine Flöten waren immer Barockflöten, aber in moderner Stimmung. Sofort wenn ich eine Barockflöte in die Hand nehme, dann spiele ich auch anders. Als ich fertig mit meinem Studium war, in dem ich nie die Gelegenheit hatte, eine barock gestimmte Flöte zu spielen, war ich dann natürlich auf eine bestimmte Art des Spielens eingeschworen. Aber es gibt auch noch eine andere Ebene. Ich bin ja oft
gefragt worden, warum ich anders spiele als andere. Und natürlich habe ich mir darüber immer schon Gedanken gemacht. Ich spiele auf eine moderne Weise die Flöte, vielleicht eher mit einer romantischen Sichtweise. Wenn man also eine größere Perspektive sieht, dann muss man einfach sagen: Diese Art des Spiels ist die, die ich gelernt habe. Wenn ich versuche anders zu spielen, dann ist das für mich selbst einfach unwahr.

Ensemble: Kann man das beispielsweise mit der Geige vergleichen, denn man lernt ja in der Regel auch das moderne Geigenspiel und müsste sein Spiel für die barocke Spielweise verändern?

Michala Petri: Ja, das kann man vergleichen, Hilary
Hahn beispielsweise spielt ja auch Bach auf der modernen Geige. Man würde sie ja auch nicht fragen, warum sie keine unveränderte Geige nach historischem Vorbild mit einer anderen Technik spielt.

Ensemble: Warum fragt man denn Hilary Hahn nicht danach, Sie aber immer wieder?

Michala Petri: Ich glaube, da man sie spielen hören will, und nicht sie mit einer anderen Technik, denke ich.

Ensemble: Hat es nicht auch mit einer Tradition zu tun, die bei der Geige kompositorisch und spieltechnisch ununterbrochen ist? Bei der Blockflöte ist die Tradition ja für lange Zeit unterbrochen worden.

Michala Petri: Nun, das ist richtig und nicht ganz richtig. Es gab tatsächlich auch in der Romantik Blockflöten. Sie waren anders gebaut, länger gebaut, auch mit Klappen versehen und mit einem größeren Ton. Aber das Prinzip der Tonerzeugung mit einem Block war das gleiche. Dieses Instrument ist zwar vergessen, wird aber bei Beethoven erwähnt und existierte noch darüber hinaus. Zudem gab es ja in der Militärmusik das Flageolett, von dem man bis vor kurzem annahm, es sei nur ein kleines Instrument, mit einem kleinen Ton. Aber man hat festgestellt, dass man mit einem Schwamm, richtig positioniert im Instrument, mit diesem Instrument große Lautstärken erzielen kann. Diese Instrumente zeigen, dass die Blockflöte irgendwie jedenfalls immer da war, aber nicht mehr solch eine große Rolle spielte. Und dann ist die Blockflöte Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts wieder neu entdeckt worden. Das heißt, die Linie ist nicht ganz ununterbrochen, aber das Instrument ist immer vorhanden gewesen.

Ensemble: In Deutschland wurde die Blockflöte in den 60er Jahren ja dann wiederentdeckt als leicht zu transportierendes und zu spielendes Instrument, von der Wandervogelbewegung. Die Pädagogen griffen das auf und so wurde die Blockflöte bald schon das Schüler- und Anfängerinstrument Nr. 1, was dazu führte, dass sie bis heute einen recht schlechten Ruf als Anfänger-, aber nicht ernsthaftes Instrument besitzt. Wie stehen Sie zu dieser Beurteilung?

Michala Petri: Die Blockflöte ist ja auch leicht zu spielen, am Anfang. Aber wenn man dann so spielen will wie eine Geige oder Oboe, ist es ein schwer zu spielendes Instrument. Dann ist es sogar schwieriger. Das Instrument ist ja viel primitiver aufgebaut, man hat nur den einen Kanal, durch den man bläst. Wenn man lauter spielt, dann steigt der Ton, wenn man leiser spielt, dann fällt er ab. Man hat nicht so viele Möglichkeiten, den Ton mit dem Ansatz zu verändern. Das heißt, ich weiß, dass ich  rgendetwas im Innern des Munds mache, was den Ton verändert, was genau, kann ich nicht sagen, da muss man Leute fragen, die das sicherlich schon erforscht haben. Aber das muss man sich in jedem Fall selbst erarbeiten.

Ensemble: Wenn man schon für Sie ein modernes Werk geschrieben hat, als Sie sechs Jahre alt waren, und diese modernen Kompositionen sich durch Ihr ganzes Leben durchgezogen haben, kann man dann sagen, dass dies der Beginn einer neuen Traditionslinie für die Blockflöte war?

Michala Petri: Das ist schwer zu sagen, ich weiß nicht, ob das richtig wäre. Ich weiß ja, dass auch Ferdinand Konrad und Frans Brüggen zu dieser Zeit auch ganz moderne Werke interpretiert haben. Ich war nicht der erste Interpret, nur dass es sich bei mir fortgeführt hat. Meine Mutter hat sehr schnell und früh Komponisten gefragt, ob sie nicht für mich schreiben wollen.

Ensemble: Nach dem Studium ging es ja mit der Karriere bei Ihnen ganz schnell weiter, viele Konzerte, aber auch immer wieder moderne Werke. Hatte sich das so etabliert, dass Michala Petri moderne Werke spielt?

Michala Petri: Nein, fast immer habe ich die Komponisten gefragt.

Ensemble: Warum fragt man moderne Komponisten? Reichte das Repertoire nicht, das vorhanden war?

Michala Petri: Damals war ich noch so jung, dass ich
alles tat, was man mir sagte. Hätte man mir also gesagt, ich solle nur Barockmusik spielen, hätte ich das auch getan. Meine Mutter war aber immer an moderner Musik interessiert, so dass ich immer moderne Stücke bekommen habe. Die habe ich dann auch mit sehr viel Freude gespielt. Ich habe immer eine Verbindung zur heutigen Welt in diesen Werken gespürt, die ich in der Barockmusik vermisst habe.
Mein Leben war zudem auch sehr isoliert, da ich ja nicht mehr zur Schule ging. Wenn ich also mit einem
Komponisten zusammenarbeiten konnte, dann war ich ein Teil des Lebens. Das hat auch dazu beigetragen, dass ich diese Art von Musik immer wieder gespielt habe.

Ensemble: Das hört sich auch ein wenig tragisch an ...

Michala Petri: Ja, das war es auch, aber jede Medaille hat zwei Seiten. Wenn diese Einsamkeit nicht vorhanden gewesen wäre, dann hätte ich vielleicht nicht so viel gearbeitet, um das Leben führen zu können, das ich heute führe.

Ensemble: Denken Sie, dass die Blockflöte – so wie Sie sie verstehen – eher ein Soloinstrument ist, oder mehr ein Kammermusikinstrument?

Michala Petri: Eine schwierige Frage. Alle Soloinstrumente können ja auch Kammermusikinstrumente sein. Aber für mich ist die Blockflöte ein Soloinstrument, ich bin von Natur aus eher ein Solospieler.

Ensemble: Aber Sie spielen ganz viel Kammermusik ...

Michala Petri: Ja sicher. Aber auch dann, wenn ich mit einem großen Orchester spiele, spiele ich immer Kammermusik. Das Instrument aber hat ein Recht in sich selbst.  Anders ausgedrückt: Ich sehe die Blockflöte gar nicht als Instrument, sondern die
Blockflöte ist nur ein Vehikel, über das ich mich ausdrücken kann. Sie ist eine natürliche Fortsetzung von mir selbst. [denkt nach] Vielleicht kenne ich das Instrument einfach zu gut, um darüber irgendwie überhaupt urteilen zu können. Ich spiele dieses
Instrument gerne, auch wenn ich heute vielleicht ein anderes Instrument wählen würde, wenn ich am Anfang vor der Wahl stände. Denn es wäre dann vielleicht leichter, all das auszudrücken, was ich gerne ausdrücken möchte. Dann würde ich vielleicht
eher die Klarinette wählen, denn von meiner Natur aus bin ich in jedem Fall eine Blasinstrumentenspielerin.

Ensemble: Wegen der ganzen Erfahrungen mit diesem Instrument und den Situationen in Ihrer Laufbahn würden Sie auch ein anderes Instrument wählen? Oder spürt man bei all dem Wollen des Ausdrückens von Musik und von Emotionen, dass die Blockflöte doch limitiert ist?

Michala Petri: Es ist limitiert, ohne Zweifel. Und man muss immer mit dieser Limitierung kämpfen. Aber immer, wenn ich denke, ich bin an eine Grenze gelangt, dann kommt in mir oder auch in den Instrumenten eine neue Entwicklung, die wieder neue
Möglichkeiten bietet. Dann fängt man fast von vorne an. Auch die neuen Flöten, die Mollenhauer und Moeck entwickelt haben, waren eine neue Herausforderung für mich. Eigentlich habe ich sie viel zu kurz gespielt, nur ein paar Jahre.

Ensemble: Die Entwicklung ist also noch gar nicht zu Ende?

Michala Petri: Nein, überhaupt nicht, ich lerne immer noch, auch immer mit anderen Instrumenten.

Ensemble: Wie ist es überhaupt möglich, sich so lange, also 40 Jahre lang, mit einer Blockflöte auf den Bühnen der Welt halten zu können?

Michala Petri: Das ist Glück! [sie lacht] Ich habe nie vermieden zu reisen, die Welt ist sehr groß, man kann immer ein neues Publikum begeistern. Aber anstrengend ist es schon, ich kann schon verstehen, dass andere zu unterrichten beginnen. Das habe ich nie gemacht, da mir auch immer die Zeit gefehlt hat. Solange ich mit der Entwicklung der Blockflöte, mit der Entwicklung der Instrumente und meinem eigenen Spiel weiterkommen kann, werde ich auch auf der Bühne stehen.

Ensemble: Es gab eine Zeit, da war Michala Petri allen Menschen in der Musik ein Begriff. Dann war es auf ein Mal etwas weniger, warum war dies der Fall? Denn zuvor war Ihr Name für dieses Instrument ja fast marktbeherrschend.

Michala Petri: Das kann sein. Es gab einige Jahre, in denen ich nicht so viel gereist bin, da ich mich um meine Kinder kümmern wollte. Ansonsten wäre das auch gar nicht ungewöhnlich, da der Fokus immer eher auf jungen Musikern liegt. Immer diejenigen,
die neu sind, werden in den Medien und auch in den Konzerten bevorzugt. Das ist eine natürliche Sache, die ich akzeptiere. Vielleicht habe ich in den vergangenen Jahren auch weniger in Deutschland gespielt. Auch mein Aufhören bei BMG hat sicherlich
etwas damit zu tun, denn das Label hat immer wieder etwas für mich getan, hat immer wieder einmal ein Interview lanciert, das mir auch Konzerte verschaffte. Das hängt alles zusammen.
Aber das bedeutet nicht, dass ich weniger spiele. Nun, wo die Kinder größer sind, spiele ich auch wieder mehr im Ausland, auch in den USA, in Spanien und in Italien, wo ich nie wirklich viel gespielt habe.

Ensemble: Haben sich die Auftritte denn auch stärker hin zur Kammermusik verändert?

Michala Petri: Ja, es ist auch schön, denn immer wenn ich von Orchesterkonzerten zurückkehre zur Kammermusik, fühle ich mich so geborgen, so sicher – und auch freier.

Ensemble: Auch wenn es bei Ihnen selbst sehr natürlich kam, was könnten Sie heute Eltern und Anfängerschülern raten, wenn es um die Blockflöte geht?

Michala Petri: Dass ich finde, dass es für jedes Kind ein gutes Instrument ist. Ich finde es wichtig, dass jedes Kind ein Instrument spielt. Erstens, dass ein Kind überhaupt ein Instrument spielt, und zweitens, dass es ein Blasinstrument spielt; denn ich glaube, dass es die bessere Art von Instrument ist, da es mit dem Körper so eng in Zusammenhang ist. Eine Geige oder ein Klavier sind immer außerhalb des Körpers. Aber das kommt natürlich ganz auf das Kind an. Es gibt Kinder, die viel zu viel Kraft haben. Die Blockflöte hat auch eine immense Natürlichkeit, so dass ich glaube, Kinder kommen sehr schnell klar mit diesem Instrument und finden eine Verbindung zur Natur mit diesem Instrument. Das bedeutet: Wenn man in eine Blockflöte bläst, dann hat man überhaupt keine Beschränkung. Der Klang kommt sehr direkt zustande.

Ensemble: Was kann man denn Lehrern raten, um die Kinder länger bei der Blockflöte zu halten? Denn es ist ja bekannt, dass nach dem Einstieg mit diesem Instrument viele Kinder auch ganz schnell gelangweilt wieder aufhören oder sich einem anderen Instrument zuwenden.

Michala Petri: Nun, ich denke auch nicht, dass die Blockflöte für jedes Kind das richtige Instrument ist.

Ensemble: Nochmals zu den neuen Blockflöten von Mollenhauer und Moeck. Was ist daran anders?

Michala Petri: Sie haben einen größeren Tonumfang und eine andere Bohrung, daher kann man sie
lauter spielen. Das heißt, man kann stärker in das Instrument blasen, auch wenn sie nicht so leicht ansprechen.

Ensemble: Sind die Instrumente dann leichter zu spielen?

Michala Petri: Für einen unerfahrenen Spieler ist es leichter, ja. Denn man muss sich nicht so sehr zurücknehmen. Das ist ja überhaupt das große Problem bei der Blockflöte, dass man sich beständig zurückhalten muss, da man ansonsten keinen schönen Klang erzeugen kann. Und das fördert natürlich auch eine ganz bestimmte Mentalität, die nicht alle Leute verkraften, da man ungeheuer diszipliniert sein muss. Man kann nicht einfach losspielen, sondern muss den kleinen Klangkanal immer kontrollieren. Und das ist vielleicht meine Stärke gewesen, dass ich immer eine ungeheure Konzentration und gleichzeitig eine immense Kraft in meinem Spiel erreiche. Diese notwendige Disziplin würde ich nicht jedem Kind empfehlen. Denn alle Instrumente wirken auf den Spieler zurück.

Ensemble: Wie viel üben Sie heute noch?

Michala Petri: Wenn ich die Ruhe finde, dann übe ich drei Stunden am Tag.

Ensemble: Wie würden Sie selbst die Besonderheit Ihres Stils beschreiben?

Michala Petri: Meine Spielweise ist ehrlich, würde ich sagen. Ich bin mit mir selber sehr kritisch, weiß, wenn ich etwas richtig finde oder nicht richtig finde. Aber ich akzeptiere andere Meinungen sehr liberal. Das bedeutet: Wenn ich historisch richtig spielen könnte, aber die Leute mit dem Spiel nicht erreiche, dann habe ich doch nichts gewonnen. Wenn ich aber so spiele, wie ich es als richtig empfinde, aber es meine eigene Art des Ausdrucks ist, ich die Menschen, das Publikum damit auch erreichen kann, dann ist das doch das Wichtigste, oder?
Das bedeutet, wenn ich jemanden höre, der historisch spielt, dann akzeptiere ich das, nur ich will so nicht spielen.

Ensemble: Vielen Dank für das interessante Gespräch.

Michala Petri, recorder
Carolin Widmann, violin
Mozart Flute Quartets
Review of worldpremiere of Richard Harvey's Recorder Concerto Incantato with Michala Petri and City Chamber Orchestra of Hong Kong
Mark Tjhung
02 December 2014
Review: Michala Petri with the City Chamber Orchestra of Hong Kong
City Hall October 11

Serious recorder music is all too rare. But anyone who doubted that the wind instrument could be a legitimate solo instrument would have been proven very wrong on Sunday night. Michala Petri the much-lauded Danish recorder player, showed an enthralled packed City Hall what a diverse and spectacular solo instrument the recorder can be, as she took centre stage in a wonderful, florid, and joyous celebration of City Chamber Orchestra of Hong Kong's first decade.

Before the interval, Petri joined the orchestra for Vivaldi's Concerto for Flautino in C Major, one of the few composers who wrote regularly for the wind instrument. With her positively miniscule sopranino recorder, Petri's lines drifted along, both bird- and dream-like, always supremely in control of the breathless, continuous semiquaver and canyon-esque leaps.

The highlight of the evening came after the interval however, with the world premiere of Richard Harvey's Concerto Incantato, a work written specifically for this concert and for Michala Petri and five (or perhaps it was six?) of her recorders, ranging from the deeper, rounder tenor, to the twinkling sopranino. Described by the composer himself in the program notes as "a concerto for the Harry Potter generation", Harvey's work brings together a broad range of musical influences. The lengthy, five movement work, draws heavily on his background in cinematic music, particularly fantasy and sci-fi soundtracks, oozing walls of warm string harmony and a distinct story-telling quality – a highly consumable work commandingly performed. And most entertainingly, Harvey's prowess with the recorder stunned the audience, as he pulled a recorder from his pocket and joined Petri in a fun and upbeat encore.

Haydn's first Sturm und Drang symphony, no 39 in G minor, opened the concert; Sibelius' orchestral adaptation of two of his piano impromptus followed. And Astor Piazzola's sensual Tangazo ended the evening. But by that point, much of the audience's attention was still, perhaps emotionally, in the joy of the Harvey / Petri duet.

Overall, the concert was a fine tribute to the CCOHK's first decade – a testament to what they have built over their first years, and a more than promising start to the next.

Mark Tjhung
Mark Tjhung
  OUR Recordings
Esromgade 15, opg.1 3.floor, room 1315
2200 Copenhagen N
Denmark
Tel: +45 4015 05 77
E-mail: hannibal@michalapetri.com
QUICK LINKS
NEWS
RELEASES
PROJECTS
COLLABORATORS
CONCERT SCHEDULE
REVIEWS
GALLERIES
  PROFILE

CONTACT

MICHALA PETRI'S WEBSITE
LARS HANNIBAL'S WEBSITE

 

 
   

Home | Contact | Copyright OUR Recordings 2002 - 2019. All rights reserved. | Michala Petri's Official Website | Lars Hannibal's Official Website